Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 09-20-03, 11:15 AM   #1
jardel

Default NVNET problem

Hi,
I am a newbie in Linux, but I do have lots of background on many OSs. I recently installed Redhat 9.0 and it didn't detect my NF7's Ethernet card. So i downloaded the drivers from Nvidia and installed them. Now, I can choose Nvnet from the network setup, but it fails to initialize the card.

I read similar posts about this at this forum, but I couldn't figure out how to solve this.

One thing I am concerned about it is that the recompilation of kernel or upgrading kernel. I downloaded the latest kernel upgrade from Redhat, and installed it as

rpm -Uhv kernel-???

and i did make dep.

When I reboot, the kernel version was upgraded.

However, I don't think the kernel source is upgraded.

I am not sure how this works, but i wonder if its really necessary for NVnet driver.

If so, can you show me how to solve this problem ?

Thanks a lot.
jardel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-03, 04:01 AM   #2
ychai4

Default RE: NVNET problem

I have the same problem as you. It appears that NVIDIA's latest drivers are incompatible with the newest kernel - 2.4.22. I believe that this is caused by the binary-only library offered with the nvnet driver, it appears to have been compiled for 2.4.20.

One word of advice: it seems to work fine with kernel 2.4.21. However... if you have an NFORCE2 based motherboard, kernel 2.4.22 contains many improvements and driver updates that better support this hardware, and I do not suggest downgrading.

The only way this will be fixed is if NVIDIA's developers decide to recompile the driver for 2.4.22 and release a new version.
ychai4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-03, 10:05 AM   #3
jardel

Actually, when I first installed Redhat 9.0, it's version was 2.4.20 and I had the same problem. It installs nvnet driver and when I choose it, it cannot detect the driver. Should I get an ethernet card?