Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-19-02, 03:30 PM   #1
Ramshambo2001
*DEAD*
 
Ramshambo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nebrasky
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to Ramshambo2001
Cool Slow XP startup after upgrade....

I just recently upgraded to a anthon 1.33 ghz with 384 ddr, asus mobo, western 80 gig SE, and radeon 8500. I install windows xp home edition and on the startup screen with the green(or blue for professional) progress indicator and it just sits there for like 5 min until finally coming to the log in screen. Then it goes off into regular windows. Other then this i am getting great framerates, ran 3dmark 2k1 numerous times with no lockups, is there a conflict somewhere or has some thing gone array in the installion?
Ramshambo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-02, 03:33 PM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Sounds like it could be a bum driver somewhere or something with Networking, like it's trying to establish a network connection and is not finding it. What kind of networking hardware do you have/use?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-02, 03:36 PM   #3
Ramshambo2001
*DEAD*
 
Ramshambo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nebrasky
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to Ramshambo2001
Default

Linksys NIC, it's connected to a router, to my cable modem. I had some trouble getting it into the mobo, but reinstalled it later. Oh, and i did already install SP1
Ramshambo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-02, 03:40 PM   #4
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Do you use DHCP on your connection? I used to have problems with slow booting because my NIC was trying to access DHCP when there was none.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-02, 03:48 PM   #5
Ramshambo2001
*DEAD*
 
Ramshambo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nebrasky
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to Ramshambo2001
Default

i fliped it on and off on, my router, looked in my nic prop and nothing, does seem net related though
Ramshambo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-02, 08:32 PM   #6
OliverRedfox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 77
Default

It could be doing a scan disk in the background on every boot. On one system I built using windows 2000(XP may have the same problem), if I had the S.M.A.R.T. hard drive option turned on(or off- can't remember which way it was) in bios, the OS would do a scan disk every time it booted, even if the drive was fine. As soon as I changed the setting to the opposite the scan disk problem went away. It's possible you are having that problem. Try switching the setting for the SMART drive. It was a year and half ago that I ran into the problem so I can't remember which way was causing the problem, but hopefully it'll help.
OliverRedfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-02, 12:40 AM   #7
Ramshambo2001
*DEAD*
 
Ramshambo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nebrasky
Posts: 74
Send a message via AIM to Ramshambo2001
Default

Still pulling out my hair on this, turned smart on and off, no go. I really wouldn't mind it ,but it is literally like 5 minutes before it gets going. I've reformatted twice now and it still gives me the same problem so it doesn't seem driver related, updated all my mother board drivers too.
Ramshambo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-02, 05:07 PM   #8
OliverRedfox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 77
Default

Do you have your computer set to automatically obtain an IP address? If you do, you might try entering a static IP.

Also, have you tried booting without your network card (or disabled in bios, if on-board)?

You might might also try pulling/disabling sound card, modem, etc... it may take a while but it'll find the hardware conflict. And it should take less time then re-installing XP.
OliverRedfox is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-22-02, 09:35 PM   #9
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

I just did a fresh install of XP with my newly acquired SP1. I followed the instructions and after I booted my system after installation, I experienced the exact same problem. Windows would take forever to load. As I was troubleshooting, I made a booboo that necessitated having to start all over again from scratch.

I gave SP1 another shot, only this time instead of rebooting immediately after installation, I ticked the box that said not to reboot right away. I don't remember what it was I did or installed but when I rebooted my system the next time, it loaded up right away, just as fast as before SP1. The only thing I can suggest now is to format, install SP1, but don't reboot immediately afterwards. It's a longshot but you never know.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 10:11 AM   #10
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

After seeing the news post on the front page, I went and gave TweakXP a go. My load times have gone down alot. The was the first thing that I noticed after applying the tweaks then rebooting, so far so good.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-02, 01:35 AM   #11
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default

Its just your motherboard drivers. Same thing happened to me on another computer, if you go into safe mode, even after removing all the mobo drivers, anyways, if you go into safe mode and see the device manager you'll see that all of your old mobo drivers are still there. I would go and hand delete every one of them, but I'm too lazy so I just formatted my primary drive.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does it make sense to upgrade to GTX 660 from GTX 460 ? VladR NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 3 06-26-13 02:43 PM
Upgrade to Windows 8 Pro for $39.99 Melfranks Microsoft Windows 8 2 10-29-12 09:30 AM
The Windows 8 upgrade install experience News Archived News Items 0 10-25-12 01:10 PM
Very slow X startup Jeremy NVIDIA Linux 96 05-23-03 10:11 AM
To upgrade, or not to upgrade... jnd3 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 18 09-13-02 11:09 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.