Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-31-02, 07:19 AM   #1
demonized
R420
 
demonized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 572
Default How do you think Doom III will perf on a gf4 ?

its on the front page...
do you guys think we can play the game on high detail settings.(people with geforce 4's)
John Carmack seems to want us all buy an NV30 or R300.
Also is it possible that this game will be released in dvd-format..
or atleast have a dvd-version of the game. I want cinematics

Last edited by |JuiceZ|; 08-01-02 at 09:17 PM.
demonized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 07:34 AM   #2
sancheuz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 186
Default

I think only people with a geforce4 TI and beyond will be able to play this game at high settings. Because of their 128 mb memory. Geforce3 Ti 500- medium high, geforce3 and ti 200 medium. Radeon 8500 medium, parphelia medium, anything else, low settting(however, low settings for this game will probably still be stunning)
sancheuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 09:01 AM   #3
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Actually G3 can play highest settings possible (1024x768?) at 30fps.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 10:54 AM   #4
elusive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 23
Default

how do you know?

do you have the game installed or something?


/....

that's what carmack was shooting for

we all know it'll be more demanding than that.
elusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 11:03 AM   #5
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default

Aye, they are quite cool. You know gamers will probably upgrade to whatever system is needed to properly power this game once it comes out anyways, so there's no need to bicker about whether it'll run 30fps on a GF3 or not (although Carmack said that was among his goals). That statement is still open to CPU speed and other conditions...
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 02:26 PM   #6
Floor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by elusive
how do you know?

do you have the game installed or something?


/....

that's what carmack was shooting for

we all know it'll be more demanding than that.
How do you know?

Do you have the game installed or something?

/....

That's what Carmack is shooting for, and he knows that engine more than you do.

This is afterall, a DX8 game, and one that has been in developement for a good chunk of time. The GF3 class of cards aren't completely washed out either, they can run MW at respectable framerates, and that's with large outdoor areas.

Doom3 appears to be enclosed in rooms/halls like the previous, so framerates naturally rise...
Floor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 03:13 PM   #7
koslov
Omnipresent Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 33
Default

DooM3 is not DirectX based. Why do people keep referring to DX when discussing D3?? OpenGL is where it's at boys and girls. Carmack knows that.

In my experience, OpenGL games are less prone to crashing and a lot faster framerate-wise. If you doubt me, just fire up Serious Sam:SE and bench in both OpenGL and DirectX. I think you'll find that OpenGl is anywhere from 5-15% faster.

I just don't get all the hype around DX9... OpenGL can do all the same effects and faster.

Look at all the poor-running games based of DX:
Giants
Morrowind
GTA 3

DX is just easier for lazy devs since they don't have to support each GPUs specific extensions.

Last edited by koslov; 07-31-02 at 03:18 PM.
koslov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 09:24 PM   #8
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by K.I.L.E.R
Actually G3 can play highest settings possible (1024x768?) at 30fps.
deep down i'm still doubting that, but hoping that it's true

means i'll be able to play the game while i scrounge for money to do a system rehaul
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-31-02, 09:32 PM   #9
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koslov
DooM3 is not DirectX based. Why do people keep referring to DX when discussing D3?? OpenGL is where it's at boys and girls. Carmack knows that.

In my experience, OpenGL games are less prone to crashing and a lot faster framerate-wise. If you doubt me, just fire up Serious Sam:SE and bench in both OpenGL and DirectX. I think you'll find that OpenGl is anywhere from 5-15% faster.

I just don't get all the hype around DX9... OpenGL can do all the same effects and faster.

Look at all the poor-running games based of DX:
Giants
Morrowind
GTA 3

DX is just easier for lazy devs since they don't have to support each GPUs specific extensions.
When will you people give it a rest?

Serious Sam supporting two renderers doesn't mean it supports them both perfectly. Sheesh.

Look at all the great running games based on DX: Max Payne, No One Lives Forever, C&C Renegade, Hostile Waters, and many many more.

Then you can kindly shut yer holes.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-02, 10:14 PM   #10
elusive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

When will you people give it a rest?

Serious Sam supporting two renderers doesn't mean it supports them both perfectly. Sheesh.

Look at all the great running games based on DX: Max Payne, No One Lives Forever, C&C Renegade, Hostile Waters, and many many more.

Then you can kindly shut yer holes.
stfu before MS puts licsensing fees on OpenGL

god, that day _will_ come, i know it
elusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 01:41 AM   #11
koslov
Omnipresent Lurker
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SavagePaladin

When will you people give it a rest?

Serious Sam supporting two renderers doesn't mean it supports them both perfectly. Sheesh.

Look at all the great running games based on DX: Max Payne, No One Lives Forever, C&C Renegade, Hostile Waters, and many many more.
The games you named are not in my experience the fastest games. Both MP and NOLF can chug on lesser GPUs. Haven't played the others.

Want other games with dual renderers? Try UT, Halflife.

The only DX engine that has impressed me recently is the newest Unreal engine (America's Army).

There is no way you can tell me that DX is inherently more stable than OpenGL... you may remember just a few weeks ago MS released a patch for DX that finally fixed random crashes that plagued many DX games. Not to mention the patch required to run GTA3.

Stability and flexibility are only two of the advantages to OpenGL. Multi-platform support being probably the greatest; OpenGL is supported in almost every OS out there.

Back to the original topic, I am sure D3 will run on almost every setup out there, from GF1 and up. Carmack's games have always been made to be very backwards compatible. But to get the full effect of shadows and bumpmapping, a GF3 or R200 is minimum. I bet 64meg cards will really be stressed too, just look at all those high-res textures, plus all their accompanying bumpmaps. I don't really know why Carmack says D3 will achieve its peak on the NV30 since he doesn't have one yet... all he has to go on are the same specs we have. Sometimes I think Carmack likes to be a PR bitch for the graphics mfgs.
koslov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-02, 02:30 AM   #12
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

I said NOTHING against OpenGL.
I am not one to pick sides when there's no point.

Most of those games chugged because they pushed what the common denominator could do when they were released.

So they were a little ahead of their time, I'm pretty sure that isn't a sin.

BTW, I never experienced any of these dx8.1 crashes because I don't own Windows XP. Yes, XP isn't quite up to speed in reality, I know this, but it doesn't reflect on directx directly.
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now Available - Doom 3: BFG Edition News Archived News Items 0 10-16-12 01:20 PM
Doom 3 BFG Edition will feature entire Doom series, seven new Doom 3 levels News Archived News Items 0 05-31-12 05:40 AM
Quakecon Doom III footage volt Gaming Central 7 08-17-02 12:11 AM
Doom III: Who cares? PCarr78 Gaming Central 36 08-06-02 12:55 PM
New DOOM III screenshots! malachi1313 Gaming Central 26 08-01-02 08:33 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.