Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-07, 11:22 PM   #1
Mithrilhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Question Slow Internet/Network Speeds

I recently purchased a Shuttle XPC SN27P2 which uses the Nvidia nForce 570 Ultra chipset. Getting Debian installed (or any other distro) is easy enough and my onboard NIC is detected (Marvell 88E1116) but my network speed is slow or slower than dial-up.

I've turned off the onboard NIC in the BIOS and installed an Intel NIC and it was also detected fine but my speeds are still just as slow.

Right now I'm dual booting with Vista and everything works fine (network speeds that is).

I've tried multiple distros with the same success: Debian 4.0r0, Debian 4.0r1, Kubuntu 7.04 (Live CD), CentOS 5.0, Knoppix v5.1 (Live CD) and Sabayon (Live CD). The only distro that has my network speeds working properly is PCLinuxOS 2007 (Live CD).

I'm not sure what information would be helpful so just let me know what's needed if you're able to help me.

Quote:
eric@localhost:~$ cat /proc/interrupts
CPU0 CPU1
0: 84 1 IO-APIC-edge timer
1: 0 2 IO-APIC-edge i8042
6: 0 2 IO-APIC-edge floppy
8: 0 0 IO-APIC-edge rtc
9: 0 0 IO-APIC-fasteoi acpi
12: 0 4 IO-APIC-edge i8042
14: 0 764 IO-APIC-edge ide0
16: 0 257 IO-APIC-fasteoi ehci_hcd:usb1, HDA Intel
17: 2 1401 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci_hcd:usb2
18: 0 36 IO-APIC-fasteoi eth1
19: 0 63 IO-APIC-fasteoi eth2
20: 0 2 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci1394
21: 0 0 IO-APIC-fasteoi libata
22: 2 5733 IO-APIC-fasteoi libata
NMI: 0 0
LOC: 5171 8933
ERR: 1
MIS: 0
eric@localhost:~$
Quote:
eric@localhost:~$ lspci
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:06.0 PCI bridge: Digital Equipment Corporation DECchip 21152 (rev 03)
01:08.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 80)
02:04.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 05)
02:05.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82557/8/9 [Ethernet Pro 100] (rev 05)
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0421 (rev a1)
eric@localhost:~$
Quote:
eric@localhost:~$ lsmod
Module Size Used by
ipv6 238688 10
ppdev 8900 0
parport_pc 33124 0
lp 11172 0
parport 34056 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
button 8272 0
ac 5508 0
battery 10308 0
powernow_k8 14400 1
cpufreq_ondemand 8204 1
cpufreq_powersave 2112 0
cpufreq_conservative 7176 0
cpufreq_stats 5440 0
freq_table 4832 3 powernow_k8,cpufreq_ondemand,cpufreq_stats
cpufreq_userspace 4448 0
dm_snapshot 16740 0
dm_mirror 20564 0
dm_mod 53132 2 dm_snapshot,dm_mirror
sbp2 21764 0
loop 16328 0
snd_hda_intel 20632 1
snd_hda_codec 198976 1 snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm_oss 39904 0
snd_mixer_oss 15744 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 72388 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer 21188 1 snd_pcm
rtc 13016 0
i2c_nforce2 6016 0
snd 48612 8 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_ oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
shpchp 31316 0
pci_hotplug 29440 1 shpchp
k8temp 5888 0
psmouse 35336 0
serio_raw 6916 0
pcspkr 3456 0
i2c_core 20928 1 i2c_nforce2
soundcore 7712 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 9800 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
tsdev 7872 0
eth1394 18820 0
evdev 9536 4
ext3 122312 1
jbd 55720 1 ext3
mbcache 8452 1 ext3
ide_cd 37024 0
cdrom 33120 1 ide_cd
sd_mod 20352 3
generic 5124 0 [permanent]
amd74xx 13660 0 [permanent]
ide_core 115656 3 ide_cd,generic,amd74xx
usbhid 23840 0
hid 24192 1 usbhid
sata_nv 19588 2
ohci1394 32944 0
ata_generic 8388 0
e100 33288 0
mii 5696 1 e100
ohci_hcd 19972 0
floppy 55300 0
ieee1394 90872 3 sbp2,eth1394,ohci1394
libata 110420 2 sata_nv,ata_generic
scsi_mod 134412 3 sbp2,sd_mod,libata
ehci_hcd 31116 0
usbcore 123976 4 usbhid,ohci_hcd,ehci_hcd
thermal 14472 0
processor 31240 2 powernow_k8,thermal
fan 5188 0
eric@localhost:~$
Quote:
localhost:/lib/modules/2.6.21-2-k7/kernel/net# uname -a
Linux localhost 2.6.21-2-k7 #1 SMP Wed Jul 11 04:29:08 UTC 2007 i686 GNU/Linux
localhost:/lib/modules/2.6.21-2-k7/kernel/net#
Mithrilhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-07, 09:04 AM   #2
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mithrilhall
I recently purchased a Shuttle XPC SN27P2 which uses the Nvidia nForce 570 Ultra chipset. Getting Debian installed (or any other distro) is easy enough and my onboard NIC is detected (Marvell 88E1116) but my network speed is slow or slower than dial-up.

I've turned off the onboard NIC in the BIOS and installed an Intel NIC and it was also detected fine but my speeds are still just as slow.

Right now I'm dual booting with Vista and everything works fine (network speeds that is).

I've tried multiple distros with the same success: Debian 4.0r0, Debian 4.0r1, Kubuntu 7.04 (Live CD), CentOS 5.0, Knoppix v5.1 (Live CD) and Sabayon (Live CD). The only distro that has my network speeds working properly is PCLinuxOS 2007 (Live CD).

I'm not sure what information would be helpful so just let me know what's needed if you're able to help me.
some questions:
- How do you "measure" your network speed? if you have another
linux system: see iperf tool... sniffers like wireshark / iptraf are good utilites too!

- can you please provide a "full" dmesg report? because it looks like that you have a interrupt problem... (Have you already tried to _flash_ the latest BIOS?)

- what does ethtool eth0 and ifconfig look like?

Last edited by chunkey; 10-01-07 at 09:09 AM. Reason: ideas!
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-07, 12:38 PM   #3
Mithrilhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

I'm measuring my speed via www.speedtest.com.

Quote:
- can you please provide a "full" dmesg report? because it looks like that you have a interrupt problem... (Have you already tried to _flash_ the latest BIOS?)

- what does ethtool eth0 and ifconfig look like?
I'll post the results of those as soon as I get home.
Mithrilhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-07, 01:07 PM   #4
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

ifconfig would be helpful too to see if you're 10M half-duplex on the NIC as well as if there is bad MTU.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-07, 01:21 PM   #5
Mithrilhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

I'm not home right now but I remember doing a ifconfig and a ethtool and all was good. No errors and it was full duplex 100 and set to auto.
Mithrilhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-07, 12:28 AM   #6
Mithrilhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Question Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

I've attached the dmesg log and here is the other stuff you asked about.

Quote:
localhost:/home/eric# ifconfig
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:90:27:FC:A9:8E
inet addr:10.2.250.12 Bcast:10.2.250.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:603 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:648 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:461196 (450.3 KiB) TX bytes:96855 (94.5 KiB)

eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:90:27:FC:A9:8F
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

localhost:/home/eric#
Quote:
localhost:/home/eric# ethtool eth1
Settings for eth1:
Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
Advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
Speed: 100Mb/s
Duplex: Full
Port: MII
PHYAD: 1
Transceiver: internal
Auto-negotiation: on
Supports Wake-on: g
Wake-on: d
Current message level: 0x00000007 (7)
Link detected: yes
localhost:/home/eric#
dmesg.txt
Mithrilhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-07, 12:37 AM   #7
Mithrilhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

I've attached a dump of my hwinfo as well.

hwinfo.txt.tar.gz
Mithrilhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-07, 12:58 AM   #8
Mithrilhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

Also, there looks like there is a BIOS update for my model but it only 'fixes BE-23XX CPU show model unknown' but I'll give that a try as well.
Mithrilhall is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-02-07, 05:01 AM   #9
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mithrilhall
Also, there looks like there is a BIOS update for my model but it only 'fixes BE-23XX CPU show model unknown' but I'll give that a try as well.
Code:
ACPI Error (psargs-0355): [HPTF] Namespace lookup failure, AE_NOT_FOUND
ACPI Error (psparse-0537): Method parse/execution failed [\_SB_.PCI0.HPET._STA] (Node c20e7428), AE_NOT_FOUND
[...]

ACPI Error (psargs-0355): [HPTF] Namespace lookup failure, AE_NOT_FOUND
ACPI Error (psparse-0537): Method parse/execution failed [\_SB_.PCI0.HPET._STA] (Node c20e7428), AE_NOT_FOUND
[...]

PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #6:100000@fdf00000 for 0000:02:05.0

[...]

0000:00:02.1 EHCI: BIOS handoff failed (BIOS bug ?) 01010001

[...]
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:04.0[A] -> Link [APC3] -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 21
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:02:04.0 to 64
e100: eth0: e100_probe: addr 0xfdeff000, irq 21, MAC addr 00:90:27:FC:A9:8E
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC4] enabled at IRQ 19
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:05.0[A] -> Link [APC4] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
PCI: Setting latency timer of device 0000:02:05.0 to 64
e100: eth1: e100_probe: addr 0xfdefe000, irq 22, MAC addr 00:90:27:FC:A9:8F
udev: renamed network interface eth1 to eth2
yeah, it's seems like a BIOS problem... does the new BIOS help a bit?
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-07, 07:14 AM   #10
Mithrilhall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

Do you think this is fixable or should I just RMA the unit?

Quote:
Dear Eric,



Iím sorry but that system was not designed to run Linux and there are no fixes in the bios that would fix that problem. Sorry for the inconvenience that this has caused.



Sincerely


Shuttle Technical Support Group
Mithrilhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-07, 07:35 AM   #11
evilghost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,606
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

You could RMA or if you've got an open PCI slot you could put in a double-NIC.
evilghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-07, 07:47 AM   #12
chunkey
#!/?*
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 662
Default Re: Slow Internet/Network Speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mithrilhall
Do you think this is fixable or should I just RMA the unit?
Quote:
Quote:
Dear Eric,



I’m sorry but that system was not designed to run Linux and there are no fixes in the bios that would fix that problem. Sorry for the inconvenience that this has caused.



Sincerely


Shuttle Technical Support Group

Well, That's BS...
Code:
PCI: Failed to allocate mem resource #6:100000@fdf00000 for 0000:02:05.0
... and 0000:02:05.0 is one of your NICs.

You can try to add something like pci=nommconf to your kernel parameters and reboot... If this doesn't work then try pci=conf1 or pci=conf2.

You could also try another driver. I think eepro100 should work too..

modprobe -r e100
modprobe eepro100
chunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia 173.14.35: Fedora 17 x86 terribly slow Mr Wolf NVIDIA Linux 25 07-02-12 01:44 AM
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 10:33 AM
Very slow X startup Jeremy NVIDIA Linux 96 05-23-03 10:11 AM
Locked PCI/AGP speeds JonathanM CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 08-27-02 09:22 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.