Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-03, 08:22 PM   #1
Pafet
GeForce 7900GT
 
Pafet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 430
Default Minimum specs for WinXP

I want to install WinXP on my server. It's P150-MMX with 1.2 Gb HD.

I figure I'll need a new HD right? will there be a problem installing on such an old rig? (I've seen somewhere 486 with XP but I know windows checks hardware first so...)
Pafet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 09:16 PM   #2
mrsabidji
I am the cheese...
 
mrsabidji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to mrsabidji
Default

Well, you'll need some RAM too. I installed XP Pro on a PC with 128MB memory and it ran fine. I'd say you'll need at least a 3GB HD too. The slowest PC I installed it on was a 650 PIII, so I can't help you there.

mrsabidji
mrsabidji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 09:27 PM   #3
netviper13
Treehugger
 
netviper13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 942
Default

Aint gonna happen man...I ran XP on a PII 450 machine w/ 512 megs of RAM here and even with all eye candy turned off it chugged.

Can you get ahold of Win2k Pro? If so, that would certainly be a better chocice than XP for a machine that old.
netviper13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-03, 10:19 PM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Minimum specs for WinXP

Quote:
Originally posted by Pafet
I want to install WinXP on my server. It's P150-MMX with 1.2 Gb HD.
Not a snowball's chance in hell XP will run on that. If you can get a hold of 2000, that should work, although it will be painfully slow. I would even see if I could get a hold of NT4 to run on a machine that old.

To be perfectly honest, that sounds like a perfect machine with which you can get your fingers dirty with Linux. Ask in the forums here, I'm sure at least one member will be happy to assist you with possible distros, how to set it up and get it to communicate with your Windows machines, etc.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 09:06 AM   #5
Pafet
GeForce 7900GT
 
Pafet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 430
Default

thanks for the replies guys

I dont care how my server chugs cause it doed absolutly nothing but stay connected 24/7. I dont plan on restarting it much so loading time aren't important too. It's more of "have you tried it, is it possible" question.

The problem is I have many problems right now with program that need certain ports open which the Win98 ICS (the connection sharing protocol) won't allow. I also ran to some problem with the ICS itself, stoping for no reason. I also believe the XP net support is much better and faster.

about linux.... I have a feeling it'll take too much time for me to try and figure it out and everyone will just "well, is it ready yet? why cant you fix it? i need internet NOW, it's all your fault" ya know?
Pafet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 10:15 AM   #6
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Then you best stick with 2000. Get Service Pack 4 and all the updates, and you should be good to go. Now that everything has been straightened out at my house, we haven't needed to reboot our Windows 2000 server in quite some time.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 11:26 AM   #7
Pafet
GeForce 7900GT
 
Pafet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 430
Default

Cool. tnx very much saturnotaku.
Pafet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 12:03 PM   #8
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

And also FYI if you're still uneasy about 2000, in our house we have our server running 2000, and it's connected to an Apple Airport base station, with my PCs and his Macs running in perfect harmony.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-18-03, 01:20 PM   #9
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default ...

I found XP to be slow but fully functional on a P2/233 with 96mb SDRAM...
... almost acceptable on a P2/333 with 192mb SDRAM...
...and plenty responsive on a Celly 566 with 256mb SDRAM @ 66mhz...

... my $0.02...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 06:03 PM   #10
B&R
MX 700
 
B&R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 461
Default

The slowest comp I have installed xp on was my friends comp. His specs:

P3 500---> OC'ed to 575Mhz.
128mb and S3 vid card.

It works fine but ram is a real imp thing if u have very slow processor.
B&R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 06:33 PM   #11
mrsabidji
I am the cheese...
 
mrsabidji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to mrsabidji
Default

Right. XP really likes RAM. Ideally, you should set up a special HD/partition just for swap and avoid installing any useless peripheral. A server only needs a good network adapter (3com makes marvels there), a basic video card with small drivers (I use an old RageIIc in my workplace's second server (365/24 no trouble at all), works fine so far) and that's all. You won't need XP's ugly new interface either and a 8bit mode desktop is highly sufficient in my opinion (saves some little RAM). Don't forget to shutdown that useless function which automatically backs up your system and I can't remember the name, auto-updates and all those stupid features.

mrsabidji

Last edited by mrsabidji; 09-18-03 at 06:37 PM.
mrsabidji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-03, 08:20 PM   #12
Pafet
GeForce 7900GT
 
Pafet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 430
Default

maybe i'll find another old computer that isn't that old... I guess XP isn't an option
Pafet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nVidia GT640 pics, specs and launch info News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 02:10 PM
Epic Games on next gen console specs Logical Console World 5 05-24-12 05:17 PM
GeForce GTX 670 specs DSC NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 20 05-11-12 04:25 AM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 10:17 AM
Detailed NV30 specs at AnandTech JohnsonLKD Rumor Mill 3 08-21-02 03:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.