Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-16-12, 04:18 AM   #1
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Sleeping Dogs

Got this game it's great, anybody else got it?.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-12, 08:10 AM   #2
scout2of3
"Live Long And Prosper"
 
scout2of3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 40
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

I don't have it yet. My brother has it for his PS3 and loves it. I added it to my wishlist on Steam. I am interested since it has an open world, just not sure how big the world is.
__________________
Case: CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Monitor: 19" Viewsonic G90fb CRT
MB: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
CPU: Intel i7 2600K @ 4.5 w/NH-D14 HSF
Graphics: EVGA GTX 570 SC HD
Main HDD: WD 750GB
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengance
PSU: Corsair CX600 Watt
OS: Win 7 Home Premium 64Bit
scout2of3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-12, 06:37 AM   #3
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

No multiplayer = no sale, shame as it looks good.
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-12, 09:59 AM   #4
DarkOneX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kansas
Posts: 327
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

Everybody should get this game, it's quite amazing. Finished it @ 23 hours in and still playing, no need for multiplayer here though it woulda been nice. Picked it up for $33 @ GMG with a coupon code before it came out, so glad I did, this is my GOTY hands down!
__________________

Desktop - {i7-960 3.2Ghz} {Asus P6X58D-E} {24GB Corsair DDR3} {EVGA GTX670 FTW 2GB} {Intel 330 Series 180GB SSD} {(3X) WD Black 1TB HDDs} {Seagate 750GB HDD} {WD 4TB external} {WD 2TB external} {20X DVD-RW} {X-Fi} {Corsair HX850 PSU} {CM690 II case} {24" Dell U2410 LCD} {20" Dell 2007FP LCD} {Logitech G500} {Logitech G710+} {Windows 7 64bit} {CP1500PFCLCD UPS

Laptop 1 - {Lenovo Ideapad Y400} {i7-3630QM 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {GeForce GT750M 2GB} {1TB HDD + 16GB SSD} {14" Anti-Glare (1366x768)} {Windows 8 64bit

Laptop 2 - {HP DM4-3090se Beats Edition} {i5-2430M 2.4Ghz} {8GB DDR3} {Intel 3000 HD graphics} {500GB HDD} {14" LED Display (1366 x 768)} {Windows 8 64bit
DarkOneX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-12, 10:59 AM   #5
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

is it really like GTA? like some they say it is?
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-12, 01:44 PM   #6
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

rented it for the 360. I cant imagine it would play well with mouse+kb.
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-12, 02:34 PM   #7
ALobpreis
 
ALobpreis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ramos
Posts: 412
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs



ALobpreis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-12, 03:39 AM   #8
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

great game but I get stutters and mouse aim is completely wrong when aiming guns

melee combat is amazing and the story / setting is pretty good.
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-23-12, 07:45 AM   #9
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blade View Post
No multiplayer = no sale, shame as it looks good.
did you also pass on all the grand theft auto and saints row games?
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-12, 01:58 PM   #10
hirantha
SUC SUDO
 
hirantha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY, Staten Island
Posts: 2,211
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

oh downloaded demo yesterday. My hand started to hurt after 30 mins of playing kung-fu (died and retry few times still did not finish the demo)
__________________
Intel i7 3770K
16 GB DDR3
Evga 670 SLI

Look me up in AION and GW2
Game Tag: Famorak
hirantha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-12, 03:17 PM   #11
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
did you also pass on all the grand theft auto and saints row games?
No, GTA4 MP was quite solid, the others not touched.
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-12, 03:13 PM   #12
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Sleeping Dogs

Almost missed this game, then I saw the screen shots in the other thread. I am a HUGE GTA4 fan and am absolutely loving this game. Its like gta4.. in hong kong, but better character models and much better engine performance. I can pretty much max everything except AA, and I find the high res shadows gives me a hit id rather not have. I get like a solid 40-60fps with normal shadows and I like it.

I havn't had a chance to play any of the batmans yet so I am really digging the melee combat system. Where in GTA4 I loathed any melee combat, here I can't wait to get in a fist fight. Driving is also much better and its kinda nice that the game starts with you using a bike.. rather then the other way around. Music is also great stuff.. all kinda of chinese hits and even the slow songs play well, just like the transition scenes you find in HK drama flicks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadog View Post
rented it for the 360. I cant imagine it would play well with mouse+kb.
It does play very well with mouse and keyboard EXCEPT driving. If you touch the mouse at all your camera sways WAY out of your driving direction. Thankfully the camera reacts nicely when just turning the car (something that GTA4 simply didn't do at all) so you can drive quite well without touching the mouse.

one thing does annoy me a little, when you breakout of the player control like for menus and hacking, events, the mouse is ignored and the game likes to have you hit the arrow keys or ENTER for things causing you to move your hand.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.