Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-12, 09:19 PM   #1
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Origin Updated...now will not start

Anyone else getting this??

I even uninstalled Origin with all its games and reinstalled and it updated and then bam....a command prompt window pops up after the update for half a second and nothing....
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-12, 09:42 PM   #2
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

Uninstalled it again and deleted all the folders it had made in various locations and anything relating to EA in my registry. Seems to have fixed it.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-12, 09:21 AM   #3
Fuku2
Metal Guitarist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 358
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

Glad to help out.
__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro
Intel Core i7 2600 3.40 GHz
2x Gigabyte GTX 570 1GB SLI
8 Gigs Kingston 1333 DD3
Asus VH238H 23" LED 2ms
WD 1TB Caviar Black 64MB cache SATA 6 Gb/s
CM Silent Pro 850 Watt

Band: http://www.myspace.com/hollowappostle
Fuku2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-12, 09:44 PM   #4
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

It seems that those who had entered into the beta pre-release version of Origin were stuck in the install loop. I will NEVER opt into that again.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-12, 03:37 AM   #5
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

Ok, it just did it again....WTF???
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-12, 04:07 AM   #6
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

yeah it updated again yesterday, new look and feel, upload your own avatars!
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-12, 06:06 PM   #7
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

mine's won't start after the update.

I'm gonna have to call EA and request a refund for Battlefield 3.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-12, 09:19 PM   #8
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

Make sure your Microsoft Visual C++ is up to date.

Do you have UAC turned off? If so, try turning it on and then starting Origin up. There seems to be some permissions issues, probably due to the web-based UI, when UAC is turned off especially if you have a set up like mine where your OS is on an SDD and you're installing games onto a secondary HDD.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-03-12, 09:24 PM   #9
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

I am running into an issue where neither origin or bf3 won't start when in battlelog i am connecting to a server. it would say "joining server", and just get stuck on that step. If origin happens to be running, bf3 won't start. If origin is not running, it does not start. I have to restart computer until eventually it works.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-12, 09:31 PM   #10
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Origin Updated...now will not start

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
Make sure your Microsoft Visual C++ is up to date.

Do you have UAC turned off? If so, try turning it on and then starting Origin up. There seems to be some permissions issues, probably due to the web-based UI, when UAC is turned off especially if you have a set up like mine where your OS is on an SDD and you're installing games onto a secondary HDD.
Ok, so it asked me if it can make changes, to which I hit YES. Nothing after that....

Command prompt pops up for a split second and then....nothing.

Someone on a forum suggesting running "OriginTMP.exe" in the Origin directory. Ran it, it disappeared and then ran Origin and now it works. EA is retarded.

Man....I hate Origin. Long live Steam.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.