Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-28-02, 07:31 PM   #1
cgi-bin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Can't use 32bit colour

I have a GeForce 2 MX 400, Linux Mandrake 8.2 and installed the drivers propery. I can't seem to set my desktop colour depth to 32bit colour, if i do, X stops using the nvidia and reverts to "nv" in the XF86Config-4 file and removes the Load "glx".

The max i can choose is 24bit colour, but then games complain that i need to be using 16bit or higher.

am i stuck with 16bit?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 08:48 PM   #2
Bern
Slacker
 
Bern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisvegas, Antipodes
Posts: 15
Send a message via ICQ to Bern
Default

From XFree86.org
Quote:
Depth depth
This entry specifies what colour depth the Display subsection is to be used for. This entry is usually mandatory, but it may be omitted in some cases providing an FbBpp entry is present. The range of depth values that are allowed depends on the driver. Most driver support 8, 15, 16 and 24. Some also support 1 and/or 4, and some may support other values (like 30). Note: depth means the number of bits in a pixel that are actually used to determine the pixel colour. 32 is not a valid depth value. Most hardware that uses 32 bits per pixel only uses 24 of them to hold the colour information, which means that the colour depth is 24, not 32.
__________________
p-two.net
Bern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 09:05 PM   #3
skeevewoo2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'd like to add that 32 bit color has four channels.. Red, Blue, Green, and an Alpha channel used for transparency effects.. even 24 bit color is usually stored in a 32 bit integer. Even though linux has no support for 32 bit color, most video cards don't accellerate 24 bit color, instead everything is "padded" to 32 bit color I think anyway.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 09:33 AM   #4
cgi-bin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ok thanks for the info guys guess i'll be running hl in 16bit, though in Unreal Tournament you can choose 32.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 09:43 AM   #5
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Using 16bit and then selecting 32 bit in a game doesn't work. X doesn't support depth switching. So when X runs at 16bit all OpenGL apps will work at 16 bit. The same goes for 24 bit. (In quake3 the menu's look a little different when you turn on "32 bit" but it really isn't 24bit / 32 bpp)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 01:15 PM   #6
cgi-bin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well it makes a large differenct in UT if UT is run in 16bit its terrible but 32bit (set in game) and it looks great... maybe best thing for me to do is see if there is an extra command when launching hl to make it ignore the colour depth
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 01:30 PM   #7
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Start halflife using:
wine --winver win98 hl

That will do the trick.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-02, 05:11 PM   #8
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

Oops forgot something. That --winver switch only works on older versions of wine or on winex. Recent versions of wine use the wine config file.

For example the following to use win98 for all apps

[Version] ; Windows version to imitate (win95,win98,winme,nt351,nt40,win2k,winxp,win20,wi n30,win31)" }, "Windows" = "win98

or [AppDefaults\\app.exe\\version] for a single app.
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-30-02, 07:15 AM   #9
cgi-bin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

all fine now... the winver win98 bit was commented out. Of course Half-Life now doesn't perform so well ie half the framerate i got in 16bit but it saves me having to keep switching which usually involves a crash & reboot... Know if there is ways to switch colour depth safely? - I usually set it in the Mandrake control center then do ctrl+alt+backspacee
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 07:48 AM   #10
Thunderbird
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,105
Default

There's no real good way for switching colour depths. What I would do in your case to play at 16 bit and do the rest at 24 bit is to launch an extra Xserver.

For example create an extra XF86Config-4.hl
Then startx -- :1 XF86Config-4.hl (sometimes depending on the user you are you need to specify the path to the config file too)
Thunderbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-02, 01:15 PM   #11
cgi-bin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ok thanks a lot for the help ppl, allways like it when i come across helpful forums

I found that if i edit the DefaultColorDepth bit in the XF86Config-4 file then restart the x server it doesn't crash, so that suits me ok.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA and VMware Enhance the Virtual Desktop Experience News Archived News Items 0 08-27-12 03:30 PM
$7.99 - Olympia Tools 36-980 24pc Drill & Driver Bit Set News Newegg Daily Deals 0 08-16-12 05:50 PM
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 07:00 PM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
3DNA 3d desktop prydah General Software 2 08-01-02 11:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.