Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-02, 08:09 PM   #1
DoinkyBottoms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to DoinkyBottoms
Default Athlon XP Support in Mobo?

Will my Epox 8kta3+ support an Athlon XP? According to the "recommended processor list" it won't, but that list is just like the "Ages 3+" warnings on stuff...you know, like legos and chainsaws. Is support for the XP dependant on chipset?
DoinkyBottoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 01:06 PM   #2
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default Re: Athlon XP Support in Mobo?

Quote:
Originally posted by DoinkyBottoms
Will my Epox 8kta3+ support an Athlon XP? According to the "recommended processor list" it won't, but that list is just like the "Ages 3+" warnings on stuff...you know, like legos and chainsaws. Is support for the XP dependant on chipset?
Hmm.. As far is XP support being dependant on chipset... that's a yes and no question. Everything as far back as the KT133A chipset will run an AthlonXP, though the KT133 won't. The chipset will support the Athlon XP, but that doesn't necessarily mean the motherboard will.

Being the 8KTa3+ is built around the KT133A, I'd say you've got a good chance of it working, even if Epox says it won't support it.

Though, I have yet to see a Tbred work on a KT133A.

Last edited by Switch; 09-11-02 at 01:11 PM.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-02, 04:14 PM   #3
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

The problem with running a high-PR XP on an older mobo, such as the 8KTA3, is that the motherboard becomes a bottleneck instead of the CPU; the CPU is running so much faster than the FSB that it wastes a lot of time doing nothing. The KT333 would fit an XP better, but that doesn't mean that XP + KT133A = bad.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 01:31 PM   #4
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOneKEA
The problem with running a high-PR XP on an older mobo, such as the 8KTA3, is that the motherboard becomes a bottleneck instead of the CPU; the CPU is running so much faster than the FSB that it wastes a lot of time doing nothing. The KT333 would fit an XP better, but that doesn't mean that XP + KT133A = bad.
At the price of AthlonXP's right now it'd be better to get an XP instead of just upgrading to a Tbird though. So even if the XP is bottlenecked by the memory, it's still better than a hot running tbird.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 04:12 PM   #5
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Definitely. That's what I'm going to do; I'm replacing a 900MHz Tbird with an XP 1800+.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 04:48 PM   #6
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOneKEA
Definitely. That's what I'm going to do; I'm replacing a 900MHz Tbird with an XP 1800+.
Yeah, my mobo/cpu setup is just like yours, temperatures and all.. heatsink is an AX7 though, I just ordered 1600+ and can't wait to get it. My GF3 will finally get to show some muscle.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 07:00 PM   #7
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

I'm waiting to auction mine off; I'd rather not spend my own money
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-02, 08:06 PM   #8
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOneKEA
I'm waiting to auction mine off; I'd rather not spend my own money

Yeah, I would have liked to have sold mine before I bought my XP but a 900 isn't gonna go for much these days. What's the highest you can take that CPU anyway? For me pretty much anything after 1050 or so isn't within reach.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-13-02, 06:25 AM   #9
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Nothing higher than 1000 without random segfaults, Oopses and crashes. Ugggh.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 09:32 AM   #10
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOneKEA
Nothing higher than 1000 without random segfaults, Oopses and crashes. Ugggh.
Yeah, the 900's definitely were no AXIA chip, that's for sure. I could take mine pretty close to 1.1, around 1080 was it's limit..
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 07:08 PM   #11
DoinkyBottoms
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to DoinkyBottoms
Default

My bro has been playing Morrowind on a 1 GHz. I feel sorry for him. I finally convinced him to upgrade and then I had to tell him it wouldn't work. I am going to have him upgrade and then if it won't work we will sell it for a profit. After all, we do live in Idaho.
DoinkyBottoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 09:03 PM   #12
Switch
Registered User
 
Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DoinkyBottoms
My bro has been playing Morrowind on a 1 GHz. I feel sorry for him. I finally convinced him to upgrade and then I had to tell him it wouldn't work. I am going to have him upgrade and then if it won't work we will sell it for a profit. After all, we do live in Idaho.
Lol, well I got my 1600+ from newegg today and lemme tell ya. It took hours getting it to work. First it wouldn't boot, then it boots but won't let me change ANY value in the bios. I flashed to an older bios and same thing. I loaded "optimized defaults" and everything works from then on; flashed back to most recent bios. After it was all said and done, I overclocked it as high as the motherboard's multiplier would let me, which was 12.5. So it's 1662. I'm happy. No other problems thus far, on a board that doesn't support an AthlonXP.
Switch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About the Stereoscopic 3D Support in the Daum Potplayer News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 02:40 PM
Trying the Stereo 3D Support of the MK802 Android 4.0 Mini PC News Archived News Items 0 08-30-12 05:00 PM
Is the Stereo 3D Gaming Doomed to Fail or What, No Really? News Archived News Items 0 07-17-12 06:30 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.