Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-03, 07:08 AM   #25
fuxifuxi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 16
Default

I wanted functionality when I have bought this card. I have that. But I expected performances at the level of a GF3. I received GF2 performance. That is a shame.
fuxifuxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 08:30 AM   #26
fuxifuxi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 16
Angry

I took a closer look at my card and it has only 4 memory chips. That will make it a 64-bit card, no ? Also the memories are Infineon HYB25D256 160BT, which, according to Infineon data sheets are working at 333 MHz.
Therefore it is proven without doubt that Asus lied about the card's memory clock speed...
fuxifuxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 08:38 AM   #27
aapo
Registered User
 
aapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fuxifuxi
I took a closer look at my card and it has only 4 memory chips. That will make it a 64-bit card, no ?
Yes, it is 64-bit then. On the other hand, they don't seem to claim 128-bit bus anywhere in their ads, so I suppose it's legit but very poor advertising policy.


Quote:
Also the memories are Infineon HYB25D256 160BT, which, according to Infineon data sheets are working at 333 MHz.
Therefore it is proven without doubt that Asus lied about the card's memory clock speed...
That seems to be true. However, it's very strange that a company as big as Asus would make a clear outright lie about their product.
__________________
no sig.
aapo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 08:45 AM   #28
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fuxifuxi
I took a closer look at my card and it has only 4 memory chips. That will make it a 64-bit card, no ? Also the memories are Infineon HYB25D256 160BT, which, according to Infineon data sheets are working at 333 MHz.
Therefore it is proven without doubt that Asus lied about the card's memory clock speed...

Ouch, That is a 64 bit card, I mean the memory already lowered to 333 mhz and it at 64 bit.. How much bandwith is that anyway? Cant be much.. I highly reccomend you take it back.

We have a 5200 Non Ultra with 128 Bit memory That has the default clock speeds. It replaced a geforce 4 MX here and it seems to be going pretty well. Definately not the way you describe yours..
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 09:17 AM   #29
fuxifuxi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 16
Default

My GeForceFX 5200 has a (theoretical) bandwidth of 2.7 GB/s, while my
older GeForce256 DDR has a 4.8 GB/s bandwidth (128 bit memory DDR at 300 MHz).

It seems I have invested in a downgrade
fuxifuxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 09:21 AM   #30
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fuxifuxi
My GeForceFX 5200 has a (theoretical) bandwidth of 2.7 GB/s, while my
older GeForce256 DDR has a 4.8 GB/s bandwidth (128 bit memory DDR at 300 MHz).

It seems I have invested in a downgrade

Obviously you werent aware. It's really easy to have that happen actually. I just wish companies would follow Nvidia reference guidelines and not make these piece of garbage 64 bit FX 5200s..
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 03:06 PM   #31
cthellis
Hoopy frood
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

Hence why you avoid the issue entirely, and whatever 5200 you might want, instead buy a comparatively priced Ti4200. The low-end cards tend to make me ill... The Ti's have been a solid line through and through, and picking up even the lowest-priced of them seems to be a much better option than anything else.
cthellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 03:48 PM   #32
fuxifuxi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 16
Default

I want an FX card because of improved pixel shader and vertex shader support. I even expect support for glSlang (in hardware) when it will be available. Since all GeForce 4 and below are DirectX 8.1 cards or below I will lack the functionality I need. I am a developer. I do not want extreme performance. I just want to see how things work. My 5200 card supports fully opengl 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, (and another 100 extensions) which can not be said for GeForce 4TI or below.

I am happy with all the features my card has, I just have a problem with being lied by Asus and my seller. They have advertised some memory clock frequencyes and they have sold me a card with different frequencyes. That means that I was robbed, in a way.
This is why tommorow I will try to return my card. Stay tuned for the result.
fuxifuxi is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-02-03, 07:18 PM   #33
mixsetup
Asus geForce FX 5200
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default

I'll be buying another card when I can and after this I won't be buying ASUS anything.
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 08:40 PM   #34
Edge
3d animator for hire!
 
Edge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 3,564
Default

Yeah if they outright lied about the memory speeds then you should be offered a refund. At the very least that's false advertising, and it sounds EXACTLY like the problem I had with my GF2MX card (which ran at Voodoo3 speeds). Though it does seem VERY odd that Asus would make a card like that and lie about memory speeds and such...are you SURE it's an Asus card? It's quite possible that they simply packaged a crappy generic card in an Asus box and sold it as an "Asus FX5200". I just don't want people to avoid Asus cards because some really dishonest seller lied about it.

Where did you buy the card from, if you don't mind me asking. My GF2MX just came from some random computer retailer on the internet. I'd recommend Newegg, they're the only place that I've never had a problem with (they even took back a fried motherboard after the warrenty was up!), and they have a 128 meg, 128 bit (at least I'm pretty sure) FX5200 availible for $71 shipped. Might be something to keep in mind in case your seller is willing to refund your money.
Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-03, 09:12 PM   #35
mixsetup
Asus geForce FX 5200
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Default

yeah it's an ASUS I bought it from a computer shop here in Tasmania (Australia) As here the ATI cards cost more. Looks like I will be saving again for another card And I'de sugest anyone elsethat has bought these cards if they want more performance to do the same.
mixsetup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-03, 07:19 AM   #36
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fuxifuxi
I want an FX card because of improved pixel shader and vertex shader support. I even expect support for glSlang (in hardware) when it will be available. Since all GeForce 4 and below are DirectX 8.1 cards or below I will lack the functionality I need. I am a developer. I do not want extreme performance. I just want to see how things work. My 5200 card supports fully opengl 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, (and another 100 extensions) which can not be said for GeForce 4TI or below...
ok, now I understand why GF4TI wont work for you. And since you say ATI is so much more expensive, I'd recommend either an FX5700 ultra, or FX5900 non-ultra (which sells for $210us). Not sure how much you're looking to spend, but don't waste your money on the slower 5200 or 5600, both of which are outperformed by the GF4TI. And the 5800 is loud, expensive, and underpowered so scratch that too.

Let us know what you choose: 5700 or 5900 or something else
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gnome3 with composite is very slow on Geforce FX 5200 with 173.14.31 driver Artox NVIDIA Linux 0 05-26-12 10:33 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.