Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-03, 08:00 PM   #1
cko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default nvnet not working with acpi on.

I purchased an Abit NF7 nforce2 main board today and tried to get the nforce-1.0-0261 drivers to work with it.

I am running SuSE 8.2 (kernel 2.4.20).

Yast2 automatically recognized the hardware and added the line

alias eth0 nvnet

to /etc/modules.conf.

However, ping reported "destination host unreachable" for all hosts on my LAN, except for localhost.

When I boot with "acpi=off", the network works fine.

Is this a known bug?

If yes, when will it be fixed?
cko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-03, 08:30 PM   #2
geowiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Tx USA
Posts: 110
Default Friends don't let friends use ACPI

ACPI and the various Nforce2 chipsets don't play well together. ACPI is listed as "experimental" code in the kernel. My suggestion would be to pass ACPI=off to the kernel and avoid a lot of trouble.

If you don't need ACPI, give it a pass. The whole ACPI section of the kernel is being/has been reworked in 2.4.2X and in the 2.6.0 series and it doesn't appear to be ready for prime time with the Nforce2 boards.

Fix time frame - unknown by me. You can always read the kernel development threads and watch/contribute. http://hypermail.idiosynkrasia.net/linux-kernel/
geowiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-03, 12:22 AM   #3
suexec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 54
Default

I haven't run into problems with ACPI (and APIC/IO-APIC) with 2.4.22 and 2.6.0-test4. Both included some pci irq routing fixes.
suexec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-03, 08:01 AM   #4
geowiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Tx USA
Posts: 110
Default ACPI

I agree with you that in 2.4.22, 2.6.0-test4 ACPI now seems to work ok with my Abit NF7-S board. When I wrote the message, neither of them was out yet (if I remember correctly).

But, many of the problems reported in the news groups seem to go back to ACPI so it is a reasonable starting point for trouble shooting (based on history).
geowiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-03, 09:05 AM   #5
suexec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 54
Default

Yeah, ACPI had been a big source of problems, and continue to be. Even 2.4.22/2.6.0-test4 had some issues with a nForce (1) system where it did not assign an IRQ to the integrated video though the BIOS gave it one less than 15. This required a patch that was posted to the acpi devel list to resolve.
suexec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
RH7.3, 3123, was working, now it isn't phips NVIDIA Linux 2 10-03-02 02:08 PM
Nvidia 3123 not working on Mandrake 8.2 UP with Geforce 440 MMX tariqf NVIDIA Linux 1 09-17-02 08:22 AM
TV-out not working nomatter what driver.. Dr_Gigolo NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 09-11-02 11:11 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 12:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.