Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-12, 02:02 AM   #1
leigh123linux
Registered User
 
leigh123linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 163
Default 304.30 breaks SDL games

https://bugzilla.rpmfusion.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2434
__________________
leigh123linux
leigh123linux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-12, 12:44 PM   #2
flibitijibibo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

Posting to confirm the bug on my end as well. Happening on Fedora 17 x86_64 (Gnome 3 desktop) on a 560 Ti.

I can reproduce this with all of my SDL games, but I can't seem to get a screenshot of it... basically, any SDL application that gets focus will cause the entire desktop to tint dark blue, except for the mouse cursor. Putting focus on another window will remove the tinting until focus is back on the SDL application.

This seems to happen regardless of whether or not it uses OpenGL (tested with Eversion's software renderer and libSGE's software-rendered examples). You can get the libSGE examples here, if you want to try it out for yourself:

https://github.com/flibitijibibo/libSGE/
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-12, 12:57 PM   #3
CronoCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

Quote:
Originally Posted by flibitijibibo View Post
Posting to confirm the bug on my end as well. Happening on Fedora 17 x86_64 (Gnome 3 desktop) on a 560 Ti.
Fedora 17 X86_64 here, XFCE desktop, on a GT220.

Quote:
I can reproduce this with all of my SDL games,
I've seen it with Second Life and FreeDroid RPG. it doesn't affect WINE or glxgears.

Quote:
but I can't seem to get a screenshot of it... basically, any SDL application that gets focus will cause the entire desktop to tint dark blue, except for the mouse cursor. Putting focus on another window will remove the tinting until focus is back on the SDL application.
Yep, ditto. Not with imagemagick or ffmpeg's x11grab. And if the application has a screenshot function itself, those turn out fine too! I eventually used my Android phone to show it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBkoUQ9-_7E

Downgrading back to 295.59 returns things to normal.

CronoCloud
CronoCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-12, 01:42 PM   #4
leigh123linux
Registered User
 
leigh123linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 163
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

I forgot to attach the nvidia-bug-report.
Can everyone do the same.
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.log.tar.bz2 (114.9 KB, 105 views)
__________________
leigh123linux
leigh123linux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-12, 02:12 PM   #5
flibitijibibo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123linux View Post
I forgot to attach the nvidia-bug-report.
Can everyone do the same.
Done.
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.log.tar.bz2 (134.5 KB, 102 views)
flibitijibibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-12, 04:12 PM   #6
slackerus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

Hi, I am experiencing the same problem. Trying to play quake3 or using ffmpeg turns the whole screen blue.
slackerus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 01:45 AM   #7
Belegdol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 118
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123linux View Post
I forgot to attach the nvidia-bug-report.
Can everyone do the same.
Here you go. This is on a Clevo P150HM laptop, GeForce 485M
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (98.7 KB, 105 views)
Belegdol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 12:40 PM   #8
MarisaKirisame
Registered User
 
MarisaKirisame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

I sent an email to nvidia the same day these drivers came out, got a reply some time later. They said they'd fix it soon.
MarisaKirisame is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-12, 04:45 PM   #9
squall38
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

Seems fixed in 304.32.
squall38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 05:01 PM   #10
leigh123linux
Registered User
 
leigh123linux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 163
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

304.32 fixes the SDL issue here.
__________________
leigh123linux
leigh123linux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-12, 11:12 AM   #11
CronoCloud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: 304.30 breaks SDL games

Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123linux View Post
304.32 fixes the SDL issue here.
Confirmed, thanks to you and Nvidia for getting it fixed.

CronoCloud
CronoCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.