Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-03, 07:00 PM   #1
1m4g1n3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
Default XFX GeforceFX 5200

When I got this card, I knew it was cheap (that's why i got it), this brand in particular - it only came with a big aluminum heatsink and no ram cooling. However, what i didnt know is that they put CHEAP ram in it, which is only at 333 mhz. It is vdata vdd8616a8a (-6b). I looked on the fact sheet for this, and it said it was 133mhz in the ordering information (which makes 333 mhz effective) however, it did not tell me the MAXIMUM speed that it can attain. I just wanted to make sure, but i am almost certain that these guys did not underclock this thing, as they did in the MSI version with the samsung ram.

I will get a Vantec Iceberq4 cooling kit with a good active cooler and 4 aluminum ramsinks - i was wondering if i could reach 325/425 from 250/333 with this kit easily.
1m4g1n3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-03, 07:47 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: XFX GeforceFX 5200

Quote:
Originally posted by 1m4g1n3
When I got this card, I knew it was cheap (that's why i got it), this brand in particular - it only came with a big aluminum heatsink and no ram cooling. However, what i didnt know is that they put CHEAP ram in it, which is only at 333 mhz. It is vdata vdd8616a8a (-6b). I looked on the fact sheet for this, and it said it was 133mhz in the ordering information (which makes 333 mhz effective) however, it did not tell me the MAXIMUM speed that it can attain. I just wanted to make sure, but i am almost certain that these guys did not underclock this thing, as they did in the MSI version with the samsung ram.

I will get a Vantec Iceberq4 cooling kit with a good active cooler and 4 aluminum ramsinks - i was wondering if i could reach 325/425 from 250/333 with this kit easily.
133Mhz = 266Mhz effective DDR speed

Most manufacturers dont make cards for overclocking, especially low end cards, so unless the card comes with RAM sinks or is advertised as being overclockable, dont expect to push it even 1Mhz over the rated speed (most will go a little bit, but its all luck unless they advertise overclockability.... even then its not a guarantee).

BTW, why are you buying such nice cooling for such a cheap card???? You could have spent the extra $20-$30 on a better card
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-03, 09:30 PM   #3
Kev1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 679
Smile Some people just like modding stuff...

I have some GF2 GTS's in backup computer's I might mess with. Maybe my extra GF3's too.

It is kinda fun getting stuff to work better than intended no matter what the price point is. I think in some ways inexpensive video cards can be a lot more fun than their more expensive counterparts in that respect

Your right sometimes its not the most economical way to go about things, but its enjoyable none the less. Kinda like putting a 1.6 ghz celeron FC in a slot 1 440bx mobo using a powerleap adapter. You don't do it to be economical really, you do its cause its fun


Kev1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-03, 06:17 AM   #4
1m4g1n3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
Default

It can't be 266 mhz effective though, it is 333 mhz somehow. Also, i overclock the memory to 390-400 mhz (even though there is no cooling on the memory) and i do not experience any artifacts whatsoever and the card has never crashed yet. I may be stressing the ram i guess, but when i get aluminum ramsinks this will be fixed. Also, I got this card for $90 cdn, which is $60 cdn cheaper than the msi version with samsung ram and vivo, and i would LIKE to return it and get the msi, but it has been almost 2 months since I bought it and I am not sure if futureshop will accept it back If they do though, I will be sure to get the msi version, as i have not been able to find the 'ultra' version anywhere in canadian stores.
1m4g1n3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-03, 07:14 AM   #5
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default ...

tell you what...

Before you go all out on this card, run 3dmark2k1 with that card... I'd like to know if you get ~4k or ~7-8k...

If you get ~4k, you have a 64 bit version which you will not have fun OC'ing with, and would not gaming wiuth it either... compared to the true 128 bit variety at least...

If you do have the 128bit version, then you have some headroom for improvement...

If you have the 64bit version... well, um, you could probably get $50 bucks for it, turn around and buy a GF3 for $50 and enjoy twice the performance and much better shader capability...

My $0.02...
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-03, 08:07 AM   #6
Johnmcl7
Defiant
 
Johnmcl7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 1m4g1n3
It can't be 266 mhz effective though, it is 333 mhz somehow. Also, i overclock the memory to 390-400 mhz (even though there is no cooling on the memory) and i do not experience any artifacts whatsoever and the card has never crashed yet. I may be stressing the ram i guess, but when i get aluminum ramsinks this will be fixed. Also, I got this card for $90 cdn, which is $60 cdn cheaper than the msi version with samsung ram and vivo, and i would LIKE to return it and get the msi, but it has been almost 2 months since I bought it and I am not sure if futureshop will accept it back If they do though, I will be sure to get the msi version, as i have not been able to find the 'ultra' version anywhere in canadian stores.
If it has 6ns memory, then it's rated for 166Mhz(333Mhz effective)

John
Johnmcl7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-03, 04:30 PM   #7
1m4g1n3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Ran 3dmark2k1, and i got 3536...this thing is a piece of ****. I want to return it and get my money back if I can. I mean, I will if i can. This thing was full of false advertising. It said it had 128-bit memory and it doesnt. What a disappointment.
1m4g1n3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-03, 04:35 PM   #8
Malfunction
 
Malfunction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Posts: 1,002
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 1m4g1n3
Ran 3dmark2k1, and i got 3536...this thing is a piece of ****. I want to return it and get my money back if I can. I mean, I will if i can. This thing was full of false advertising. It said it had 128-bit memory and it doesnt. What a disappointment.
Out of curiousity... how much did you pay for it?

Peace,

Malfunction is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-03, 06:46 PM   #9
1m4g1n3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
Default

Actually, I paid $120 cdn, and i was SUPPOSED to get a $30 mail-in rebate, which hasn't come yet in 8 weeks, and if i go to the rebate status it says my check is void. I will contact the customer support tommorow. In other words, this company sucks. The cooling sucks, and the ram sucks, and there is a bunch of false advertising all around this product. I want to get the MSI GeForce FX 5200-VTD for $150, which has vivo, a bunch of cable converters for s-video, etc, and a bunch of software. Also, it has ram that is 400mhz, but is underclocked, so it can go up to 500mhz without stressing it at all. Also, it has a super good gpu cooling which is more than enoguh for my needs. However, I am thinking of waiting for the price to come down, and also if futureshop will accept this card back. I will try to do some sort of exchange or something. Anyways, tell me what you think of the msi version as a version of the 5200, not comparing it to the higher versions which i know you will say this is a piece of crap.

Thanks.
1m4g1n3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-03, 07:10 PM   #10
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default ...

If you have a 17" monitor and enjoy gaming @ 10x7, and want to use some AA and AF, and you don't wanna kick details down in the newest games, get (in order of performance) a GF3 for ~$50, a GF4ti 64mb for ~70, a fast GF4ti for around $90-100, an evGA 5200 Ultra for $107 shipped from Xtreme Gear, a real 5600 for around $110, an ultra for around $125, a rev2 for around $140, or IMO a VERY spankin deal, an eVGA 5700 for ~145...

I think you'd basically be a ripped-off customer if you spent $150 on a 5200 when you have all these other cards that are more powerful.. some of them costing only a third of what whoever's askin for that MSI VTD series card...

... my $0.02..
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-03, 07:12 PM   #11
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default ...

BAH!!! Canadian money? Dang it, I didn't see that... grrr... oh well, my statement still basically stands as is though...

Ok, $150 cdn = how many USD?

__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-03, 07:57 PM   #12
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default

Rough estimate but 150 CD is around 100ish-110ish USD.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 10:33 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.