Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-03, 05:39 AM   #1
bruzie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 1
Unhappy GeForce4 MX440 at 1152x864

Hi,

I'm having trouble getting X to run at the resolution that I want, i.e. the res that I can run Win98 at: 1152x864x24 @ 75Hz.

I can get it running at 1024x768 no problem (doing so right now), but I'm having trouble getting any kind of modeline working for 1152x864.

The problem I'm getting is strange: if I run XFree86 from the command line I get the logo appearing normally, but when the grey hash comes up, I get this:

+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
|................................................. ................................|
|----------.................................................. .....................|
|..........-----------.................................................. ..........|
|.....................----------.................................................. |
etc., where .... is the grey hash, and ---- is the white of the nvidia logo.

Textually, what's happening is that the first row appears ok, the first 128 pixels (=1152/9) of the second row is displaying the logo buffer, pixels 128-256 of the third row the same, etc. and then it wraps around again. It's as if that the card or X or something is saying that the lines should be 1280 long and so should have 10 blocks of 128 instead of 9, but this is just my uneducated opinion. If I run startx to bring up KDE, then the bits of the logo that are left behind are still there, but the desktop itself is scrambled. The mouse cursor is unaffected by all this.

I have a generic no-brand monitor so I don't know the actual specs, but as I said earlier I have my target res running fine under Win98 so I didn't think this was a problem. If somebody knows of a util for Windows that will let me generate a modeline based on the current settings, this would be a greatly useful.

My specs:
AGP Leadtek GeForce4 MX440 - 64Mb DDR
1.0-4496, although I had this problem with an earlier version (4363)
LFS Distro running 2.4.20, XFree 4.3
Bios: 04.17.00.28.00
Pentium II-300

Sorry for the long winded message, but I've found nothing on the net relating to this problem, and I've gone through several modeline calculators and nothing has helped me.

Cheers,
Chris.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (4.7 KB, 125 views)
bruzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-03, 01:59 PM   #2
vnpenguin
GeForce4
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 28
Send a message via Yahoo to vnpenguin
Default

Hi,
I use GForce 4 MX 440 64 MB under RH9 (Athlon xp1800, 512 MB RAM). My screen is Philips 17" 107T4.

my XFree86 Config :
...
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Virtual 1600 1200
Depth 16
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768"
...
I have no problem with this config. I'm not use the latest nVidia driver :-)
vnpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 MX 460 "Golden Sample" MikeC For Sale/Trade 12 10-09-02 12:11 PM
Problems with a GeForce4 MX 440 under Debian Iainuki NVIDIA Linux 1 09-24-02 09:27 PM
GeForce4 MX440 igel4u NVIDIA Linux 2 09-24-02 04:47 AM
GeForce4 owners: Please post your TV encoder and board information ScuzziOne NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-04-02 06:55 PM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.