Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-03, 09:35 PM   #1
Hellbinder
 
Hellbinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CDA
Posts: 1,510
Default I found some interesting info about Aquamark3

I was looking for another thread to post this in but i could not find one.

Anyway.. I had been trying to Figure out how the 5900U could be so competative with the 9800pro in this "Modern" Benchmark. Then I found this..
Quote:
30 PS 1.1 Shaders

5 PS 1.4 Shaders

4 PS 2.0 Shaders
That is the actual count of the type and Number of Pixel shaders used in the Benchmark. Which of course ends up making sense why the Two cards peform so Closely together.

Which brings me to a little Side Question. Doesnt it seem a little odd that Nvidia is not Screeming about this benchmark for the same Reasons they hammered 3dmark03?
__________________
Overam Mirage 4700
3.2ghz P4 HT
SIS 748FX Chipset 800mhz FSB
1Gig DDR-400
60Gig 7200RPM HD
Radeon 9600M Turbo 128 (400/250)
Catalyst 4.2
Latest good read. [url]http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NTc4LDE=http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=NTc4LDE=[/url]

Last edited by Hellbinder; 09-14-03 at 12:45 AM.
Hellbinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 09:46 PM   #2
Moo
*BANNNED*
 
Moo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 380
Default

AM3 doesn't have nearly the name recognition as 3dMark.
Moo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 09:53 PM   #3
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hellbinder,

Is that the standard codepath, or a special NV3x codepath?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 09:54 PM   #4
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: I found some interesting info about Aquamark3

Quote:
Originally posted by Hellbinder
Which briungs me to a little Side Question. Doesnt it seem a little odd that Nvidia is not Screeming about this benchmark for the same Reasons they hammered 3dmark03?
No it doesn't. For the same reason why NVIDIA denounced 3dmark03 then continued to "optimize" for it. I think you know as well as I do, along with everyone else, than NVIDIA attacked Futuremark purely for PR reasons.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 09:55 PM   #5
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
Hellbinder,

Is that the standard codepath, or a special NV3x codepath?
Are we going to have control over which path a card runs regardless of what it wants or does the program choose based on the card and that's that...it's something I'm a tad confused on.
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 09:58 PM   #6
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Do me a favor... Tell us what this means.
I'm sure there r many who do not know.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 10:02 PM   #7
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,006
Default

The SVIST (Shader Visualisation Technique ) test indicates the type of pixel shader that's being used. When I ran SVIST on the 9800 Pro, I would say that 50-60% of the output was based on PS 2.0. I'm not sure if the test provides ending statistics since I cancelled it after 3 minutes or so.





This information is from the AM3 documentation on shaders.


The effects and their variations are currently implemented by 190 different vertex shaders and 39 pixel shaders. These numbers of shaders in combinations with the various non-pixel shader rendering techniques for DirectX 7 class hardware allow for testing the rendering hardware and their resource management to its limits. In the following table you find an AquaMark3 shader overview.

Number of shaders:

VS1.1 (DX8) : 190
VS2.0 (DX9) : 3
PS1.1 (DX8) : 30
PS1.4 (DX8) : 5
PS2.0 (DX9) : 4

Average number of insturctions per shader:

VS1.1 (DX8) : up to 70
VS2.0 (DX9) : up to 50
PS1.1 (DX8) : up to 13
PS1.4 (DX8) : up to 13
PS2.0 (DX9) : up to 40


4.1.2 Floating Point Numbers In Shaders

AquaMark3 applies the whole range from FP64 to FP128 floating point accuracy. We think the developer is still in charge to decide which accuracy should be considered for a certain effect to optimize the rendering efficiency.

In general, every effect with floating point numbers covering a wide numerical range and the need to be represented by an exponent (as world space coordinates per pixel) benefits from a high internal precision (FP128). That means mainly special effects which use geometric information inside the pixel shader (as high dynamic range illuminated normal mapping with a self shadowing term) need high precision. AquaMark3 does not require functionality in this respect.

Nevertheless we use high internal precision for the texture coordinate iterators because AquaMark3 utilizes effects which calculate texture coordinates on the basis of world space positions (caustics, fog, detail maps etc.). Besides, the majority of AquaMark3s effects are implemented in less accuracy and make availible precision hints to the API.


There's a thread in the AM3 forum where this was being dicussed. It appears that AM3 will not "fall back" to an earlier shader version in the TRISCORE (default benchmark) run.

http://arc.aquamark3.com/forum/showt...=&threadid=101
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 10:17 PM   #8
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
Do me a favor... Tell us what this means.
I'm sure there r many who do not know.
It means it's more of a DX8 benchmark than a DX9 benchmark.

One thing I'm still not clear on, is whether there are different codepaths for different IHVs. So far it sounds like there are. But I thought Massive said no IHVs received preferential treatment in their benchmark, which would make no sense if there were different codepaths of different cards.
  Reply With Quote

Old 09-13-03, 10:27 PM   #9
MikeC
Administrator
 
MikeC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6,006
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by StealthHawk
It means it's more of a DX8 benchmark than a DX9 benchmark.
Hard to say at this point based on my previous comments on the SVIST test. AM3 may be more of a DX9 benchmark for graphics cards built around DX9 technology.
MikeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 11:12 PM   #10
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Is AM3 based off aquanox 2? Or is it totally new?
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 11:13 PM   #11
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bkswaney
Is AM3 based off aquanox 2? Or is it totally new?
AQ2 IS new.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 11:32 PM   #12
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Baron
AQ2 IS new.

I know that B.

I was just wondering if AM3 was based off it or something even newer.
So AN2 uses DX9? I did not know that. I figured it was just a DX8.1 game.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitors found but no configuration suitable bluephile NVIDIA Linux 4 08-31-02 06:53 AM
no screens found + BusID ?? orion NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 08:34 AM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 04:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.