Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-03, 11:15 AM   #1
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Angry Unrecognized card (last resort)

This is one last attempt to get this card working. I'm not sure what I can do next. The card is a VisionTek Geforce4 Ti4600.

I'm attaching everything I could possibly think of, including a copy of /proc/driver/nvidia.

I think the main issue of the error is these few lines outputted to the console:

(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to determine chip name
NV: bad offset/length into frame buffer: 0x0 0x7f60000 0x2000000
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to to map framebuffer
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
Attached Files
File Type: log console.log (1.3 KB, 170 views)

Last edited by TheOuch; 09-16-03 at 11:26 AM.
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-03, 11:20 AM   #2
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default Rest of logs

Attached are rest of configuration / logs.

P.S. TGZ is much more convient than ZIP
Attached Files
File Type: zip logs.zip (13.1 KB, 129 views)
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-03, 09:32 PM   #3
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

bump
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 09:39 AM   #4
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

Is NVIDIA even on here any more?
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 04:55 PM   #5
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

I think my next card will be an ATI
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 06:48 PM   #6
russofris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Default

Good afternoon,

The only thing that I may suggest is to flash the BIOS of the video card with that of a similar (but known working) model. I asume that your card does not have any interesting features (built in tuner or such)? I have done this for both Nvidia and ATI cards in the past with good results.

You may wish to have an extra PCI video card handy in the event that you mess up, or the process goes poorly.

Thank you for your time,
Frank Russo
russofris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 07:00 PM   #7
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

Since nvidia doesn't supply reference firmware, and VisionTek doesn't have any updates on their web site, do you have any suggestions on where I could find some new firmware?
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 08:42 AM   #8
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

I notice nvidia doesn't offer reference bios versions. But, visiontek made the nvidia reference boards. Aren't there any bios versions lying around anywhere?

Also, has anyone mucked with the code enough to know where the detection is done? Maybe I can just hack my driver to see the geforce4 ti.
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-18-03, 10:18 AM   #9
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

Ok, I finally found some new bios'es here:

http://whitebunny.demon.nl/hardware/vid_nvidia.html

and I installed 4.25.00.37.

Same exact behavior.

The Radeon 9600 is looking pretty cheap on ebay right now.

This really sucks. I've been a nvidia fan since the TNT because of their awesome linux drivers. But, after owning several TNT's, a Geforce2, and a Geforce 3, now I have this super fast card that just won't work. And, the total lack of support here is just making things worse.

Anyone want a Geforce 4 that works great under windows for $100?
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 10:34 AM   #10
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

And, just to make things more fun, the error is occuring the the binary-only portion of the driver, nvidia_drv.o:

# strings nvidia_drv.o | grep "chip name"
Failed to determine chip name
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 12:41 PM   #11
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

I started hacking the driver till I ran into another closed-source file. Was trying to figure out why it found the card (by pci ids), but couldn't get the bios revision.
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 01:08 PM   #12
TheOuch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 32
Default

I just confirmed that this is not Suse 8.2 related.

I thought it might be a GCC3 vs gcc2 thing, so I installed redhat 7.3, and it gives the same error.
TheOuch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Measuring card memory usage peter_ga NVIDIA Linux 0 05-24-12 08:07 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
Best video card for running dual displays? nutsnbolts NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 09-03-02 02:02 PM
Video card upgrade advice needed Billy34 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 08-28-02 05:19 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.