Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-20-02, 12:48 PM   #1
gonus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: oceanside CA
Posts: 6
Question NVIDIA_GLX-3123 rpms is installed?

When i try to install the GLX rpm it sya its allrdy installed when I force it I get this message

# rpm -ivh NVIDIA_GLX-1.0-3123.i386.rpm --force
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
--- WARNING!!
libGL.so.1.0.3123
--- The above file(s) possibly belong to a conflicting MESA rpm,
--- or to a previous stale NVIDIA distribution.
--- They have been renamed to xxx.<originalFile>.RPMSAVE to
--- avoid conflicting with the files contained within this
--- package.
--- Please see the FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS section of
--- /usr/share/doc/NVIDIA_GLX-1.0/README for more details.
1:NVIDIA_GLX ########################################### [100%]

now how would I find an rpm containg mesa without knowing the full rpm name?
gonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-02, 03:26 PM   #2
1stFlight
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baghdad
Posts: 95
Default

No worries, part of the rpm's installation renames to offending files... just make sure you install the kernel rpm and make the changes in the /etc/X11/XFConfig-4 file and you should be good to go.
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-02, 06:29 PM   #3
gonus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: oceanside CA
Posts: 6
Default

I have made the modifications as well but it never starts GL. Whenever I go to play Heavy gear 2 it craps out right before the mission then in the shell prompt is says

something about libglx here (will edit and put in complete error at home)
Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)
gonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-02, 07:59 PM   #4
1stFlight
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Baghdad
Posts: 95
Default

What changes did you make to the XFConfig-4 file? And do /sbin/lsmod and see if the NVDriver module is loaded
1stFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-02, 10:18 PM   #5
gonus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: oceanside CA
Posts: 6
Default

I went through and did what the readme said to change. I knwo one was nv to nvidia
load "glx"
and removeed 2 forgot names but they were in readme file


I have recently reloaded and I think I have it but I need to edit the XFconfig-4 fiel but I cannot startx to do it how would I config with out X?
gonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-02, 11:39 AM   #6
perryd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 10
Default

From the command line, you can edit with vi or vim. First
cd /etc/X11
then su to become root.
Finally
vim XF86Config-4
to enter the editor. The most intuitive way to use vim is to enter the "insert" mode. To do this, just type i. Now use the up, down, left, right arrows to put the cursor where you want it. You can use delete or backspace and any character you type will be inserted. To leave insert mode, just pres the Esc key. To save the file (you must not be in insert mode) type
:wq
which is write quit. If you mess up and want to start over, type
:q!
which will quit the edit w/o saving.

Once you are done and you want to proof read the edit, I like to use
less XF86Config-4
which will give you one terminal screen at a time view of the file. Use page up and page down to move up and down one screen. To leave less, just type q.

Good luck!
perryd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-02, 11:58 AM   #7
gonus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: oceanside CA
Posts: 6
Default

Awesome I was trying to use VI and emacs but I could not figure out how to save and stuff. Now I do and I will get to modifying my config right now thanx
gonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-02, 11:02 AM   #8
gonus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: oceanside CA
Posts: 6
Talking

Linux Rules. I got it all configured now. Thanx for the awesome step by step there on vim. It saves me from a reload.
gonus is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redhat 8 + Nvidia 3123 + tarball src rpms = wtf?? caustic NVIDIA Linux 8 10-09-02 08:56 PM
X crashes w/ 3123 drivers edj NVIDIA Linux 5 10-07-02 08:03 PM
Installed 3123 on RH8.0 but graphics are jerky UptheJunction NVIDIA Linux 3 10-07-02 03:58 PM
RH7.3, 3123, was working, now it isn't phips NVIDIA Linux 2 10-03-02 02:08 PM
help...mandrake8.2 + 3123 driver rpms Skewed NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 07:05 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.