Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-03, 06:41 AM   #13
blueworm
[DEADAGAIN]blueworm
 
blueworm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 416
Default

Compiling the kernel is very daunting at first but it is really quite easy once you have done it a few times.
blueworm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-03, 10:38 AM   #14
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JeffShultz
Unfortunately this is what I get:
[root@master jbshultz]# modprobe agpgart
/lib/modules/2.4.21-0.25mdk/kernel/drivers/char/agp/agpgart.o.gz: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg
modprobe: insmod /lib/modules/2.4.21-0.25mdk/kernel/drivers/char/agp/agpgart.o.gz failed
modprobe: insmod agpgart failed

As can sort of be seen from above, I do have a file agpgart.o.gz in the right place.

When I exit X (I boot up in init3) there are a bunch of errors that indicate that, quite simply, this thing isn't finding the AGP port.

Frustrating.
Can you post the tail end of the output of the command 'dmesg' IMMEDIATELY after attempting to load agpgart?
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-03, 08:14 PM   #15
JeffShultz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOneKEA
Can you post the tail end of the output of the command 'dmesg' IMMEDIATELY after attempting to load agpgart?
The only thing in dmesg about agpgart is this:
Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
agpgart: unsupported bridge
agpgart: no supported devices found.
Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
agpgart: unsupported bridge
agpgart: no supported devices found.


It's repeated several times.

Thanks.
__________________
--
Jeff Shultz
JeffShultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 03:05 AM   #16
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Lightbulb AH-HA!

Edit your /etc/modules.conf file as root and add this line:

options agpgart agp_try_unsupported=1

Then run /sbin/depmod -a as root and try to load agpgart again. Post the output of dmesg immediately after load as well.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 08:15 AM   #17
JeffShultz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 8
Default Re: AH-HA!

Quote:
Originally posted by TheOneKEA
Edit your /etc/modules.conf file as root and add this line:

options agpgart agp_try_unsupported=1

Then run /sbin/depmod -a as root and try to load agpgart again. Post the output of dmesg immediately after load as well.
probeall scsi_hostadapter ide-scsi
alias eth0 tulip
alias sound-slot-0 i810_audio
probeall usb-interface usb-ohci ehci-hcd
alias ieee1394-controller ohci1394
options agpgart agp_try_unsupported=1
~
is what my modules.conf looks like.

Using /lib/modules/2.4.21-0.25mdk/kernel/drivers/char/agp/agpgart.o.gz
/lib/modules/2.4.21-0.25mdk/kernel/drivers/char/agp/agpgart.o.gz: init_module: No such device
Hint: insmod errors can be caused by incorrect module parameters, including invalid IO or IRQ parameters.
You may find more information in syslog or the output from dmesg

Is the response from insmod agpgart

and,
UDF-fs DEBUG lowlevel.c:57:udf_get_last_session: XA disk: no, vol_desc_start=0
UDF-fs DEBUG super.c:1426:udf_read_super: Multi-session=0
UDF-fs DEBUG super.c:415:udf_vrs: Starting at sector 16 (2048 byte sectors)
UDF-fs DEBUG super.c:442:udf_vrs: ISO9660 Primary Volume Descriptor found
UDF-fs DEBUG super.c:439:udf_vrs: ISO9660 Boot Record found
UDF-fs DEBUG super.c:445:udf_vrs: ISO9660 Supplementary Volume Descriptor found
UDF-fs DEBUG super.c:451:udf_vrs: ISO9660 Volume Descriptor Set Terminator found
UDF-fs: No VRS found
ISO 9660 Extensions: Microsoft Joliet Level 3
ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A
Linux agpgart interface v0.99 (c) Jeff Hartmann
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 439M
agpgart: unsupported bridge
agpgart: no supported devices found.

Is the tail end of dmesg immediately afterwords.

Unfortunately... AGP just ain't talking on this mobo.

Jeff
__________________
--
Jeff Shultz
JeffShultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-03, 12:39 PM   #18
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Urk. All I can suggest now is to parse the MAINTAINERS file in the Linux kernel source and send an e-mail to the agpgart maintainer asking for help. Be sure to include all possible information, like hardware setup, kernel config, log snippets, everything.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-03, 11:15 AM   #19
Zenikase
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 99
Default

Sorry to derail the current topic, but you don't need nvaudio anymore. Just get the latest ALSA driver and specify support for 'intel8x0' (which they indicate to use for nForce). Sound should work fine then.
Zenikase is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
happy with new monitor mistrict01 General Hardware 3 05-23-12 11:52 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.