Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-02, 12:25 PM   #13
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blakhart
lower refresh (say 75 Hz or slightly faster as minimum)

via could not pay me to install any 4n1s other than those that are in xp or 2k natively...
Uh Refresh rate? But totaly Agree i wouldn't let any VIA software near my system since WinXP. Im my experience they have only caused problems.
__________________
AMD Turion™ 64 Mobile Technology ML-37
(1MB L2 cache, 2.0GHz) | Radeon® Xpress 200M | 1GB DDR333 | ATI® MOBILITY™ RADEON® X700 128MB | Realtek ALC250 | Toshiba MK-1032GAX 100GB 16m | Matsh1ta UJ-845S 8x DVD Burner | WSXGA+ 15.4" 1680x1050 | The Ferrari 4005 |
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-02, 03:10 PM   #14
Blakhart
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Near Wolfie
Posts: 204
Default

The refresh rate, if too high, can be a performance detriment to the vid card. As an ensample, my friend gets a higher score in 3dmark(yuck) with 85 Hz than with 100Hz. This on a gf4ti4400.
Blakhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-02, 07:49 PM   #15
SurfMonkey
QuadCore G80 PS3 Overload
 
SurfMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In a small room surrounded by vast, inscrutable, machines...
Posts: 491
Default

Is this a recent upgrade to the GF4? There may be issues with previous drivers if that is the case.

What other processes do you have running in the background, programs like Virus Checkers, SETI, etc may cause stuttering. I have this problem when I am running SETI and Apache web server plus a few other progs.

The SB Live also has/had a few issues with interrupt stealing across the PCI bus. If everything else fails; uninstall the SB and remove it from the machine. If that cures the problem try re-installing it in another slot.

Run DXDiag from the start menu, if you look at the display section it will give you the lowdown on your card. It will also tell whether AGP support is active, if it isn't then you have an issue with your MB drivers. Try re-installing the VIA set.

Good Luck...
__________________
Folding for Beyond3D
"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on."
Sir Winston Churchill

"Halflife2 got halfway around the world before Gabe had a chance to get his pants on."
Anon
SurfMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Personal Cinema not working on GeForce4 Ti 4600 MacGyver0013 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 5 02-08-03 11:54 PM
TV-out on GeForce4 Ti 4600 w/HDTV Paladin21 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 10-26-02 05:31 AM
At what CPU speed Does the GeForce4 Ti 4600 max out? DenverBuc NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 10-08-02 06:15 PM
How much heat can a GeForce4 Ti 4600 handle? Velkator NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 09-03-02 04:41 PM
GeForce4 Ti 4600 performance in UT2003? Turnbolt NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 9 08-17-02 08:50 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.