Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-02, 11:05 PM   #1
imtim83
 
imtim83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 123
Default Ok this is one of the strangest problems. Please help.

Ok i recently brought a new athlon xp 1800+ retail processor and a Leadtek GF4 ti 4400 my vivo video card. Ok when i first installed it i was using windows 2000 pro with sp2 i even tried sp3 with it to see if that was my problem but it didn't help anything. Ok but in windows 2000 pro with sp3 i will freeze in games every now and then. It doesn't always happen. Most of the time it happens in 30 mins to 2 hours + in a game. I mean it just totally freezes my whole system. I tried everything to figure it out. Even disabling ACPI. Ok here goes for the strange part. I chose to go to Windows XP because someone told me they had a problem like this and when they went to Windows XP it fixed their problem. So heck i said why not so i did that and guess what? I got no freezing in my games at all. Heck i even ran 3dmark2001SE for like 12 hours if not more. Didn't even freeze in 3dmark2001SE either. I don't get it. Everything is the same when i went to Windows XP. My case sides are still on. I know its not a heating issue if games don't freeze on Windows XP. Thing is i wish i could go back to windows 2000 but i can't sense it freezes in games Did MS do this lol ? Does anyone have the slightest idea how the OS that use the same kernal could have no freezes in games then the other have the freezes ? I don't get it. I mean heck i had ACPI left on in windows 2000 pro just like i have ACPI on in my Windows XP that is working fine.

Thanks.
imtim83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-02, 11:07 PM   #2
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

were those clean installs of windows 2000?
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-02, 11:15 PM   #3
imtim83
 
imtim83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 123
Default

thcdru2k yes. I tried like lots of times too. I reformated and reinstalled windows 2000 pro. I did the same with windows xp before i installed it too. So its not like that was the problem. I am using the same bios settings too on both windows 2000 and windows xp. I tried getting windows 2000 pro stable for like 30 days straight when i first got the new video card and processor. I had no success. Its just annoying not being able to run my os of choose which is windows 2000.
imtim83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-02, 11:32 PM   #4
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

in that case, MICROSOFT IS A SCHEMEING MONOPOLY TRYING TO GET PEOPLE TP UPGRADE TO XP
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-02, 11:47 PM   #5
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Thumbs up

I had the same problem, but it was with a GF2, I upgraded to XP and it went away. On another box tho, even with XP the GF2 kept on freezing, so I upgraded to a GF4 and it went away. Could nVIDIA and MS be working together against us? jk, nah, they wouldn't, anyways... I think it may be that XP has more recent drivers(not only for vid card) supplied with it than 2000. I used 2000 for a few months and it was great, but then I decided to go to XP and its been the greatest. I could never go back to 2000 or 98.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-02, 11:58 PM   #6
imtim83
 
imtim83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 123
Default

|TX|-LORD-EX-BU yeah but i still want my windows 2000 back. I do believe Nvidia and MS could be working together to cause this issue so we wil upgrade. Or maybe its just MS doing it. I wouldn't be surprised at all if it was true. I wish there was some way to get this problem fixed in windows 2000. Does anyone know?
I thought it was my mobo at first, a heat issue, or my power supply but it wasn't. Scary thing is |TX|-LORD-EX-BU will MS do this with the next OS after this? I sure hope not or i am going to raise heck.
imtim83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 12:08 AM   #7
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

Yeah I know what you mean, I don't have any suggestions, but I do hope you resolve your computer troubles tho. Best of luck!
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 12:20 AM   #8
imtim83
 
imtim83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 123
Default

|TX|-LORD-EX-BU i have by going to windows xp but its annoying because i want to have windows 2000 as my os. Thats the thing.
imtim83 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-02, 12:27 AM   #9
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Default

Well, why do you want to go back to 2000? maybe I can help you, if you are online right now, 10:26 pm, you can IM me on AOL instant messenger, my sn is Johnajohn1, and if you don't have that you can do the same on MSN messenger, my e-mail is John_ajohn@hotmail.com . BRING ON THE SPAM! lol, anyways, who knows, if it is just for looks, you can always make it look like 2000.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 12:30 AM   #10
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

yup, very true, set your theme to windows classic, and boom there you go an unbloated clean looking gui.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 12:31 AM   #11
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Thumbs up

Plus, if you are seeing bad performance, by setting the gui to classic style, you can free up resources and improve performance.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 12:43 AM   #12
imtim83
 
imtim83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 123
Default

|TX|-LORD-EX-BU thanks for the offer but i don't have 2000 installed right now. Plus i need to backup my stuff before reformating and reinstalling windows 2000. I don't really feel like doing that sense it will take a good 2 to 4 hours. Maybe more. I am very disorganized always. I hate it. But i may ask you for help if we can even figure out how to fix it sooner or later someday.
imtim83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hengeveld: Big Data Meets HPC to Solve Hard Problems and Improve Lives News Archived News Items 0 09-10-12 09:10 AM
problems with drivers after 295.40 (OpenSuSE 12.1, GeFroce 7900 GS, Phenom II X4) alawa NVIDIA Linux 0 06-09-12 06:37 PM
Nvidia Problems in Slackware 8.1 xtreme NVIDIA Linux 3 10-01-02 12:03 PM
resolution problems the fat bastid NVIDIA Linux 4 09-15-02 09:40 PM
DirectX 8 problems with GeForce4 Derwin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 01:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.