Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-11, 03:56 PM   #1
blue-sky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520(solved)

there is a bug in nvidia driver for geforce520
in nvidia xserver settings i see wrong amounts!

in section
GPU 0- GeForce GT520) it shows bus type PCI Express x8 Gen1
the true amount must be Gen2

PCI-E max link speed 2500
the true amount is 5000

also threr is serious problems in vdpau for 1920x1080 h.264 movies ( i can only see tearing!!!)

kernel is 2.6.39
Operating System: Linux-x86_64
NVIDIA Driver Version:275.21
Server Version Number:11.0
Server Vendor String:The X.Org Foundation
Server Vendor Version:1.10.3 (11003000)
NV-CONTROL Version:1.27
screens:1

and this is output of qvdpautest

Code:
qvdpautest 0.5.1
AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 640 Processor
NVIDIA GPU GeForce GT 520 (GF119) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)

VDPAU API version : 1
VDPAU implementation : NVIDIA VDPAU Driver Shared Library  275.21  Mon Jul 18 15:01:25 PDT 2011

SURFACE GET BITS: 1097.14 M/s
SURFACE PUT BITS: 1161.21 M/s

MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 186 frames/s
MPEG DECODING (1280x720): 408 frames/s
H264 DECODING (1920x1080): 4 frames/s
H264 DECODING (1280x720): 262 frames/s
VC1 DECODING (1440x1080): 82 frames/s
MPEG4 DECODING (1920x1080): 127 frames/s

MIXER WEAVE (1920x1080): 220 frames/s
MIXER BOB (1920x1080): 316 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 122 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 95 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 159 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (1920x1080): 64 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 52 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 72 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 193 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + HQSCALING (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 128 fields/s

MULTITHREADED MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 149 frames/s
MULTITHREADED MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 94 fields/s

Last edited by blue-sky; 07-29-11 at 04:29 PM.
blue-sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-11, 09:22 PM   #2
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue-sky View Post
there is a bug in nvidia driver for geforce520
in nvidia xserver settings i see wrong amounts!

in section
GPU 0- GeForce GT520) it shows bus type PCI Express x8 Gen1
the true amount must be Gen2

PCI-E max link speed 2500
the true amount is 5000
No this is not a bug. Power management cuts down the link speed. Even then that is more then enough bandwidth for h264. You can play 1080P streams fine on even lowly PCI card which has nowhere near the bandwidth.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-11, 08:59 AM   #3
blue-sky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

Hi
thanks for the annswer
i changed pewermizer setting from adaptive to prefer maximum performance
as thougt the true amounts is seen in GPU section but problem remains!
this is the output of qvdpautest

Code:
qvdpautest 0.5.1
AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 640 Processor
NVIDIA GPU GeForce GT 520 (GF119) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)

VDPAU API version : 1
VDPAU implementation : NVIDIA VDPAU Driver Shared Library  275.21  Mon Jul 18 15:01:25 PDT 2011

SURFACE GET BITS: 1132.51 M/s
SURFACE PUT BITS: 1210.01 M/s

MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 181 frames/s
MPEG DECODING (1280x720): 404 frames/s
H264 DECODING (1920x1080): 4 frames/s
H264 DECODING (1280x720): 242 frames/s
VC1 DECODING (1440x1080): 80 frames/s
MPEG4 DECODING (1920x1080): 126 frames/s

MIXER WEAVE (1920x1080): 219 frames/s
MIXER BOB (1920x1080): 318 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 129 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 93 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 160 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (1920x1080): 65 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 53 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 71 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 194 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + HQSCALING (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 130 fields/s

MULTITHREADED MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 134 frames/s
MULTITHREADED MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 101 fields/s
on the other hand i have another nvidia card with 210 chipset
in pwermizer section it is on adaptive mode but in GPU section I see true amounts for bus type and pci-e max link speed
and there is no problem in vdpau!!
this is qvdpautest for gt210


Code:
AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 640 Processor
NVIDIA GPU GeForce 210 (GT218) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)

VDPAU API version : 1
VDPAU implementation : NVIDIA VDPAU Driver Shared Library  275.21 Mon Jul 18 15:20:38 PDT 2011

SURFACE GET BITS: 1093.32 M/s
SURFACE PUT BITS: 1148.66 M/s

MPEG DECODING  (1920x1080): 67  frames/s
MPEG DECODING  (1280x720):  160 frames/s
H264 DECODING  (1920x1080): 61  frames/s
H264 DECODING  (1280x720):  134 frames/s
VC1 DECODING   (1440x1080): 79  frames/s
MPEG4 DECODING (1920x1080): 71  frames/s

MIXER WEAVE (1920x1080): 361 frames/s
MIXER BOB (1920x1080): 596 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 164 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 107 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 220 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (1920x1080): 65 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 52 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 71 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 229 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + HQSCALING (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 129 fields/s

MULTITHREADED MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 67 frames/s
MULTITHREADED MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 114 fields/s
i believe this is a ridiculous bug for gt520!
blue-sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-11, 06:23 PM   #4
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue-sky View Post
Hi
thanks for the annswer
i changed pewermizer setting from adaptive to prefer maximum performance
as thougt the true amounts is seen in GPU section but problem remains!
this is the output of qvdpautest

Code:
qvdpautest 0.5.1
AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 640 Processor
NVIDIA GPU GeForce GT 520 (GF119) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)

VDPAU API version : 1
VDPAU implementation : NVIDIA VDPAU Driver Shared Library  275.21  Mon Jul 18 15:01:25 PDT 2011

SURFACE GET BITS: 1132.51 M/s
SURFACE PUT BITS: 1210.01 M/s

MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 181 frames/s
MPEG DECODING (1280x720): 404 frames/s
H264 DECODING (1920x1080): 4 frames/s
H264 DECODING (1280x720): 242 frames/s
VC1 DECODING (1440x1080): 80 frames/s
MPEG4 DECODING (1920x1080): 126 frames/s

MIXER WEAVE (1920x1080): 219 frames/s
MIXER BOB (1920x1080): 318 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 129 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 93 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 160 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (1920x1080): 65 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 53 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 71 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 194 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + HQSCALING (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 130 fields/s

MULTITHREADED MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 134 frames/s
MULTITHREADED MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 101 fields/s
on the other hand i have another nvidia card with 210 chipset
in pwermizer section it is on adaptive mode but in GPU section I see true amounts for bus type and pci-e max link speed
and there is no problem in vdpau!!
this is qvdpautest for gt210


Code:
AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 640 Processor
NVIDIA GPU GeForce 210 (GT218) at PCI:1:0:0 (GPU-0)

VDPAU API version : 1
VDPAU implementation : NVIDIA VDPAU Driver Shared Library  275.21 Mon Jul 18 15:20:38 PDT 2011

SURFACE GET BITS: 1093.32 M/s
SURFACE PUT BITS: 1148.66 M/s

MPEG DECODING  (1920x1080): 67  frames/s
MPEG DECODING  (1280x720):  160 frames/s
H264 DECODING  (1920x1080): 61  frames/s
H264 DECODING  (1280x720):  134 frames/s
VC1 DECODING   (1440x1080): 79  frames/s
MPEG4 DECODING (1920x1080): 71  frames/s

MIXER WEAVE (1920x1080): 361 frames/s
MIXER BOB (1920x1080): 596 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 164 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 107 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 220 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (1920x1080): 65 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + IVTC (1920x1080): 52 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + SKIP_CHROMA (1920x1080): 71 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 229 fields/s
MIXER TEMPORAL_SPATIAL + HQSCALING (720x576 video to 1920x1080 display): 129 fields/s

MULTITHREADED MPEG DECODING (1920x1080): 67 frames/s
MULTITHREADED MIXER TEMPORAL (1920x1080): 114 fields/s
i believe this is a ridiculous bug for gt520!
I see these results as well with my GT520 but ONLY in qvdpautest. Playing high bitrate 1080P (50+ Mbit) in XBMC for example is no challenge to the GT520 using VDPAU. There is something very specific to that sample in qvdpautest that triggers this anomaly. I haven't had time to pull apart the sample and analyze it yet but the results it gives is not a true result (running with debug on during the test of the 1080P h264 stream you will see a whole slew of vdpau cannot render stream errors). It would be nice however to have one of the nvidia guys comment as the forum has many threads on the subject. I have come across one result where it did seem to run fine and when setting up the identical test on identical hardware I was not able to reproduce the successful result. The question I have for you is that when you run the 1080P portion is it actually displaying a picture in the frame? On my systems with a GT520 it just displays green artifacts.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-11, 04:35 PM   #5
blue-sky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

thank for the advise!
i am wondering why qvdpautest is showing wrong amounts!
i test some h.264 movies (1080P) and all pleyed well by GT520!!!(all my files are 24 fps )
here is output of mplayer
Code:
 mplayer Sherlock.Holmes.2009.1080p.Bluray.x264-002.mkv 
MPlayer SVN-r33805-4.6.1 (C) 2000-2011 MPlayer Team
163 audio & 363 video codecs

Playing Sherlock.Holmes.2009.1080p.Bluray.x264-002.mkv.
libavformat file format detected.
[matroska,webm @ 0x2217140] Estimating duration from bitrate, this may be inaccurate
[lavf] stream 0: video (h264), -vid 0
[lavf] stream 1: audio (dca), -aid 0
[lavf] stream 2: subtitle (text), -sid 0, -slang eng
VIDEO:  [H264]  1920x1080  0bpp  23.976 fps    0.0 kbps ( 0.0 kbyte/s)
Load subtitles in ./
==========================================================================
Forced video codec: ffh264vdpau
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffh264vdpau] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264 (VDPAU))
==========================================================================
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 1536.0 kbit/100.00% (ratio: 192000->192000)
Selected audio codec: [ffdca] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg DTS)
==========================================================================
[AO OSS] audio_setup: Can't open audio device /dev/dsp: No such file or directory
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...
[VD_FFMPEG] Trying pixfmt=0.
Movie-Aspect is 1.78:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [vdpau] 1920x1080 => 1920x1080 H.264 VDPAU acceleration 
[VD_FFMPEG] XVMC-accelerated MPEG-2.
A:  16.7 V:  16.7 A-V: -0.000 ct:  0.095   0/  0  1%  1%  2.1% 2 0
blue-sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-11, 04:49 PM   #6
blue-sky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

>>The question I have for you is that when you run the 1080P portion is it actually displaying a picture in the frame? On my systems with a GT520 it just displays green artifacts

in my system I can see green artifacts too
blue-sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-11, 05:54 AM   #7
TheChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

I think there must be a problem in the VDPAU driver for the GT520. I use this card in my HTPC to view TV over satellite on Astra 19.2.

There is one channel i cannot watch, called "Servus TV HD", an austrian channel. Most of the times i just see green artifacts. I already tried with xine and XBMC. If i use ffmpeg CPU decoding, it is working, but not with VDPAU enabled.

Sometimes this channel works, but then if i switch to another channel and switch back to Servus TV, i get green artifacts again.

The problem exists since i bought this card (ASUS ENGT 520 silent). Other people also have this problem with this channel. Will this be fixed in the future?

Here are the codec details of a recording, maybe this will help.

Code:
Video
ID                               : 3583 (0xDFF)
Menu ID                          : 132 (0x84)
Format                           : AVC
Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                   : Main@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC           : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames        : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP             : M=3, N=12
Codec ID                         : 27
Duration                         : 23mn 59s
Bit rate mode                    : Variable
Bit rate                         : 6 441 Kbps
Maximum bit rate                 : 10.6 Mbps
Width                            : 1 920 pixels
Height                           : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio             : 16:9
Frame rate                       : 25.000 fps
Color space                      : YUV
Chroma subsampling               : 4:2:0
Bit depth                        : 8 bits
Scan type                        : MBAFF
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.124
Stream size                      : 1.08 GiB (85%)
Color primaries                  : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics         : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients              : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177
Is this an official NVidia forum or will this thread be read by NVIDIA?

If you need more information, please let me know.

Thanks
TheChief
TheChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-11, 12:43 PM   #8
3PO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheChief View Post
I think there must be a problem in the VDPAU driver for the GT520. I use this card in my HTPC to view TV over satellite on Astra 19.2.

There is one channel i cannot watch, called "Servus TV HD", an austrian channel. Most of the times i just see green artifacts. I already tried with xine and XBMC. If i use ffmpeg CPU decoding, it is working, but not with VDPAU enabled.

Sometimes this channel works, but then if i switch to another channel and switch back to Servus TV, i get green artifacts again.

The problem exists since i bought this card (ASUS ENGT 520 silent). Other people also have this problem with this channel. Will this be fixed in the future?

Here are the codec details of a recording, maybe this will help.

Code:
Video
ID                               : 3583 (0xDFF)
Menu ID                          : 132 (0x84)
Format                           : AVC
Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                   : Main@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC           : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames        : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP             : M=3, N=12
Codec ID                         : 27
Duration                         : 23mn 59s
Bit rate mode                    : Variable
Bit rate                         : 6 441 Kbps
Maximum bit rate                 : 10.6 Mbps
Width                            : 1 920 pixels
Height                           : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio             : 16:9
Frame rate                       : 25.000 fps
Color space                      : YUV
Chroma subsampling               : 4:2:0
Bit depth                        : 8 bits
Scan type                        : MBAFF
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.124
Stream size                      : 1.08 GiB (85%)
Color primaries                  : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics         : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients              : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4 709, SMPTE RP177
Is this an official NVidia forum or will this thread be read by NVIDIA?

If you need more information, please let me know.

Thanks
TheChief
i have the same Card and exactly the same problem.
3PO is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-11, 04:14 AM   #9
TheChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

Attached you can find the nvidia bug report and a log with nvidia trace anabled. Hope this will help. Mplayer says "System too slow", but i do not think so.

Regards
TheChief
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (60.5 KB, 111 views)
File Type: gz vdpautest.log.gz (7.8 KB, 88 views)
TheChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-11, 01:34 PM   #10
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

Can people affected by this issue (running a GF119-based card such as the GT521; please open a different thread if you think you're having an issue but have a different card) follow the instructions in http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=123819 and upload a clip that displays the green artifacts to the partner FTP filer?

Thanks,
- Pierre-Loup
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-11, 04:06 AM   #11
TheChief
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

I uploaded a file called "GT520_green_artifacts.ts".

Problem is, mplayer sometimes plays this piece of recording and sometimes i get green artifacts. So maybe some buffers running into full. I do not know. But please test and test again, if the files workes for you. Maybe open another big file first and then play my recording.

Do you need me to open a new thread? I think this thread is good and maybe you can solve the issues with qvdpautest, too, when you are able to fix my problem.

Best regards
TheChief
TheChief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-11, 05:20 PM   #12
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: bug in nvidia driver for geforce GT520

I tried playing this clip several times on a GT520 but couldn't see any artifacts, including after playing other longer clips. Can you provide a screenshot of the artifacts? It would also be great if you could find a sequence of actions that consistently makes the artifacts happens after a system cold-boot, with the X server running on its own if possible (in order to limit the number of variables). I understand if that's not possible, but I can't really do much unless I get the problem to happen on my end first.
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.