Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-07, 03:24 PM   #1
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them?

I want to replace my ribbon cable that runs to my Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCI sound card. It looks old and makes the inner theme of my entire case look gay! Is their a company that makes a replacement cable so I can complete the look I'm going for?
I want a then black ribbon the same or shoter leagth if any butit must match the contact points.


-Picture attachment url: http://suprfile.com/get.php?id=7cck6it

Note: Areas are high lighted in red!
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 04:03 PM   #2
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them

There is a place that sells the 40pin IDE cables without the notch. You can use an IDE cable as long as the middle pin isnt keyed out and it is for one device only. People have reported that it works on the creative forums....

http://www.computercablesource.com/detail.aspx?ID=347

I need to get one myself, the one that it comes with is crap. Mine fell apart and my mic port stopped working.
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 05:50 PM   #3
SOAD
Registered User
 
SOAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rep of Ireland
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them

WTF! Do xfi cards need cables....


I have a xtrememusic connected to Creative G500.

I just plugged the card in.....


Is this wrong?
SOAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 06:20 PM   #4
buffbiff21
*B4NNED*
 
buffbiff21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,002
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOAD_rule
WTF! Do xfi cards need cables....
He's talking about the cable that connects to the front bay panel that comes with the Platinum and Fatal1ty.
__________________
GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
buffbiff21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 06:23 PM   #5
SOAD
Registered User
 
SOAD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rep of Ireland
Posts: 1,411
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them

ah cool

cheers
SOAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-07, 09:01 PM   #6
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n
There is a place that sells the 40pin IDE cables without the notch. You can use an IDE cable as long as the middle pin isnt keyed out and it is for one device only. People have reported that it works on the creative forums....

http://www.computercablesource.com/detail.aspx?ID=347

I need to get one myself, the one that it comes with is crap. Mine fell apart and my mic port stopped working.

Okay, you buy one first and let me know how it turns out?
then I can proceed knowing if it worked out for you.
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 04:17 AM   #7
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them

http://forums.creative.com/creativel...=140527#M46396

http://forums.creative.com/creativel...=824728#M49435
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 05:28 AM   #8
Arioch
Registered User
 
Arioch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them?

I have to agree those cables are crap - I had to use one from a friend's old system for my last PC as it started to come apart for some reason.

Heh - I was on the fence about getting the front panel for my X-fi on my new system. After I saw how long my Stacker 830 case was it basically put the nail in the coffin for not getting it.
Arioch is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-20-07, 07:46 PM   #9
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them


Thank you for the thread url links!
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 08:14 PM   #10
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them?

I can confirm that you need that missing pin on a regular IDE cable for your mic/in 2 to work properly. So getting a cable and just punching out the whole won't work. I tried sleeving the cable myself, but I tightend now the zip cable too hard and messed up the cable.

performancepcs.com will sleeve your cable for you, so that is work a look. I couldn't find a place to get a new one, but if you just look around and find one of the old 40 pin cables before they started blanking it out, that works just fine. (That is what I'm using now instead of the broken cable)

Just checked those links thought it would be nice to buy the cable from that site, but it is kind of long. All depends upon how big your case is. In mine the stock 18" cable is just the right length, but if you needed to route it around something the extra length might be needed. In a mid tower case, it would probably have all kinds of extra leftover.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 08:36 PM   #11
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121
I can confirm that you need that missing pin on a regular IDE cable for your mic/in 2 to work properly. So getting a cable and just punching out the whole won't work. I tried sleeving the cable myself, but I tightend now the zip cable too hard and messed up the cable.

performancepcs.com will sleeve your cable for you, so that is work a look. I couldn't find a place to get a new one, but if you just look around and find one of the old 40 pin cables before they started blanking it out, that works just fine. (That is what I'm using now instead of the broken cable)

Just checked those links thought it would be nice to buy the cable from that site, but it is kind of long. All depends upon how big your case is. In mine the stock 18" cable is just the right length, but if you needed to route it around something the extra length might be needed. In a mid tower case, it would probably have all kinds of extra leftover.

Okay, Question? if I order that cable from that place online and connect it to my creative sound card and to the bay drive will my mic/in work properly? because I don't want down the road hardware issues. The second option would be to performancepcs.com sleeve my current cable but if the one your suggesting off that website works then I might give it a try.

Here's a picture of my computer case url: http://suprfile.com/get.php?id=7cck6it

My case Dimensions: 8" x 21.5" x 18.75" (20.3cm x 54.61cm x 47.6cm)
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-07, 09:53 PM   #12
Digital_Trans
 
Digital_Trans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sin City
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty cable ribbon replacement...Do They Make Them

I finally got the long awaited replacement ribbon you guys suggested. One side is black the other blue. Which end color goes to the sound card directly blue or black? and which end goes to the drive bay?
__________________
Case: HP Blackbird 002
PSU: Topower 1500W
Mobo: ASUS Striker Extreme II 790i Ultra
CPU: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 Quad 3.8GHz LCi
RAM: Corsair 4GB DDR3 1800 (PC3 14400)
GPU: 3 X EVGA GTX 280 FTW Edition TRI-SLI
HDD: 3 X 150GB WD Raptor-X
HDD: 1 - 500GB Seagate Barracuda
HDD: 1 - 640GB WD Caviar SE
DVD: 2 X Ultra Slim 20X IDE DVD/CD Writer
SPU: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCI-Express
LG Super Multi Blu-ray RW/HDDVD: GGW-H20L
Display: Dell UltraSharp 30" LCD
Gateway XHD3000 Black 30" LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition x64 SP1
Digital_Trans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.