Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-12, 08:37 PM   #13
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

Hey Thomas, is your CPU showing correct speed in windows? i overclocked mine and its showing only 1.6Ghz in CPU-Z supposed to be 4.5GHZ
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-12, 05:21 AM   #14
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

you have to turn off speedstep . when you move fast with your mouse it might show 4,5
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-12, 06:23 AM   #15
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

Quote:
Originally Posted by T.h.o.m.a.s. View Post
you have to turn off speedstep . when you move fast with your mouse it might show 4,5
Thanx.. first time working with UEFI .. i disabled the speedstep but i still have to move the mouse in order to get the correct speed to show?
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-12, 10:06 AM   #16
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

i also turned off everything regarding power saving
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-12, 11:12 AM   #17
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

Quote:
Originally Posted by T.h.o.m.a.s. View Post
i also turned off everything regarding power saving
Yeah I think you are right, I think I have to disable the EPU setting. Will check it after I get home from work today.
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-12, 03:30 PM   #18
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

today i've tested with only two sticks of ram @ default voltages . so far no problems .
it seems the asrock mobo doesnt handle 4 sticks of 8 gb very well . Next week , the gene V should arrive so i'll test that one with 4 sticks aswell
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-12, 03:40 AM   #19
T.h.o.m.a.s.
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 214
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

yesterday the asus gene V arrived , so i installed everything once again .
this time no erros , the board works fine with 4 sticks of 8Gb . why the asrock mobo doesnt , i dont know . the asrock goes to another computer anyway . it was my first time with another brand than asus and it wasnt a very pleasant one . i hope they have a biosfix ready in the future to accomodate 4 sticks !
T.h.o.m.a.s. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-12, 11:06 PM   #20
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Upgraded after a long time

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
ASRock are better than they were at least. Remember those weird hybrid boards they used to do? Like AGP and PCI-E, Socket 939 and AM2... My sister had one and it was incredibly unstable.
I do remember, it was a cool novelty, but it was just that... a novelty. It wasn't really fit for mainstream.

I'm really jealous of the rig man. I was looking to upgrade mine soon and I've been planning out something similar. I love the C2D and C2Q for what it was... but what it is now is just outdated... I'm itching for something with a little more oomph
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CRT and TV at the same time. sonne NVIDIA Linux 1 10-04-02 02:54 PM
Mandrake 9 / G4 TI4600 / Long error list... Fluxism NVIDIA Linux 13 10-03-02 10:27 PM
Understanding CineFX - MUCH more than the R300 Uttar Rumor Mill 68 10-02-02 01:02 AM
Works great the first time! whoever NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 12 08-21-02 07:49 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.