Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-12, 09:41 PM   #25
johnv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Dual card setup

No frustration at all. You have been very attentiive and that makes me interested eniugh to help. If you wish to get in contact when you have time to work on the debian/multimonitor issue,, post to this thread and I will get notified about it. Hope you can get on top of you busy scedule; tricky hardware setups and linux are not something you want to deal with when you really need to have the mind on the work. As long as my work doesn't get too crazy, I'll be happy to help. Right now it's slow.

Best Regards,
John
johnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 07:44 AM   #26
dabeegguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dual card setup

I will be available in about an hour. Do need to make a few phone calls but hope that they could be interspersed in between the tech stuff.
dabeegguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 10:28 AM   #27
johnv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Dual card setup

I'm sorry. I wrote that thinking you'd get back to this in weeks, not hours. OK, I'm available now for most of the day.
johnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 10:39 AM   #28
dabeegguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dual card setup

Ready and able.

(Using a second computer to communicate, subject system is up and I am in CLI.)
dabeegguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 10:45 AM   #29
johnv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Dual card setup

This might be better with an im or irc interface. We can just do it with posts here if you like. I notice there is a chat interface here as well.
johnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 11:12 AM   #30
dabeegguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dual card setup

I don't have a very fast connection. Could use IM I think. (Haven't used it in a while.) Posts would work too.
dabeegguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 11:14 AM   #31
dabeegguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dual card setup

Found chat here. - - looks good. You timed out just after I got there.
dabeegguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-12, 11:27 AM   #32
johnv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Dual card setup

Ok, I'm there now. I'll try to keep an eye on my being timed out and log back in when I see it's happened.
johnv is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-26-12, 11:52 AM   #33
johnv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Dual card setup

Sorry can't find your channel. Perhaps irc would be easier. I keep getting logged off automatically from whole site.
johnv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-12, 04:37 AM   #34
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Dual card setup

I use 3d desktop (beryl) over 2 video cards (gtx 460s) and 4 DVI ports (but 3 monitors). I have even a weirder setup. One of my monitors is 3840x2400 and runs of two dual link DVI ports (for the required bandwidth) ran off one card and the other two monitors are ran off the other card.

XGL is the only thing I am aware of that will allow you to do 3d type stuff over multiple video cards.

I am not sure how helpfull it will be to you but you can look at my Xorg.conf as an example:

http://box.houkouonchi.jp/t221_3007wfp_2007fp_xorg.conf

Here is what the final setup looks like (youtube video). This video is old and was back when I was using a vp2290b (left monitor) and now I am using a T221 that can take a higher refresh rate (internal refresh of 48Hz vs 41hz) and back then I was using two matrox triple head 2 go in order to go from 2x dual link DVI to 4x single link DVI (what the monitor took). The T221 I have now will natively take dual link DVI.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZdM2PWS39c

If you are aware of the limitations (with non XGL) I don't see why you couldn't get working what you want.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-12, 09:08 AM   #35
dabeegguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Default Re: Dual card setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xevious View Post
I use 3d desktop (beryl) over 2 video cards (gtx 460s) and 4 DVI ports (but 3 monitors). I have even a weirder setup. One of my monitors is 3840x2400 and runs of two dual link DVI ports (for the required bandwidth) ran off one card and the other two monitors are ran off the other card.

XGL is the only thing I am aware of that will allow you to do 3d type stuff over multiple video cards.

I am not sure how helpfull it will be to you but you can look at my Xorg.conf as an example:

http://box.houkouonchi.jp/t221_3007wfp_2007fp_xorg.conf

Here is what the final setup looks like (youtube video). This video is old and was back when I was using a vp2290b (left monitor) and now I am using a T221 that can take a higher refresh rate (internal refresh of 48Hz vs 41hz) and back then I was using two matrox triple head 2 go in order to go from 2x dual link DVI to 4x single link DVI (what the monitor took). The T221 I have now will natively take dual link DVI.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZdM2PWS39c

If you are aware of the limitations (with non XGL) I don't see why you couldn't get working what you want.
Thank you for posting.

Your system looks interesting and maybe even more challenging to setup than what I am trying to do.

Do you have any suggestions as to the steps/process to achieve something like what you have except with 2 video cards (nvidia 570 cards) (I am looking at adding the third card for added computional speed) and 4 identical monitors (each 1920 x 1080)?

Thanking you in advance for your assistance and consideration!!
dabeegguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-12, 09:34 AM   #36
Xevious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 291
Default Re: Dual card setup

Well I don't know about the copmitational device type of setup but I think You would want an Xorg to look *something* like this:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"

    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" Above "Screen0"
    Screen      2  "Screen2" RightOf "Screen0"
    Screen      3  "Screen3" RightOf "Screen1"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
    Option         "AIGLX" "true"
    #Option	   "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option         "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
    Option         "XGL" "true"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/local/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/misc/:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/CID/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
    FontPath        "/usr/lib64/X11/fonts/TTF/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "MY brand monitor 0"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 117.7
    VertRefresh     48.0 - 60.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor2"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "MY brand monitor 2"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 117.7
    VertRefresh     48.0 - 60.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor3"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "MY brand monitor 3"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 117.7
    VertRefresh     48.0 - 60.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "MY brand monitor 1"
    HorizSync       31.5 - 117.7
    VertRefresh     48.0 - 60.0
EndSection


Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    BusID          "PCI:132:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device2"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    BusID          "PCI:132:0:0"
    Screen          2
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device3"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    BusID          "PCI:134:0:0"
    Screen          3
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 460"
    BusID          "PCI:134:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection



Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen2"
    Device         "Device2"
    Monitor        "Monitor2"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-2: 1920x1200 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen3"
    Device         "Device3"
    Monitor        "Monitor3"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-2: 1920x1200 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
This is all assuming that on each card its two DFP ports are DFP-0 and DFP-2 (this is usually right for dual DVI + HDMI port cards my gtx 460s) these would need to be DFP-0 and DFP-1 if just dual DVI cards.

Also its assuming all monitors have working/normal EDID. This would be using two cards (one on 134 PCI bus and other on 132) this would need to be edited for your actual bus ID.

Here is mine:

I can't remember how I got those values but the log file does mention them:

Code:
(II) Feb 09 00:44:36 NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce GTX 460 (GF104) at PCI:132:0:0 (GPU-0)
(II) Feb 09 00:44:37 NVIDIA(1): NVIDIA GPU GeForce GTX 460 (GF104) at PCI:134:0:0 (GPU-1)
The above would result in a 3840x2400 virtual desktop. Not sure where the original comment about 7680x7680 came from. My desktop is 8000x2400:

root@sigito: 07:31 AM :~# xdpyinfo | grep -i dimen
dimensions: 8000x2400 pixels (2709x813 millimeters)


I hope this helped.
Xevious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.