Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-02, 09:20 AM   #1
PsychoSy
 
PsychoSy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Monroe, MI
Posts: 489
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSy Send a message via AIM to PsychoSy
Red face VIA's Big Embarrassment?

Xbit Labs is reporting that the VIA KT400 chipset will not support DDR 400, a surprise that is hard to swallow considering their naming conventions. Combine that with the fact that their two closest competitors - SiS and Nvidia - have no problems in implementing support in their respective chipsets despite that DDR 400 has yet to be standardized by JEDEC, and you could have reason to suspect that nForce and the SiS 746DX may be able to steal some of VIAs dropping market share for themselves.

But it could be a uphill battle. So far, DDR 400's performance isn't impressive as benchmarks show that it can't even keep up with DDR 333 and it isn't very stable.

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/story.html?id=1028101079

Last edited by PsychoSy; 08-02-02 at 09:23 AM.
PsychoSy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 09:43 AM   #2
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Well that sucks doesn't it?
Well I know I will stay with Intel a lot longer than I relised. I wonder... AMD Clawhammer XP 25 deg celcius 4Ghz...
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 10:52 AM   #3
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

"Introducing the new and improved KT400, with blazing fast DDR333 support"... ROFL
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 12:20 PM   #4
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

sad, I'm not going back to VIA for a LONG time!
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 12:33 PM   #5
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

I was considering nvidia on my next mobo but I just don't like the idea of onboard Geforce 4 MX. Unless they will make two versions (with and without)
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 04:53 PM   #6
fastguy94416
The Shadow
 
fastguy94416's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 396
Default

Nvidia is making two versions, its confirmed
fastguy94416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 06:18 PM   #7
VeritechK7
Just lurking
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 184
Send a message via ICQ to VeritechK7 Send a message via AIM to VeritechK7 Send a message via Yahoo to VeritechK7
Default

I wish ..really wish to rid of this ViA but i have to hold onto it till i got 760 MP or MPX ... power in my hands
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

"When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming"- Bruce Lee
VeritechK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 07:16 PM   #8
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I think its four versions (two with the high end MCP, with or without graphics, two with the lowend MCP, with or without graphics)
but I'm not entirely sure
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-02-02, 10:45 PM   #9
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Question

I am not a fan of AMD, so I don't look at KT-whatever chipsets or nforce this or that. So I looked at Via's P4PB 400 mainboard. It rocks! Does anyone know if it can support a 3.06 ghz P4?
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-02, 11:03 PM   #10
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

Yes it can.
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 09:29 AM   #11
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Kt400 SUCKS

If you want an AthlonXP and are shopping for a mobo, the ONLY choice is the NFORCE2
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-02, 09:46 AM   #12
VeritechK7
Just lurking
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 184
Send a message via ICQ to VeritechK7 Send a message via AIM to VeritechK7 Send a message via Yahoo to VeritechK7
Default

speaking of NForce / or NF2 .. i was wondering .. .my friend wants an athlon based system but he wanted a stable platform. I recommended him NForce and the SiS( out of my personal experiences with it) He kinda whined about he integrated video
..I was wondering which mobos that featured the nforce had no integrated video . Thats' all
__________________
"Get busy living or get busy dying" - Tim Robbins, Shawshank Redemption

"When you understand the root, you understand all of its blossoming"- Bruce Lee
VeritechK7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam Big Picture Available Today News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 07:20 PM
Steam comes to the living room TV with Big Picture mode beta News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 05:00 PM
Hengeveld: Big Data Meets HPC to Solve Hard Problems and Improve Lives News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 09:10 AM
Casting The Couch: Steam's Big Picture Beta Out Today News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 05:50 AM
YarcData Rolls Out $100K Big Data Graph Analytics Challenge News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 08:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.