Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-13-03, 01:55 PM   #1
cornelius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Question Geforce4 440 64MB on a Samsung x10 1300 II

Hi,

I'm trying to use the latest NVIDIA binary driver on my Samsung X10 XTC 1300 II. The X11-nv driver works fine, but the nvidia driver just produces garbage on the lcd. I tried some older versions as well, and disabled the AGP support without success. I attached my XF86Config and the log file. What else can I try? It is possible to enable tv-out using the nv driver?
Thanks,
-cornelius
Attached Files
File Type: log xf86config_xfree.log (24.2 KB, 156 views)
cornelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-03, 06:13 AM   #2
cornelius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Default verbose log

Here's a verbose log file from XFree, which looks not too bad, but it still doesn't give any usable output. The output image looks as if it was on a CRT with wrong timings (too high vertical refresh rate), but it is a DFP inside a laptop. I found some other people with Samsung laptops, they all had the same problems, and it seems as if it is never running on Samsung laptops.
My System is SuSE 8.2, default kernel 2.4.20-4GB.
If you need any other information please ask.
Thanks,
-c
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (31.3 KB, 129 views)
cornelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-03, 09:31 AM   #3
andysan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 37
Default

Hi cornelius,

Unfortunately there are a lot of us out here with the Samsung X10 who all have the same problem (try searching for Samsung X10 on this forum). The problem seems to be with the laptop's built in LCD --- it seems like it is not being detected properly by the NVidia driver. On mine I can get the NVidia driver to work when an external monitor is connected to the SVGA out. I haven't tried TVout.

NVidia say they are looking into the problem so I think all we can do is keep reminding them about it!

Andy.
andysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-03, 04:14 AM   #4
souther
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, same problem here X10 XTC1300 with nvidia gives only garbage on the screen and screw console while exiting this X-mess.
But, with the latest drivers I did manage to got something else but not really good yet.

When I load the nvidia driver with "modprobe nvidia NVreg_Mobile=1 NVreg_SoftEDIDs=0" and then startx I got a readable screen with my icons inside but it is covering only the 2/3 of the DFP. By the way glx is ok and FPS are good :-). There is a large black part on the right. Switching resolution does not give anything good and messing with Scale and Dither did not too.
If I load the module with NVreg_Mobile=2 I got messy X screen like usual but return to console is good and clean.


I am using a 2.4.22rc2-ac3 kernel and the video card is the 440 Go 64M. Included my XF86Config-4

I hope it will help someone to find out this issue.
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (3.1 KB, 164 views)
souther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-03, 06:16 AM   #5
cornelius
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

thanks for your replies. I can get the driver work the way you described it as well (with a SuSE 2.4.20-4GB kernel) I think there's not much wrong in the nvidia driver, I think this looks really promising. I made some screenshots at cclaussen.de/x10 . GLX is working too. But dont try to press Fn+F2 or Fn+F4 since it will lock up everything.
It shouldn't be to hard for nvidia to fix it, and I hope they do in the near future since I really need the TV-out.

-c

P.S.: If you're using the nv driver and switch back to console, it is sometimes 'left-shifted'. Just found out that pressing Fn+F4 helps to restore it.
cornelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-03, 06:50 AM   #6
darge0flex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Soest/Germany
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to darge0flex
Default

With the tips from souther I got now a readable screen! But the screen dimensions are wrong and the right side is just black.
But its a step forward.
darge0flex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 12:23 PM   #7
andysan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 37
Default Read this one please NVidia: it's almost working

I've also tried the options
modprobe nvidia NVreg_Mobile=1 NVreg_SoftEDIDs=0 (with the 4496 driver)
and get the same results as those above: horizontally I can see everything but all squashed into 3/4 or so of the screen width; vertically stretched so that the bottom 1/3 maybe is missing. Almost seems to me like the driver has vertical and horizontal confused or something (i.e. it seems to have swapped the width and height)....

Really seems like we're close here!

Andy M. or someone from NVidia: does this seem like something we can fix with configuration options (new modelines, etc.) or are should we just all wait for the next driver release???

I attach my /var/log/XFree.0.log file (produced with startx -- -logverbose 5) for this configuration.

Andy.
Attached Files
File Type: txt nvlog.txt (29.3 KB, 126 views)
andysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 12:39 PM   #8
darge0flex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Soest/Germany
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to darge0flex
Default

Hrrr...cant wait to play ut2003 on my x10........
__________________
.::gentoo-samsung x10::.
darge0flex is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-17-03, 02:42 PM   #9
arthur1968
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Navacerrada, Madrid
Posts: 23
Default

Sorry, guys,

I overlooked the obvious:

The only 2 distros working on my X10 are

Red Hat 9.0
Knoppix 3.2 (HDD install)

Both of these work perfectly with the default driver (nv for RH 9, can't remember which one for Knoppix 3.2).

None of the following installed properly (let alone worked):

SuSE 8.1 Pro
Lycoris Build 46
Mandrake 9.1
Gentoo 1.4 (stage3)
LinEx 3.0 r1 (Debian Woody)
Yoper 1.0
J.A.M.D. 0.0.6b

Why don't you give RH 9 a try?.

Everything graphical works OK.

Regards,

Arthur1968
__________________
Desktop
DELL Dimension 4100
512 MB SDRAM 100 MHz
nVidia GeForce 2 MX
Win 98 / Win XP Pro SP1 / Fedora Core 1 (default)

Laptop
SAMSUNG X10
Win XP Pro SP1 / Fedora Core 1 (default)
arthur1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 02:49 PM   #10
andysan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 37
Default

No not everything Arthur.... the free nv driver works (I am using it now) but it doesn't support hardware-accelerated 3D (fast OpenGL) ---- that is what we need NVidia's own driver for. Without it the nice graphics cards in these machines are going to waste.

Andy.
andysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 02:54 PM   #11
joel112
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
Default

i really do hope they fix this, i am about to buy an x10 1600II, i knwo its gonna be a bugger to get working under linux with all the acpi, and my netgear wg511 card, so i hope my efforts wont be wasted on a buggered driver, i like NVIDIA purley for the support for linux users, and the effort they have put into a driver, so i hope i aint let down now....
joel112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 05:13 PM   #12
darge0flex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Soest/Germany
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to darge0flex
Default

I think the problem is that the panel from our x10 needs special arguments to work correctly with the nvidia-driver. And the driver is at the moment not able to detect the tech-specs from the panel correctly. The best would be if there went for the x10 like for dell and so on a special NVreg_Mobile-setting in the nvidia-driver to give it the right direction to use.

But this is still future at the moment...
__________________
.::gentoo-samsung x10::.
darge0flex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Satellite 1955/S801, GeForce4 440 Go azaroth NVIDIA Linux 2 01-01-03 08:19 PM
Problems with a GeForce4 MX 440 under Debian Iainuki NVIDIA Linux 1 09-24-02 09:27 PM
Defective Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 64MB cards HotCarl NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 13 09-24-02 02:04 AM
nVidia Geforce4 440 Go 1400x1050 problem moreinf NVIDIA Linux 10 09-16-02 12:25 PM
GeForce4 Go 440 and Windows 2000 refresh rates vitocorleone NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 09-03-02 03:38 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.