Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-02, 06:03 PM   #1
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default Can't open add/remove.cpl?

I stupidly installed a beta vers of nav2k3 and now I get the following prompt whenever I try to access the add/remove cpl extension in the ctrlpanel:



I've since installed a fresh copy of nav2k3 'retail' with no problems, but I'm still getting the error parser error. I'm actually not sure if its related to nav or not but thats the only thing I can think of that was installed right b4 I noticed the prob....which happened to be several days later unfortunately.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 07:35 PM   #2
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

maybe re-install the SP1?
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-02, 07:39 PM   #3
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

yea, I remember reinstalling old nt4 sp's fixed a lot of probs, I'll go ahead and give it a try. I'll let you know how it goes....
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-02, 06:24 PM   #4
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

welp reinstalling sp1 didn't help. Also I've tried System restore from several restore points this week, but they all fail. This is also the only cpl extension that I can't access, all the others open fine.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-02, 07:37 PM   #5
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

want me to send you my .cpl file?
gimme the filename, and I'll hookup with you later on ICQ...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-02, 08:22 PM   #6
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

hahahah got teh same error couple of days ago...
fixed it by doing "system restore"

No clue what the error means, nor why did it pop-up. It seems that there is a bug in SP1
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-02, 03:53 PM   #7
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by d1rX
hahahah got teh same error couple of days ago...
fixed it by doing "system restore"

No clue what the error means, nor why did it pop-up. It seems that there is a bug in SP1
heh figures, well system restore is failing on me now, guess I'll just have to do a repair w/ the install disk and see if that wrks. d1rX do you know whats causing the error and did you also get it from one of the the cpl panel extensions?
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-02, 03:58 PM   #8
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

only add/remove cpl
Weird...i really don't know what caused it. I'm 100% it has to do with SP1. Hmmm i could check the logs but its too late because I reverted back already. Maybe you can check your logs ?
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-16-02, 09:44 AM   #9
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by d1rX
only add/remove cpl
Weird...i really don't know what caused it. I'm 100% it has to do with SP1. Hmmm i could check the logs but its too late because I reverted back already. Maybe you can check your logs ?
yea I'm gonna check my event log when I get home tonight and see what I find. If all else fails I will uninstall sp1 and see if that helps, even though I don't know how to do it w/o the app/remove cpl
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-02, 06:05 PM   #10
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

thx for yer suggestions guys, just doing a repair w/ the xp pro cd did the trick.
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-02, 11:40 PM   #11
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

sweet
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-02, 07:02 AM   #12
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

I think replacing the .cpl itself should have fixed the problem. I believe you can replace it through \windows\dllcache\

Anyway good thing you fixed it
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interview: Edd Dumbill on the Drivers of Open Source at OSCON News Archived News Items 0 07-15-12 01:40 AM
What is the Current Status of the iZ3D Driver Open Source Project News Archived News Items 0 06-30-12 07:50 AM
Open Genomics Engine A New Weapon in Battle Against Cancer News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:40 AM
Battling Cancer With New GPU-powered Open Genomics Engine News Archived News Items 0 06-08-12 05:40 AM
An open source analogy: Open source is like sharing a recipe News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.