Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-02, 06:20 PM   #1
redmoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 7
Default Black screen and lockup on startx.

I have never gotton AGP 4x or even 2x to work with my Geforce3 Ti200 so recently I've been trying a little harder. To no eval nothing I've tryed works. When starting X and AGP is enabled the screen will flicker a few times and freeze with a black screen with a small dot in the upper left corner. CTRL+ALT+DELETE, CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE, or switching to another terminal gets no responce, so I have to do a hard shutdown. This does not happen when Option "NvAGP" "0" is set. I have tryed using AGPGART and the Nvidia AGP but both have the same results. I have a Duron 1.2ghz so could this be that AGP bug with AMD processors? If this was the bug then X would still start but OpenGL applications might crash right? I don't think it is the bug because I've compiled a kernel with the AMD patch and the same happens. My motherboard is the PCCHIPS M810L which uses the SiS730S chipset. My monitor is the Compaq MV540. Any ideas welcome.
redmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-02, 08:31 AM   #2
diziet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Hi,
Am getting a very similar problem at the moment with more garbage on the screen. I haven't yet played around with AGP settings. Does rolling back to the drivers released in May help you?

Diziet
diziet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-02, 08:51 AM   #3
utiel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: mallorca
Posts: 65
Default try mem=nopentium at boot

I have read that some AMD's have broken AGP.

If you use lilo, you need to append mem=nopentium in /etc/lilo.conf
or if you use grug, in /etc/grub.conf

if you edit your file, you will find "append ide-scsi=hdx"...
in lilo. put mem=nopentium after


I think, you can pass a command to try, in lilo
press esc, and then type linux mem=nopentium
or ir grub, editing line (e) , select line (e), add mem=nopentium(enter) and press b.

If this works, is a hardware bug.
utiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-02, 07:15 AM   #4
diziet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Default

I think you are probably right, it is a hardware bug with AMD and the crappy mobo I have in the office PC. I tried your fix under lilo and grub with both the previous and current version of the drivers. No luck. Black screen with the older ones and garbage ascii with the newer ones.

Oh well thanks, I will keep hunting.

Diziet
diziet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-02, 11:53 AM   #5
diziet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Aha... Ok I kept the mem=nopentium line in lilo so that may help. I upgraded from my 2.4.18-k6 kernel to 2.4.19k6 kernel. Recompiled the nvidia drivers from source and hey presto I am up and running!
So if anyone out there has probs try a late 2.4 series kernel.

Diziet
diziet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce4 hard lockup with games under Windows XP Snap NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-27-02 02:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.