Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-03, 02:19 AM   #37
Flavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 211
Default

Isn't that sad, Roach? Forget HalfLife2 performance! People should REALLY be pissed about how the Nvidia cards are getting 3X WORSE performance on an EXISTING game!!! Let me tell you, those ArtX engineers ATI hired are gods or something.... I think RV420 will beat NV40 too. I just don't see how it can't. I mean ATI is just sooo far ahead right now. NV40 was probably just being THOUGHT of at the time 9700Pro was on the market, and ATI is basically using the same tech even in the 9800XT. The next new ATI chip is going to blow everyone away.... let's pray their driver team doesn't bugger everything up now.
Flavius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-03, 02:30 AM   #38
Behemoth
radeon 9800 pro
 
Behemoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Darkness Falls
Posts: 841
Default

flavius, i use p4 3G/ dual channel 800FSB 1G ram. i know how you feel, sigh... i sold my 5800 because of it. i dont have scientific proof but i am pretty sure nv3x sucks @ any shaders without heavy optimizations.
i dont believe they are driver problems.... if there are so many driver problems what's the point to stay with nvidia. lol

p.s. yeah i am getting around 40 average fps in that room, sometimes lower sometimes higher, you cant get below 30fps anywhere in this map anyway with that setting

Last edited by Behemoth; 09-14-03 at 02:37 AM.
Behemoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-03, 11:25 AM   #39
Gaal Dornik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 10
Default

A2600+ and a R9700np o/c @337/297 (almost R9700pro )
AF*8 AA*4 1024*768*32Bit
All settings maxed out/checked as shown below. IIRC nVidia driver doesnt allow users enable triliniar filtering. "optimisations".. but anyway, my score is 44fps on the same place.


Gaal Dornik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-03, 01:34 PM   #40
Behemoth
radeon 9800 pro
 
Behemoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Darkness Falls
Posts: 841
Default

wow gaal, are you using performance af?
i dont check the use blob shadows option.
anyway this is the best i can do, with no bot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ut2003b.jpg
Views:	617
Size:	76.0 KB
ID:	3165  
Behemoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-03, 02:27 PM   #41
Flavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 211
Default

Yeah Gaal, you're supposed to disable blob shadows if you want maximized settings. Can't you see it says its for LOW PERFORMANCE PCs!
Flavius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-03, 02:28 PM   #42
Flavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 211
Default

What are you guys using to get the yellow FPS # to appear? I only know how to do it with the STAT FPS command, which doesnt put the yellow # there.
Flavius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-03, 02:56 PM   #43
RoachMojo
Who...who are you..?
 
RoachMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flavius
What are you guys using to get the yellow FPS # to appear? I only know how to do it with the STAT FPS command, which doesnt put the yellow # there.
It's called "fraps", Flavius, get it here: www.fraps.com

I have the older version.

Yes is its sad!!!! I guess I just live with it, as I did the evga stepup so only paid about $100, and it is still way faster than my ti4600 (mostly).

I just want the friggin stereo drivers to work again!

BTW, I did have blob shadows off with my stellar 15fps, heh.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1 copy.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	72.4 KB
ID:	3166  
__________________
Coolermaster ATC-210-VX1 case w/ Rosewill 850W PSU | Q9650@3.6Ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 LED | eVga 780i BIOS P10 w/ 4GB OCZ Platinum PC8500 | 3-WD 640GB + External WD 1TB + Lite On 12x Blu-ray Burner | eVga Geforce GTX470 SC w/ Sony 60EX700 HDTV | Nvidia HD Audio on Denon 1909 5.1 and Polk Speakers | Dual Booting XP Professional SP3 and Windows 7 Enterprise X64
RoachMojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-03, 09:13 PM   #44
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

Quote:
U can OC that 9800 to 420+ core and 750 memory.
Is that close to a max or is it a pretty safe oc? I'm just wondering how cautiously to approach it. I basically started at 400/700. That took me to 5900 in 3Dmark03 (up from 56xx).
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-14-03, 11:41 PM   #45
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

420/750 should be safe. There are lots running it much higher with no problems. You might want to add a small extra fan blowing over the ram chips to help out if u r using stock cooling.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 07:14 AM   #46
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
You might want to add a small extra fan blowing over the ram chips to help out if u r using stock cooling.
If you plan on keeping the card a while you also might want to invest in some Tweakmonster BGA memory heatsinks. They might not allow you to push the RAM higher, but they should help keep it cooler when it's running at its limit.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 08:28 AM   #47
Gaal Dornik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 10
Default

http://www.ataricommunity.com/forums...hreadid=317418
posted this there, got a reply. Epic rules

Quote:
Originally posted by vogel
I'm going to try to reproduce the issue and if successful escalate with NVIDIA.

-- Daniel, Epic Games Inc.
Hopefully its a problem of a map and not a crappy FX performance..
I tested it again after downclocking my R9700,
enabling Hardware Sound and unchecking Blob Shadows
I got 39 fps on that spot. Too lazy to upload a pic
AF was on quality all the time, Vsync OFF,
Gaal Dornik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 12:09 PM   #48
Flavius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 211
Default

Wow, I guess I uncovered a nasty performance issue with FX cards. How can it be a map problem if ATI cards perform just fine? Thanks for taking this issue and running with it Gaal...
Flavius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.