Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-03, 05:20 PM   #1
Syan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Syan Send a message via Yahoo to Syan
Default Halo PC is gonna be pushing PS 2.0

Just read this interview at Avault: http://www.avault.com/articles/getar...sp?name=halopc

Here's the bit:

What graphics hardware features does Halo support?

You'll want the latest fully DirectX 9 compliant video card if you want the "better than Xbox" look. This will give you blazing speed and pixel shader 2.0 support along with tons of other cool features. Halo can render everything with lots of passes or heavy use of pixel shaders. We also support a couple different generations of DirectX 8 cards and most DirectX 7 cards. DirectX 7 cards will look the most distant from the Xbox version because all of the content was authored with pixel shaders in mind. It's no longer just nice looking texture mapped polygons. It's way beyond that now.
__________________
P4 3.2 (800mhz fsb)
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT
SB Audigy 2
1GB DDR 400 RAM
Syan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-03, 05:20 PM   #2
Syan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Syan Send a message via Yahoo to Syan
Default

Can't wait to pit the 5900 and 9800 up against eachother for this game soon!
__________________
P4 3.2 (800mhz fsb)
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT
SB Audigy 2
1GB DDR 400 RAM
Syan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-03, 05:35 PM   #3
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default ...

I wonder if the shader detection thing is gonna be transparent or if it's gonna feature a menu option... hmmm... so, a GF2ti/GF4Mx may be able to run this game @ reasonable framerates... cool... but I wonder if FX5200 owners will be able to turn the PS off to remain playable... I should hope so, cuz otherwise you'd have:

Guy A: "I have a GF4MX and it runs pretty smooth..."
Guy B: "I have a 5200 and it runs like Cr@p!"

__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-03, 06:15 PM   #4
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

The game is being set to be able to run on a Geforce 2 GTS. Like it was when it was in development years ago
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-03, 09:26 PM   #5
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default

I don't know what this is about, but I have the beta of PC Halo, and not only does it have a crapload of rendering bugs(its beta, but still), it runs like crap on my high end comp, and it looks like a PC game from 99'.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-03, 09:46 PM   #6
Zenikase
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 99
Default

Considering the fact that Halo was mostly designed as a DX8 game (for the Xbox), I don't think Gearbox can do much aside from reducing the number of passes.
Zenikase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-03, 11:47 PM   #7
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default

Actually, Gearbox said they rewrote ALL of the Pixel Shader code. They said something about it not being transferable between Xbox and PC because it wasn't compatable with all video cards or something like that. So basicly, we'll see a lot of new DX9 effects with the game, and many things will look different (and hopefully better) then the Xbox version.

I'm also interested in the performence difference for the 5900/9800. It could be another HL2 with the 5900 getting half the FPS as the 9800, or the DX9 effects might be light enough that the 5900 will be able to put up a good fight. We'll just have to see how many of their effects are DX8 and how many are DX9. This could be a key point in the FX series' pixel shader performence.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-03, 12:24 AM   #8
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default

Sounds about right about the shader stuff. Still, it appears to me that they used the exact same geometry and textures from the X-box version, so if all they are doing is adding PS effects, it's still gonna look like crap. It looks soooo horrible on a PC monitor, and any action makes it hit 2-3 fps. Plsu the animations for peoples mouths seems really off, looks worse than the original HL characters.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-12-03, 05:11 AM   #9
Nebuchadnezzar
Registered User
 
Nebuchadnezzar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Internet
Posts: 122
Default

Sorry if mentioned in a nother thread, but for ATI cards, you just force PS to 1.3/1.4 with RageTweaker. Looks better and performs WAY better.
__________________
[ P4 3.5GHz / SP-94 | 1GB HyperX | Asus P4C800-E Del. | 400GB SATA-R0 + 200GB | 6800GT 399/1120::67.03 | Sonata 380W | LiteOn DVD±RW | NEC 17" TFT | SE K700i ]

[ 3DMark01:20406][03:12401][05:5153][PCMark04:4572][Aquamark³:67465][CpuZ ]
Nebuchadnezzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-03, 06:19 AM   #10
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nebuchadnezzar
Sorry if mentioned in a nother thread, but for ATI cards, you just force PS to 1.3/1.4 with RageTweaker. Looks better and performs WAY better.
It looks better when using DX8 instead of DX9
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-03, 11:53 PM   #11
ReDeeMeR
The Guy Next Door *wink*
 
ReDeeMeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 605
Send a message via ICQ to ReDeeMeR
Default

Well it looks ****ty and runs ****ty to, something new.
ReDeeMeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 05:42 AM   #12
WarheadMM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
It looks better when using DX8 instead of DX9
Why cant you use every DX9 option and one DX8 option?? is that agaisnt the rules or something??
__________________
A7N8X Deluxe REV 1.04
AMD 2500+
Asylum 5900 (480/980)
1 GB PC 3200
Windows XP Pro SP1
WarheadMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(PR) Eurocom Adds GeForce GTX 680M as Option to Neptune 2.0 and Racer 2.0 News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.