Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-03, 03:41 AM   #1
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default Framerate cap in 3dmark with Ti4600

Ok. I decided to do a 3dmark for the first time in ages with 2001. The framerate was strangely capped at 60, in places where I used to be getting an average of 200. I am still using 45.23, but I just tried the Beta 52.13 dets and the same problem occurs.

I have made sure that Vsync is off, but I'm really baffled as to what else could be causing the problem. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

EDIT: Just tried 3dm2003 and the same appears to be happening. The only game in which I score over 60 fps usually is the Wings demo (usually up to 300) but it appers to be capped at 80 this time around..
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 03:47 AM   #2
Ady
...
 
Ady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
Default

I would say it has to be vsync, but you have already checked that.

What are your refresh rates while these programs are running?
__________________
Dying is not going to kill me.
Ady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 03:59 AM   #3
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default

Hey, thanks for making me check that out Ady! I changed the 1024X768 32bpp refresh from default to 120 and the cap has moved to 120, but it's still a problem. Hmm I have Vsync set to always off so I have no idea why it's doing this. It never did it before with the 45.23's.

EDIT: Quake 3 reads fine though. I hope it's only 3dmark which is forcing the refresh, otherwise I'll be seeing capped FPS in all games..
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |

Last edited by nVidi0t; 10-21-03 at 04:04 AM.
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 06:14 AM   #4
Ady
...
 
Ady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
Default

Well Q3 is an OpenGL game and 3dmarks are DX. I'm pretty sure vsync controls in the driver are seperate for OpenGL and DX.

So that tells us vsync is on in DX but not OpenGL. I guess that means your setting for vsync always off is not working for DX.
__________________
Dying is not going to kill me.
Ady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 07:23 AM   #5
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default

Hmm, the Vsync setting in the dets is for both D3D and OpenGL though. I have it set to always off but it's still capping DX.

Maybe try removing the dets are using Det destroyer and re-installing?
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 01:58 PM   #6
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default

Ace, removed all traces of drivers and re-installed, and my 3dmark went from 6000 (which I was getting capped) to 13000. There's still some life left in my GF4 at least
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 04:27 PM   #7
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What OS are you using? You definitely should not be experiencing what's going on. 3dmark should automatically turn vsync off.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 04:39 PM   #8
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default

XP Pro. It's working fine now after a total removal and re-install of drivers.

I really have no clue how it started doing that in the first place though.
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-21-03, 04:53 PM   #9
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nVidi0t
XP Pro. It's working fine now after a total removal and re-install of drivers.

I really have no clue how it started doing that in the first place though.
Yep. Sometimes the drivers can get really messed up
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 05:00 PM   #10
nVidi0t
Quad Damage
 
nVidi0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Fancisco. CA
Posts: 1,569
Send a message via ICQ to nVidi0t
Default

Wow, I also noticed something else. I couldn't for the life of me get the Homeworld 2 Demo to work. I must have tried 10 different sets of detonators, but it would just run at <1fps in-game.

I just tried it now and it runs fine.. obviously not only the refresh rates were messed then..
__________________
System: Intel Core 2 e6600 @ 3.6ghz (450*8) @ 1.475v | Koolance Exos 2 Water Cooler | 4096Mb Mushkin ASCENT 8500 @ 2.1v @ 1160Mhz| Asus P5k Deluxe P35 'bearlake' 804bios | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 850W| BFG 8800GT OC2 675Mhz | 150GB WD Raptor X | Seagate Barracuda 250GB SATA | Lian Li V2000 PC2 Case | Pioneer DL Burner | Creative Sound Blaster X-FI FATAL1TY FPS | Dell 2707WFP 27" LCD | Windows Vista Ultimate | Sennheiser HD-590 Prestige/Sennheiser HD-650 Headphones w/ Emmeline Hornet Amp | Razer Deathadder | Razer tarantula Keyboard |
nVidi0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comcast Suspends Data Cap Temporarily, Will Test New Overage Fees News Archived News Items 0 05-18-12 03:10 AM
Ti4600 on Gaming Issues marqmajere Gaming Central 22 09-21-02 05:22 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.