Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-31-03, 05:32 PM   #13
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

Ack, is it just me or do those screens look almost IDENTICAL to MOHAA? The models are almost the same exact ones and the maps look VERY similar. Not to mention its the same game engine.

Im not saying it doesnt look cool, but there are PLENTY of great WW2 games out already and they are all basicly the same game (with varying graphics and maps... but all have the same guns and missions). Day of Defeat, MOHAA, BF1942, Deadly Dozen and half a dozen others.

Id play this but I wouldnt buy it.... I payed about $130 for BF1942, Road to Rome expansion and MOHAA.... I should get this game for free
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-03, 05:52 PM   #14
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/me....html?page=204

http://www.gamespot.com/pc/action/ca...s.html?page=64

The biggest difference between the two screens graphics wise (well beside the fact that they are two completely different scenes ) is that the CoD screen has anisotropic filtering enabled to make it look sharper, and the models have stencil shadows.

Again, Im not bashing the game... but cant we have a little originality? How about a game based on an alternate reality world war 2? Oh wait, thats been done a few times already (RTCW, Iron Storm.. although that was supposedly in the '60s).... I guess they should have just MADE A GAME ABOUT ANOTHER WAR
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-03, 05:55 PM   #15
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default

I also get a crash during the carride, and I have to reboot. Problem for me is it does it every single time in the same place, after the guy said there's a roadblock and then the car makes the first turn afterwards. I've tried it like 5 times in a row and it crashes in the same place so I'm stuck right there.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-03, 09:55 PM   #16
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default

I finally got past that bad spot by playing it in the game's safe mode. I played past the spot, saved, exited game, restarted game, set up the settings again and it's been ok from then on. Funny thing is there was still a lot of driving left with way more action than that first bad spot but the game played right through them with no problem. Some kind of glitch in that one spot it seems.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-03, 10:49 PM   #17
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CaptNKILL
Ack, is it just me or do those screens look almost IDENTICAL to MOHAA? The models are almost the same exact ones and the maps look VERY similar. Not to mention its the same game engine.

Im not saying it doesnt look cool, but there are PLENTY of great WW2 games out already and they are all basicly the same game (with varying graphics and maps... but all have the same guns and missions). Day of Defeat, MOHAA, BF1942, Deadly Dozen and half a dozen others.

Id play this but I wouldnt buy it.... I payed about $130 for BF1942, Road to Rome expansion and MOHAA.... I should get this game for free
I second that...it looks exactly like MOHAA just with better models. These games really need a face lift...like the Half-Life 2 engine or something...just to make it look appealing. I'm sure the game is great and all...but I don't even play old games because it's just sad to look at how ugly they look. lol.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-03, 10:59 PM   #18
LiquidX
xxxxxxx
 
LiquidX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: xxxxxxxx
Posts: 2,113
Default

In a way its like MOHAA but I think much better. The maps are huge and intense and the sound is icening on the cake. I have never felt as if I was in game as playing this, simply amazeing. Also 99 to life if the graphics on COD dont look good to you it has to be your card dude because it blows me away on my Ti4200. Not many games I think look better than it even though its a moddified quake engine.
LiquidX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-03, 11:32 PM   #19
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LiquidX
In a way its like MOHAA but I think much better. The maps are huge and intense and the sound is icening on the cake. I have never felt as if I was in game as playing this, simply amazeing. Also 99 to life if the graphics on COD dont look good to you it has to be your card dude because it blows me away on my Ti4200. Not many games I think look better than it even though its a moddified quake engine.
See thats great, but wouldnt it have been better if they waited a few years and made an amazingly realistic WW2 shooter, rather than creating strikingly similar ones with slight improvements every other month?
I mean, look what they did with the Quake 3 engine! What could they have done if they waited until after Doom 3\HL2 engines are available? Or the NEXT wave of engines (3-4 years away Im guessing) that are nearly photo-realistic? Its just sort of boring having all of these new high-profile war games coming out based on the same technology (and gameplay, and weapons and missions....) as the last high-profile war game.

Skip the WW2 games for now and make something NEW... when the technology is actually DIFFERENT in a few years, MAKE A NEW WW2 GAME!

... ok enough ranting... im tired... probably will read this tomorrow and not recognize a word of it
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-03, 01:29 AM   #20
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default

No, it wouldn't have been better to wait a couple of years because then I wouldn't be able to play this game NOW.

What are you smoking dude? I don't know about you but I put together my system to play games and I'll take as many as I can get, there aren't enough good games that come out as it is. Your comments don't even make sense, hell we might as well all just go back to PII's and wait a few years to play games again.

And photo realistic games are a lot further away than 3 or 4 years.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64

Last edited by Mike89; 11-01-03 at 01:36 AM.
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-01-03, 09:23 AM   #21
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike89
No, it wouldn't have been better to wait a couple of years because then I wouldn't be able to play this game NOW.

What are you smoking dude? I don't know about you but I put together my system to play games and I'll take as many as I can get, there aren't enough good games that come out as it is. Your comments don't even make sense, hell we might as well all just go back to PII's and wait a few years to play games again.

And photo realistic games are a lot further away than 3 or 4 years.
Like I said before, the game is good, but current WW2 shooters are all the same besides the graphics (and obviously, BF1942 is vehicle based) so why not hold off on spending a million dollars to produce last years game with slight improvements, then put the money toward a different type of game (try a WW1 shooter at least), or save it until you can make a WW2 game that totaly blows the others away (ie using HL2\D3 engines for amazing graphics, physics and effects). I guess Im not looking at it the same way you are.
Your view makes perfect sense from your position, but for the developers and the overall state of games, I dont know..... I (and many others)tend to be more impressed with games when they are huge steps over similar games... CoD appears to have added higher-res textures and iron-sights to MOHAA and made some new maps depicting the same battles from other WW2 shooters. Its just my preference, but Id have rather seen this game made as a realistic WW1, WW3, Korea, whatever war game or seen it held off until newer tech was available to make it more original.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-03, 12:02 PM   #22
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

Quote:
I (and many others)tend to be more impressed with games when they are huge steps over similar games...
Theres numerous problems with this tho.

1) Longer development time means alot more money used for development. Games cost millions of dollars to make already. This puts an even greater stress on the developers to get it right, otherwise they could go bust.

2) Doing huge steps in advancement is a risky thing to do. What if you dont get it right? Millions of dollars down the drain. Most games companies are teetering on the edge of financial abyss as it is. Theres been loads of companies in the UK going bust this year alone. This year has been dreadful for the gaming industry.

Tried and tested ideas may be annoying to you, but they're reasuring to publishers, and investors, who dont want the dev company to produce another Daikatana..

Why do you think soo many Hollywood films are just the same re-hash of same story, just with better effects on top? Because its financially safe.

It is annoying, that progress is dictated by financial security, rather than brainstorms of original ideas. But original ideas dont always put food on the table for your family.

btw, I've just ordered my copy.. gotta wait till the 7th tho over here in blighty.. ahh well..
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-03, 02:25 PM   #23
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default

Quote:
btw, I've just ordered my copy.. gotta wait till the 7th tho over here in blighty.. ahh well..
ohh.. you will like it... anyone who likes MOHAA will enjoy COD..

but i was surprised by the new feeling an gameplay of COD....
what i really like in single player is that you dont fight alone anymore.. is not you versus the entire german army ,is allies vs Germans.. the AI is quite good..
also the graphics are enhanced .. maps more colorfull ,more detailed ...characters uniforms,weapons use highresolution textures .. the effects of water/fire /explotions/ have been upgraded too..

btw..
anyone knows why there is an option in the game settings for [NVIDIA FOG] - yes/no ?
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-03, 03:56 PM   #24
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

Presumably its the use of;

GL_NV_fog_distance entension of OpenGL.

Quote:
Ideally, the fog distance (used to compute the fog factor as
described in Section 3.10) should be computed as the per-fragment
Euclidean distance to the fragment center from the eye. In practice,
implementations "may choose to approximate the eye-coordinate
distance from the eye to each fragment center by abs(ze). Further,
[the fog factor] f need not be computed at each fragment, but may
be computed at each vertex and interpolated as other data are."

This extension provides the application specific control over how
OpenGL computes the distance used in computing the fog factor.
The extension supports three fog distance modes: "eye plane absolute",
where the fog distance is the absolute planar distance from the eye
plane (i.e., OpenGL's standard implementation allowance as cited above);
"eye plane", where the fog distance is the signed planar distance
from the eye plane; and "eye radial", where the fog distance is
computed as a Euclidean distance. In the case of the eye radial
fog distance mode, the distance may be computed per-vertex and then
interpolated per-fragment.

The intent of this extension is to provide applications with better control over the tradeoff between performance and fog quality.
The "eye planar" modes (signed or absolute) are straightforward
to implement with good performance, but scenes are consistently
under-fogged at the edges of the field of view. The "eye radial"
mode can provide for more accurate fog at the edges of the field of
view, but this assumes that either the eye radial fog distance is
computed per-fragment, or if the fog distance is computed per-vertex
and then interpolated per-fragment, then the scene must be
sufficiently tessellated.
from
http://oss.sgi.com/projects/ogl-samp...g_distance.txt
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$44.99 - Logitech Call of Duty: MW3 Edition G105 Black USB Wired Gaming Keyboard News Archived News Items 0 06-20-12 09:00 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Treyarch says Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 Doesn't Need a New Engine to Advance Graphics News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 07:00 PM
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Collection 1 DLC arrives on PC, finally News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 01:10 PM
Call for Papers and Sponsors: Netherlands GPU Parallel Programming Conference News Archived News Items 0 05-07-12 04:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.