Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-03, 04:33 AM   #1
nomi[42]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Default pb with twinview

Hello,

I just installed the nvidia drivers (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4349.run)
on a Mandrake 9.1 with a Gforce 2 mx.

I want to configure a clone of my CRT monitor on the TV

Part of the config file is :
Quote:
Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce2 DDR (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "DPMS"

# Option "UseEdidFreqs"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,800x600;800x600,800x600"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60-100"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,TV"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-70"
Option "TwinView"
EndSection
And I just can't change to the second meta mode to get a good display on my TV : I just get my screen being 1024x768 and the tv 800x600 losing part of the screen on the tv
(ctrl alt + doesn't work)

Anybody an idea


Nomi[42]
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86-congif-4.txt (3.1 KB, 117 views)
nomi[42] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-03, 11:19 AM   #2
the_isz
Registered User
 
the_isz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Default

Hi!

I had the same problem. I'm not really a Linux pro, so I'll just tell you what I did:

Try using the following metamode line:

option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768"

Don't worry... My TV supports 1024x768 resolution only as well. But with the 4496 drivers of nvidia it seems to work very well.

I don't give a guarantee that this will work, but it worked for me, so you should give it a try. The worst thing that could possibly happen is that you don't get any TV-OUT. In that case, just undo the changes you've made.

If it works and you can't switch back to a terminal session, look at this thread.

Hope I could help.

Timo
the_isz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-03, 11:34 AM   #3
nomi[42]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for your answer, but when I try the Meta Mode you just gave me, it doesn't work
nomi[42] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-03, 02:05 PM   #4
the_isz
Registered User
 
the_isz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 8
Default

Hmmm...

I'll give you my "Device" section with which it works for me. Maybe you can try to change your options? Just an idea...

Section "Device"
Identifier "GeForce4 Ti-4200"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
VideoRam 65536
Option "TwinView" "true"
Option "NvAGP" "1"
Option "NoLogo" "false"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP" # ignore LCD Displays
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "clone"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768,1024x768"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "30-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "Composite"
EndSection

I hope this helps you to find a solution.

Greets,

Timo
the_isz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twinview? ghorsepower NVIDIA Linux 2 10-11-02 12:46 PM
XF86Config for a Quadro4 without TwinView? Twirlip NVIDIA Linux 1 10-09-02 10:36 AM
Suse Linux 8.0 - Geforce 4 TwinView TA00 NVIDIA Linux 8 08-30-02 03:24 AM
Twinview with TV-out karlaugust NVIDIA Linux 10 08-28-02 04:20 PM
How do I configure TwinView on Dell Inspiron rutgerclaes NVIDIA Linux 6 08-01-02 03:20 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.