Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-03, 09:11 PM   #1
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default Annoying Window Task Bar bug

Often, when I put my cursor on an icon in the task bar, such as the clock, or in the image below, an application called Mother Board Monitor, the tool tip style text gets drawn behind the task bar making it unreadable (if it is visible at all).

Any idea how to fix this?



Note: The following attachment is the visible image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wintaskbarbug.jpg
Views:	548
Size:	3.2 KB
ID:	3142  
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 12:45 AM   #2
Matthius
Registered User
 
Matthius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: MeH
Posts: 192
Send a message via ICQ to Matthius Send a message via AIM to Matthius
Default

hahahha. never had that problem before
__________________
NissanSilvia.com
Matthius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 08:41 PM   #3
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Have you tried locking and unlocking your task bar? Fooling with settings like auto hide?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 09:17 AM   #4
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Riptide
Have you tried locking and unlocking your task bar? Fooling with settings like auto hide?
No, but I will try that next time it occurs. It just happens every now and then on all the WinXp (and 2k?) machines I use at home and work.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 10:14 AM   #5
Xtreeem
Registered User
 
Xtreeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On a couch at 39.58 N x 86.34 W
Posts: 13
Default

I also had that annoying little bug once.
Try this,
right click on the 'Start' button
click 'properties'
on the 'Taskbar' tab
put a check in the box 'keep the taskbar on top of other windows'
click apply.

Hope that works for ya. lmk
__________________
up and running, but still under construction
2.4 P4c 800mhz FSB
Asus P4c800 deluxe
Corsair TwinX 512 mb pc 3200
WD 'Raptor' 36G SATA HD (1 more and raid coming soon)
nvidia 4200
Lite-On 52x24x52x CD-RW
Plextor DVD+RW
Gold plated case
Anodized aluminum case fans
Zalman 6000 passive heat sink w/ a 92mm fan (water cooling soon)
Xtreeem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 11:35 AM   #6
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xtreeem
I also had that annoying little bug once.
Try this,
right click on the 'Start' button
click 'properties'
on the 'Taskbar' tab
put a check in the box 'keep the taskbar on top of other windows'
click apply.

Hope that works for ya. lmk
Ooh, good advice. I'll have to try that when I get home. I've experienced this problem occasionally myself.

BTW, are you neighbors with digitalwanderer or are you from a different part of the Crossroads of America?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 09:16 AM   #7
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xtreeem
I also had that annoying little bug once.
Try this,
right click on the 'Start' button
click 'properties'
on the 'Taskbar' tab
put a check in the box 'keep the taskbar on top of other windows'
click apply.

Hope that works for ya. lmk
Just checked... already has that option checked.

With XP, I can always log out, then log back in, to fix all maner of silly problem (like CD-RW drive won't eject, or explorer crashed, etc., and task bar weirdness.)
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 05:48 PM   #8
mrsabidji
I am the cheese...
 
mrsabidji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to mrsabidji
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xtreeem
I also had that annoying little bug once.
Try this,
right click on the 'Start' button
click 'properties'
on the 'Taskbar' tab
put a check in the box 'keep the taskbar on top of other windows'
click apply.

Hope that works for ya. lmk
Shouldn't he rather uncheck that box ?

mrsabidji

PS : I'm just guessing, I don't have that problem.
mrsabidji is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-19-03, 05:26 AM   #9
Greg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mrsabidji
Shouldn't he rather uncheck that box ?
Hehehe, I see where you're coming from, though I'm sure that option is supposed to refer to main windows, not tool-tip ones that should overlay their parent window.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-03, 07:32 AM   #10
mrsabidji
I am the cheese...
 
mrsabidji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to mrsabidji
Default

Yeah, that's why I felt the need to add a PS .

mrsabidji
mrsabidji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-03, 04:03 PM   #11
Xtreeem
Registered User
 
Xtreeem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: On a couch at 39.58 N x 86.34 W
Posts: 13
Default

That seems logical, but remember what were dealing with here,
a Microsoft operating system.
How many other things have you ever seen in their OS's that don't
make sense?
I really don't remember exactly what I did to fix that little bug, but I did check that box.
Guess that's why it's a 'bug'
Also, I run Norton WinDoctor every 2 or 3 weeks, maybe that's what
fixed it.
__________________
up and running, but still under construction
2.4 P4c 800mhz FSB
Asus P4c800 deluxe
Corsair TwinX 512 mb pc 3200
WD 'Raptor' 36G SATA HD (1 more and raid coming soon)
nvidia 4200
Lite-On 52x24x52x CD-RW
Plextor DVD+RW
Gold plated case
Anodized aluminum case fans
Zalman 6000 passive heat sink w/ a 92mm fan (water cooling soon)
Xtreeem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-03, 11:44 PM   #12
Shion Uzuki
Engineer-in-training
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: University of Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 35
Default

hmm. Seems like you are using StyleXP. I just tried it here on my machine too, and same problem.

If you try to use the default Windows 9X / original Win XP themes, the problems will be eliminated.
__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice
DFI LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D
OCZ 1GB DDR400
Enermax NoiseTaker 485W w/PPFC
CoolerMaster Cavalier 1 (dB meter, CCFL etc...)
Seagate 200GB w/NCQ
Pioneer DVR-109 DVD+/-RW DL
XFX GeForce 6600GT PCIe
Shion Uzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.