Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-03, 07:17 PM   #1
Ramiro Pereira
Geforce 2 Toshiba
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Question Notebook Toshiba 3005S303 Geforce 2 x TV

Hi!

I need work with a TVset via TVout plug and my notebook.
I don't know how to do this at all.
I read the README from NVIDIA DRIVER for several times, but I didn't get nothing.

Can someone help me?

This XF86Config works fine with my note. I need the complement for TVset (clone...).

# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
# Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"


Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us_intl"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Generic Laptop Display Panel 1024x768"
HorizSync 31.5 - 48.5
VertRefresh 40.0 - 70.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "nVidia GeForce 2 Go"
VideoRam 16384
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection
Ramiro Pereira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-03, 05:04 AM   #2
ntt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Try adding these options to the device section. If it doesn't work, try swapping the two resolutions around in the 'MetaModes' Option. I haven't found a way of telling the driver which device to find first (in fact that's why I'm here!).

Option "TwinViewOrientation "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,800x600"

..and these ones I can't tell you the values to use...

"ConnectedMonitors"
"TVStandard"
"TVOutFormat"

The first will be probably be "DFP,TV" for a laptop panel (but it might not...). TVStandard depends on where you live ("NTSC-M" for the US). TVOutFormat is either "COMPOSITE" or "SVIDEO". Composite is the phono plug, which is probably what you've got. S-Video is the annoying little one with lots of pins that nobody uses.

That should get you started - all the optionsd are explained in detail in the README file.
ntt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-03, 06:18 AM   #3
Ramiro Pereira
Geforce 2 Toshiba
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks NTT,

Great.
works!!!

But only in 800x600
Ramiro Pereira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-03, 07:19 PM   #4
ntt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah - the resolution you can go to using the 'Clone' mode will depend on what resolution your card can code to whatever format. You can, by all means try changing the 800x600 to 1024x768 and see if X still starts up. If not, then your TV encoder won't do 1024x768!

You can also use a 'panning domain' to have the 800x600 area on the TV follow the cursor around the 1024x768 desktop area which is all displayed on the monitor, but I haven't played with this, basically because I have no use for it!
ntt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The GeForce GTX 680M Flagship Notebook GPU Has Landed News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 03:41 AM
Enhance Max Payne 3, Diablo III with GeForce R300 Drivers News Archived News Items 0 05-22-12 06:30 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.