Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-03, 01:19 AM   #1
RKY60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to RKY60 Send a message via Yahoo to RKY60
Smile Need a little help please, i'm close i think....

Hello

I've found lots of great info here so far, but i'm havin a bit of trouble. I realize the answer is here or somewhere, but i'm still not sure...

I can edit the inittab and XF86Config files just fine, and recover back to X once the install doesn't work. No problems getting the installer and such to run, but i'm gettin this kernal error, log attached.

If someone could explain what i need to do i'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks for your time

New install of Red Hat 9, all updates have been gotten. And pretty much every optional package has been installed....
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (2.0 KB, 191 views)

Last edited by RKY60; 10-11-03 at 10:23 AM.
RKY60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-03, 03:28 AM   #2
russofris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Default

In order to compile against your kernel, you must install the kernel sources (the actual source code for the kernel). In RH9, this is done by going to

HAT
system settings
add/remove applications

and installing "kernel development"

you will thn have to run liveupdate to upgrade your kernel sources to match the new kernel that you already downloaded.

Then run the installer and it will be able to compile a kernel interface. Ping back if you have any problems.

Thank you for your time,
Frank Russo
russofris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-03, 07:20 AM   #3
RKY60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to RKY60 Send a message via Yahoo to RKY60
Default

Thanks for your help

I did what you suggested and it installed, but i never got the Nvidia screen. I attached the log once again, maybe i missed something, but nvidia is loaded as the display driver, but i'm still stuck at 800X600 resolution.

Thanks again...
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (5.9 KB, 127 views)
RKY60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-03, 07:48 AM   #4
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Now what you have to do is edit the X86Config file and edit the line.
Driver "nv"
And change it to:
Driver "nvidia"

-------------------------
Section "Device"
BusID "2:0:0"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device[0]"
VendorName "NVidia"
EndSection
--------------------------
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-03, 08:05 AM   #5
RKY60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to RKY60 Send a message via Yahoo to RKY60
Default

Yep, that was changed already, but still no luck. Must be something simple, me hopes

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 4 (generic)"
EndSection

Thanks for your input
RKY60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-03, 08:30 AM   #6
feeyo
Registered User
 
feeyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Oooh your stuck on 800X600...
The Nvidia boot screen is not really a must, it can be that it is just disabled.

isn't there are hardware setup tool on RH?
In my distro i use SAX2 to configure the screen and graphics card.
__________________
http://www.agilityos.com

Last edited by feeyo; 10-11-03 at 08:34 AM.
feeyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-03, 10:39 PM   #7
RKY60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to RKY60 Send a message via Yahoo to RKY60
Default

Bump

Any idea here?
RKY60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 07:25 AM   #8
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

Could you post your /var/log/XFree86.0.log, please?
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-12-03, 01:02 PM   #9
RKY60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to RKY60 Send a message via Yahoo to RKY60
Default

Sure can
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (25.6 KB, 138 views)
RKY60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 05:50 PM   #10
RKY60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to RKY60 Send a message via Yahoo to RKY60
Default

I don't know what i did, but i was messin around in Display Settings and changed the resolution, then logged out and the Nvidia splash screen appeared, but it still defaulted back to the same resolution, now the splash screen is gone again...
RKY60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-03, 09:28 PM   #11
Soul-Crusher
Leadtek 6800GT
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Posts: 195
Send a message via ICQ to Soul-Crusher Send a message via AIM to Soul-Crusher Send a message via Yahoo to Soul-Crusher
Default

Looks like your horizontal sync and vertical sync values may be incorrectly specified in your XF86Config file. I'm not currently familiar with any graphical utilities, but the way I would fix this is to edit the XF86Config file manually and change these two lines:
HorizSync 30-81
VertRefresh 56-85

Those are my refresh rates, all you'd have to do is change the numbers around. The horizontal and vertical refresh rates should be specified in your monitor's manual.
__________________
"Floating in a dream-like state, I am the emporer of a parallel universe." --Arch Enemy
My xorg.conf file
Soul-Crusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-03, 12:11 AM   #12
RKY60
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to RKY60 Send a message via Yahoo to RKY60
Default

Thanks , i'm now able to set the resolution higher, but i still don't see the Nividi splash screen. Will there be a nvidia control panel once these drivers do load properly?

Last edited by RKY60; 10-13-03 at 03:52 AM.
RKY60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help a newbie in Debian PLS! facundosuarez NVIDIA Linux 4 09-30-02 03:36 PM
Newby question about nforce.... superconti NVIDIA Linux 2 09-08-02 12:46 AM
Newbie - Compiling my own for SuSe 8.0 jocephus19 NVIDIA Linux 5 09-01-02 10:38 PM
NVIDIA_kernel with gcc 3.2 based linux kernel akay NVIDIA Linux 18 08-24-02 10:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.