Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-03, 12:56 PM   #1
Sotos
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 418
Default Homeworld 2 and CC Generals Zero hour GREAT AI!!!!!!

These both games (one is expansion) has some of the best AI i have ever played

Both are difficult but really challenging RTS
The AI is simply great (even if i suspect both cheating)

Probably most of here you know HomeWorld 2 and it's AI if you have played
especially FIRST TIME
Several mistakes in tactics and it's Computer AI has beaten you in seconds with a HUGE SPACE FLEET with NO REMORSE

Really Difficult but really Challenging and COOL

-Second is the NEW Expansion of Command & Conquer Generals
ZERO HOUR

It's AI (especially After mission 2 in USA Campaign) becomes really CRAZY

Starting sending WAVES of GLA units after a point that you can not even think after some seconds of what to do next...

It even tried sending me troops behind my Base defenses
REALLY COOL

Man is nice seeing games with good AI i was tottaly bored with all these STUPID AI games these couple of years...
__________________
-Pentium 4 3.0C GHz (FSB 800)
-RAM 2.0 GB DDR333 running in Dual channel
-Asus P4P800 deluxe AI series
-[color=blue]POWERCOLOR 9800pro 128\cat 4.1\Dx9.0b [/color] [color=red](Waiting for R420 or Nv40)[/color]
-Sounblaster Audigy 2 ZS [color=blue](using latest Creative Eax 4.0 driver)[/color]
-PSU Zalman 400W Quiet sollution
-Windows XP home SP1 + Sp2 packages
-[color=red] - Jeniffer Lopez - Ennrique Inglesia - Ricky Martin - Britney Spears are SKUNKS!!! [/color]
Sotos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-03, 02:19 PM   #2
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default

I agree that the AIs in these two games is hard to beat, but I have little to no respect for AIs that cheat. Some of the best (non-cheating) AIs I've played recently are RON, and also WC3. The bummer is that the WC3 one cheats like a dog now that they patched it. But in the original version I don't think it cheated. The problem with it's AI when it didn't cheat was you could buckle down in your base, wait for them to eat all the money on the map, then blow them away.

LycosV
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-03, 02:22 PM   #3
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

How does an AI cheat?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-03, 02:32 PM   #4
mrsabidji
I am the cheese...
 
mrsabidji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 506
Send a message via ICQ to mrsabidji
Default

It acts as if it knows everything you're doing, which is normal but also kind of unfair since you can't see its every moves through that stupid 'fog'. It also spends more money than it actually earns, etc...

mrsabidji
__________________
Signing posts since 1427.
mrsabidji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-03, 05:36 PM   #5
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Riptide
How does an AI cheat?
Resorce Injections after a certian time, ZH gets 1 begining bonus and 1 other injection when their money gets low on Hard (well it did for Generals and may for the addon pack) And Homeworld 2 gets injections all the time on expert.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-03, 08:10 PM   #6
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Sounds like cheating alright. Kinda lame-o I guess. Oh well, I usually just play most games through SP and shirk the MP. My experience has been that the best MP games are dedicated MP. Just an opinion...
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-03, 09:29 PM   #7
ReDeeMeR
The Guy Next Door *wink*
 
ReDeeMeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 605
Send a message via ICQ to ReDeeMeR
Default

Well I know WC3 for fact that if you play with "insane" difficulty AI gets 2x amount of resources + 2x times less to build **** there for expand much faster and re-build armies instantly... plus on either difficulty they know where exactly you are on the map with the fog enabled and that's the gayest part about any game THEY KNOW WHERE YOUR BASE IS FROM THE START WHILE YOU DONT know **** about theirs and usualy see what you build(Homeworld 2)

I like one thing about HW2, AI sends two scout ships before they attack

Ooo look we "found" you atleast gives some time to prepare
ReDeeMeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-03, 01:57 AM   #8
LycosV
Registered User
 
LycosV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 888
Default

I know the WC3 AI cheats now, that's why I said the original version. If you go back to the original version you'll notice there was no insane difficulty. That's when it didn't cheat.

LycosV
LycosV is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-08-03, 04:41 PM   #9
RoachMojo
Who...who are you..?
 
RoachMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Default

I just finished HW2 for the third time. Man, that is a fun game.

I had a friend over the other day and had a huge battle set up for him to watch. My DN, 2 BC, and 4 Destroyers with a crapload of Frigates and assault craft. Basically a maxed fleet. Needless to say, he was blown away by the graphics, especially the real time shadows. Watching the shadows crawl over the hulls as the ships turned, incredible.

If you haven't bought this game yet, please do!!
__________________
Coolermaster ATC-210-VX1 case w/ Rosewill 850W PSU | Q9650@3.6Ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 LED | eVga 780i BIOS P10 w/ 4GB OCZ Platinum PC8500 | 3-WD 640GB + External WD 1TB + Lite On 12x Blu-ray Burner | eVga Geforce GTX470 SC w/ Sony 60EX700 HDTV | Nvidia HD Audio on Denon 1909 5.1 and Polk Speakers | Dual Booting XP Professional SP3 and Windows 7 Enterprise X64
RoachMojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-03, 07:53 PM   #10
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Cool Roach, glad you enjoyed this awesome game. I haven't played it through again since I've been busy with other games already. But I have gone back and played a few of the big battles over again such as the very last mission and the one immediately before it. Very fun stuff, IMHO... I really liked the first two games as well. I'll probably play Homeworld 2 all the way through again eventually. I must've finished the original about 4 times.
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-03, 09:13 PM   #11
RoachMojo
Who...who are you..?
 
RoachMojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 291
Default

We need an expansion like, now, Rip!
__________________
Coolermaster ATC-210-VX1 case w/ Rosewill 850W PSU | Q9650@3.6Ghz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 LED | eVga 780i BIOS P10 w/ 4GB OCZ Platinum PC8500 | 3-WD 640GB + External WD 1TB + Lite On 12x Blu-ray Burner | eVga Geforce GTX470 SC w/ Sony 60EX700 HDTV | Nvidia HD Audio on Denon 1909 5.1 and Polk Speakers | Dual Booting XP Professional SP3 and Windows 7 Enterprise X64
RoachMojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-03, 09:00 AM   #12
Riptide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 8,303
Default

Yeah no kidding... I'd set Jedi Academy down for a few days then and go back to messing with the H2 expansion.

Seriously though, it's early and all so we haven't heard much about sequels that I'm aware of. Still, I am really hoping they make another installment to this series. Have you heard anything?
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.