Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-03, 04:06 AM   #1
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Question "4496" the os-registry.c

Hi,
I have added full agp 4x support in nvidia drivers "4496" in the os-registry.c file.

Now what i want to know is how do i configurate 8x agp support?
I have an agp8x 256MB DDR geforce FX 5600 graphics card.

And another thing i want to know is where can i add the:
__GL_FSAA_MODE 5 4x Gaussian Multisampling mode???

This are the options i can set:

__GL_FSAA_MODE GeForce FX, Quadro FX
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 FSAA disabled
1 2x Bilinear Multisampling
2 2x Quincunx Multisampling
3 FSAA disabled
4 4x Bilinear Multisampling
5 4x Gaussian Multisampling

And where can i config the:
ANISOTROPIC TEXTURE FILTERING ??

settings are supported for my card:
__GL_DEFAULT_LOG_ANISO GeForce3/GeForce4 Ti/GeForce FX Description
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
0 No anisotropic filtering
1 Low anisotropic filtering
2 Medium anisotropic filtering
3 Maximum anisotropic filtering

Please let me know in what file i can config those options. and the agp8x support.

Thanx alot.
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 06:51 AM   #2
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

8x AGP should be enabled automatically if your mainboard supports it. You can check the status with this command:
cat /proc/driver/nvidia/agp/status
It would be helpful to know what kind of motharboard you are using if you are certain that 8x AGP should be enabled.

FSAA and anisotrophic filtering are enabled as environment variables. This can be pretty inconvenient, but better than nothing... If you're using bash, open an xterm and try this:
export __GL_FSAA_MODE=5
For csh or tcsh, try this:
setenv __GL_FSAA_MODE 5

I suggest using YanC, yet another nVidia configurator.
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 06:54 AM   #3
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Thanx alot
At last somebody with a bit of knowledge

my mobo supports 8xAGP and fast writes.
i'll check that tool out now.
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 07:11 AM   #4
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Status: Enabled
Driver: NVIDIA
AGP Rate: 8x
Fast Writes: Enabled
SBA: Disabled


what's SBA?

i did an:
F33y0@earth:~> export __GL_FSAA_MODE=5
and a:

F33y0@earth:~> export __GL_DEFAULT_LOG_ANISO=3
dont know if the last 1 will help
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 08:27 AM   #5
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

Your motherboard may support it but AGPGART in the 2.4 kernel series doesn't. I think NvAGP does though, so use that.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 06:25 PM   #6
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

As you may already know, AGP is basically PCI on steroids. SBA enables the sideband address port. One limitation of PCI is that when a request is made to access system memory, no other requests can be made. Sideband addressing removes this limitation.

To enable it, you may edit the line in the os-registry.c file containing "NVreg_EnableAGPSBA" to 1, or you can enable it when loading your nvidia module. I forget the insmod / modprobe syntax, but I think you can just add the NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 as an argument like this:
insmod nvidia.o NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1

Toy around with it if you get the chance, I'll check later on myself and post instructions if I figure it out.
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-03, 03:56 AM   #7
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Hi,

I will try it out right now. C if there is any improvement.
thanx for your info.

My XFConfig
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config.txt (6.5 KB, 196 views)
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-03, 04:51 PM   #8
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

Just for fun, I appended this to my /etc/modules.conf file:
options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 NVreg_EnableAGPFW=1 NVreg_ReqAGPRATE=4

The NVreg_ReqAGPRATE doesn't seem to work with agpgart, but that's to be expected since agpgart sets the rate. You might want to try that with a rate of 8 instead of 4 for your motherboard and with the NvAGP driver.

However, modprobe loads AGPSBA and AGPFW for me whenever I load X now. Sweet
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-16-03, 06:48 AM   #9
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

I cant get this to work
"
Just for fun, I appended this to my /etc/modules.conf file:
options nvidia NVreg_EnableAGPSBA=1 NVreg_EnableAGPFW=1 NVreg_ReqAGPRATE=4
"

Gives me errors on kernel booting??
Tells me that modules.conf is newer then kernel modules...
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.