Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 10-19-03, 10:20 AM   #1
NSKL

Send a message via AIM to NSKL
Default Toshiba laptop, Slack and GeForce4

First off, hello to everyone here, since i'm new...
I've been using Linux (Slackware) for 4 years now, and i've done a number of nvidia drivers installations and i dealt with a number of problems.
However, i recently purchased a Toshiba satellite 1950-801 with a GeForce 4 460 Go, and a nice 16" monitor. Got X up and running, then downloaded nvidia's newest drivers, installed, restarted X, and the big "plasma monster" attacked me. So i played with options in XF86Config for a couple of days, and the best result i got was with igoring EDIDs. In this case i just get a fuzzy, shifted picture, like when you have bad TV reception.
I've read many posts about similar problems, and followed all advice i could gather. I tried disabling AGP, disabling ACPI and APIC (on uniprocessors), passing NVreg_Mobile=2 to nvdriver, downgrading drivers and the kernel! (drivers to 4363 and kernel to 2.4.20 but still no go. I either get the "plasama thing" or if i set Ignore edid i get the fuzzy unusable display. Other options, such as UseEdidFreqs just make it worse by leaving my console in a unusable state as well. I e-mailed Toshiba to send me detailed hsync and vert refresh freqencies for my monitor, but they didnt answer yet...

I have no idea whats left to do. I purchased this laptop exactly for the reason it had a Nvidia card since i had (mostly) good experiences with Nvidia and linux so far..
However this is a disaster. I'm pretty much left with no hair cuz i tried everything i could find or think of.
Is there something else to try? Did anyone solve this bloody problem?
Thank you for any help/advice
-NSKL
NSKL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-03, 05:32 PM   #2
pyrest

Here you can try this: