Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-12, 06:00 AM   #1
eudoxos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default Card not used for graphics not detected by CUDA runtime

I have a GeForce GTX 560 Ti which is not used by the X server (it is a secondary card) (it does not touch the card, according to the log file). I installed the GPU SDK, compiled the examples. For some reason, the card is not seen by the CUDA runtime (it is not seen by the OpenCL runtime either), so I get errors:

Code:
$ export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/cuda/lib64
/opt/nVidia-GPU-computing-SDK/CUDALibraries/bin/linux/release$
 ./conjugateGradientPrecond
[conjugateGradientPrecond] starting...
../../common/inc/cutil_inline_runtime.h(398) : cudaSafeCallNoSync() Runtime API error : no CUDA-capable device is detected.
Other hardware information (the ATI card drives the display):

Code:
# lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Cayman XT [Radeon HD 6970]
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti] (rev a1)
Reloading the nvidia kernel module driver (ver 295.20)
Code:
# rmmod nvidia
# modprobe nvidia_current
# dmesg | tail
...
[ 1277.382344] nvidia 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A disabled
[ 1280.539164] nvidia 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 40 (level, low) -> IRQ 40
[ 1280.539178] nvidia 0000:02:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
[ 1280.539188] vgaarb: device changed decodes: PCI:0000:02:00.0,olddecodes=none,decodes=none:owns=none
[ 1280.539390] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  295.20  Mon Feb  6 21:07:30 PST 2012
# uname -a
Linux flair 3.2.0-18-generic #29-Ubuntu SMP Fri Mar 9 21:36:08 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Any hint? DO I need to have xserver somehow intialize the card so that it is seen by CUDA?
eudoxos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-12, 06:07 AM   #2
eudoxos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: Card not used for graphics not detected by CUDA runtime

Solved, I have to create device nodes (since the X server does not do that for me) using a simple shell script (e.g. http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=171168).
eudoxos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.