Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-11, 11:06 AM   #1
UberLord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Exclamation Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

As per title.
Attached screenshot from the Mount Hyjal Cataclysm zone.
Also occurs in Firelands raid.

Rolling back to NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-270.41.19 fixes this.
Bug is present in 280 though to NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-290.03 inclusive.

Hopefully this can be fixed soon
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wow-nvidia-error.jpg
Views:	224
Size:	93.0 KB
ID:	43364  
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (93.2 KB, 54 views)
UberLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-11, 01:55 PM   #2
drhirsch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 61
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

I see the same blue squares in fireland.
drhirsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-11, 05:36 PM   #3
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

Is there a wine bug item tracking this issue? Which World of Warcraft renderer is being used here, OpenGL or D3D?
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-11, 10:41 PM   #4
BigNev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

I also have this issue with drivers 280 and above. I use the OpenGL renderer. I don't know if there is a wine bug item for this. Should one be raised?
BigNev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-11, 01:54 PM   #5
UberLord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plagman View Post
Is there a wine bug item tracking this issue? Which World of Warcraft renderer is being used here, OpenGL or D3D?
There is currently not a wine bug because it goes away with an older driver, hence my thinking it's an nVidia issue.

It works fine with D3D rendering, this is just happening in OpenGL.
I use OpenGL as it's much faster for Warcraft and I'm a raider who needs the speed

EDIT: You only see the rectangle at certain angles, mainly face on if that helps any.
UberLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-11, 12:33 AM   #6
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

OK, thanks. Do you know if the issue can be seen in a more accessible zone? Ideally somewhere you can go with a trial account.
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-11, 08:20 AM   #7
Txema
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

Hi, i didn't see this and created a new post on this matter, here it is: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...23&postcount=1

I'll look in the starting zones for the error so that you can see it (if you can go, in the city of tanaris you can see it)
Txema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-11, 02:52 PM   #8
UberLord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

I've flown all around eastern kingdoms and kalimdor doing the pilgrims bounty on a few toons and the bad news is that I cannot find a place other than firelands with this problem. I've not been to northrend yet, but that cannot be reached by a trial account either.

However, I have seen a lighting issue which could possibly be related in Trisifal Glades, undercity starting zone (undead).

The first picture shows black effects on and around trees in the disance. moving slighty causes them to go white, but i was unable to take a screen shot showing this. Also requires flying which is lvl60, so no trial either.

The 2nd picture shows bright white there should not be any in the distance. This can is found standing in Trisifal Glades again @ 74.56,56.94 facing west and a tiny bit south, about 8:42 on a clock face. It's small, but it's the only place I can find reachable by a trial account.

I have no idea if this is the same issue, or a regression or not.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tris1.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	97.6 KB
ID:	43433  Click image for larger version

Name:	tris2.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	43434  
UberLord is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-21-11, 01:31 PM   #9
Txema
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

In the dwarves's starting zone you can see this:






You need to go to the exit of Coldridge Valley and look around, you'll see trees turning black. (Coord 33,71)

I hope you can see it and fix it
Txema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-11, 05:18 PM   #10
Plagman
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Plagman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 254
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

Thanks, that's helpful. Had anyone that's affected by this issue ever tried running it in Windows (in OpenGL mode, also)? It would be very interesting to know whether it also happens there.
Plagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-11, 05:49 AM   #11
cthulhu
Great Old One
 
cthulhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 124
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

I seem to remember seeing the blue square on/in/around The Dark Portal in Blasted Lands. On the other hand, I might be wrong, but it could be worth a shot.
It might be a bit hard getting there with a low level toon, though. ;-)
__________________
Desktop: Asus P5B Deluxe, Core2Duo E8500, 2GB Corsair 800MHz CL4, Gigabyte GTX460 1024MB
HTPC: Asus P5B-E, Core2Duo 6300, 1GB Corsair 533MHz, Asus 9500GT w/ 512MB DDR3
Server: Gigabyte D510UD, Atom D510, 2GB Corsair 800MHz, Hauppauge NOVA-T500 dual DVB-T tuner, 4x 2TB Samsung F3EG (RAID5)
Laptop: Asus U6V, Core2Duo P8400, 3GB DDR2, 9300M GS
OS on all: Gentoo Linux

Bought a computer bundled with windows? Don't want to use windows? Demand a refund!
cthulhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-11, 01:38 PM   #12
UberLord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Regression: Warcraft shows blue rectangle instead of transparency

Quote:
Originally Posted by cthulhu View Post
I seem to remember seeing the blue square on/in/around The Dark Portal in Blasted Lands. On the other hand, I might be wrong, but it could be worth a shot.
It might be a bit hard getting there with a low level toon, though. ;-)
Confirmed!

It's hard to spot though as it basically makes the whole portal brighter. jiggling the camera and/or moving temporarily fixes it, but not long enough to take a "working" screenshot. You would need to be about lvl 55 to reach it. with some ease.

I tried to find the deadmines portal as that's low level, but couldn't find it.
UberLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.