Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-02, 11:55 PM   #1
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default Doesn Nforce2 support DDR400 officially?

I have been told that its still a speculation...
I guess a picture speaks a thousand words...

http://www.watch.impress.co.jp/akiba...mage/ncr1.html

WHat does it mean by what does the 'D' stand for after 'Crush 18'?
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 11:58 PM   #2
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

yup, ddr400 is definately official. check out the nvidia site.

Quote:
Highest memory bandwidth: DualDDR combines the power of DDR400 with two independent memory controllers, which yields a staggering 6.4GB per second of memory bandwidth—twice the memory bandwidth of other DDR400 chipsets. Increased memory bandwidth delivers better system and graphics performance, resulting in more overall productivity.
http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=feature_dualddr
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 12:18 AM   #3
DXnfiniteFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 77
Default

Yes, completely, legitimately, and fully supported. Dual-channel DDR400, the slaughter of RDRAM.

Now if ONLY Intel would drop or at least lower their stupid royalties so that Nvidia could bring this over to the P4 platform. Cheapter memory, better performance, stable chipset. Doesn't get better than that!
__________________
Windows XP
2.0 Ghz Northwood Pentium 4
512 MB DDR266
845-D
GeForce 4 Ti 4600
Sound Blaster Live!
80 GB 7200 RPM
DXnfiniteFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 12:47 AM   #4
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DXnfiniteFX
Yes, completely, legitimately, and fully supported. Dual-channel DDR400, the slaughter of RDRAM.

Now if ONLY Intel would drop or at least lower their stupid royalties so that Nvidia could bring this over to the P4 platform. Cheapter memory, better performance, stable chipset. Doesn't get better than that!
Thats what I was thinking...DDR400 already makes the fastest RDram work hard to beat it by a relatively small margin...but with DUAL DDR system, RDram is gonna get killed...
I likes I likes...

One thing which isn't clear though...that is...if the nForce2 based motherboards support 1/6th PCI dividers...I know the KT400 can't do it...
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 12:53 AM   #5
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

is pci divider a manufacturer decision? like some boards will have better pci division, and other boards won't? not a chipset limitation?

either way, i don't think that is known yet.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 01:42 AM   #6
SocketAzzWipe
Long Live The Crowbar
 
SocketAzzWipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by thcdru2k
is pci divider a manufacturer decision? like some boards will have better pci division, and other boards won't? not a chipset limitation?

either way, i don't think that is known yet.

I believe that it is mainly chipset limitation...as this is the case in the KT400 ...
I know that the ABIT KT400 motherboards had 1/6th divider originally...but the bios update removed it...because people were getting no post after they selected it...


"KT400 chipset(no matter what revision is used) can not work with 1/6 PCI divider is confirmed recently by VIA

it's the architecture problem of the chipset itself

KT266/266A : 1/3 and 1/4 only
KT333/KT333CE : 1/3 , 1/4 and 1/5 only
KT400 : the same as KT333"

http://www.amdforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=158656
SocketAzzWipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 01:55 AM   #7
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

I have DDR 400 Memory, but I am running on a P4 based system, my motherboard(MSI 648 MAX) doesn't officially support DDR400, but I went ahead and bought it anyways, runs at CAS 2 no problem.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-02, 03:26 AM   #8
zoolap
GeHorse Ti4200
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 100
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by SocketAzzWipe
...1/6th PCI dividers...
Sorry to ask stupid (?) question, but what does this "1/6th PCI dividers" mean?
__________________
hungry horse!
zoolap is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-02, 08:29 AM   #9
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

the pci divider controls the pci bus speed. for example standard pci bus speed is 33mhz. when running a 133mhz cpu, this is a 1/4th pci divider, because the pci is running at 1/4th the cpu fsb. when overclocking to say, 160mhz, the 1/4th pci divider makes the pci bus run at 40mhz. at 40mhz, some devices have a chance of not running properly, so having a 1/6th pci divider would allow the pci to run at 26-27mhz. so there would definately be no problems for any pci devices. a 1/6th pci divider would all for higher overclocking and still remaining compatibility with pci devices.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying the Stereo 3D Support of the MK802 Android 4.0 Mini PC News Archived News Items 0 08-30-12 05:00 PM
Is the Stereo 3D Gaming Doomed to Fail or What, No Really? News Archived News Items 0 07-17-12 06:30 AM
Remastered Doom 3 BFG Edition Game Coming with Stereo 3D Support News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 05:30 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
nForce2 Linux support synonymy NVIDIA Linux 4 08-02-02 11:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.