Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-25-03, 05:44 AM   #1
Prommy
King of the hill
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
Send a message via ICQ to Prommy
Default Autoloading of nvidia kernel module stopped working!

Hi.
I upgraded to kernel 2.6.0-test10 yesterday (from using test9). Rebuilt the nvidia stuff (using patch from minion.de). Rebooted the computer. Everything worked like a charm. However...

...when I started the computer today the X server refused to start, complaining about /dev/nvidiactl not existing. However after loading the nvidia kernel module manually (using modprobe) the X server started up just fine again. Tried some more times and it simply seems like X is unable to load the module itself, but doing it manually works.

Anyone see any what I could have done wrong? I don't think (not 100% sure though) I've changed anything in the .config between the kernels. The only thing I can see that should be relevant is KMOD which is (of course) enabled in both kernels.

/Daniel
Prommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 06:56 AM   #2
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default

The kernel now requests char-major-<major>-<minor> instead of just char-major-<major> as it used to. The NVIDIA alias in /etc/modprobe.conf needs to be updated accordingly, e.g. to alias char-major-195* nvidia. The patch(es) from http://www.minion.de/nvidia.html were updated to reflect this change (i.e. the makedevices.sh script now creates a different alias on Linux 2.6).
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 07:21 AM   #3
Prommy
King of the hill
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
Send a message via ICQ to Prommy
Default

Yep. That was it. Thanks a lot!

I have another related (not Nvidia related though) problem, maybe you know what to do about that too? Another thing that stopped working when upgrading the kernel was my digital camera.

The camera needs three modules to be loaded, scsi_mod, sd_mod and usb_storage. Since upgrading to test10, I get the following:

[/etc#] lsmod
Module Size Used by
nvidia 1700620 16
[/etc#] mount /mnt/fujifilm/
mount: /dev/sda1 is not a valid block device
[/etc#] lsmod
Module Size Used by
sd_mod 11488 0
scsi_mod 59368 1 sd_mod
nvidia 1700620 16

You see? The sd_mod and scsi_mod modules are autoloaded but not usb_storage. After modprobing usb_storage mounting works. What do I have to look for in modprobe.conf to fix this?
Prommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 07:47 AM   #4
TheOneKEA
Fifteen-K Saiyan Bastard
 
TheOneKEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere in England, waiting for ROTK and drooling over the A64 3000+
Posts: 417
Send a message via ICQ to TheOneKEA Send a message via AIM to TheOneKEA Send a message via Yahoo to TheOneKEA
Default

Not modprobe.conf -- /etc/hotplug. The hotplug subsystem fell over. I'm running 2.6.0-test10 and the usb_storage module loads perfectly fine for me. I have hotplug-2003_08_05-1; try upgrading to that.
__________________
/me \/\/@|\|t5 $$$$$ F0r @|\| u65r 3|33t G@/\/\1|\|G r1G

SCREW THE ADS! http://adblock.mozdev.org/
Proud user of teh Fox of Fire - Mozilla Firefox 0.8

Registered Linux User #289618
TheOneKEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 08:02 AM   #5
Prommy
King of the hill
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 60
Send a message via ICQ to Prommy
Default

Yes, that seems to fix it. Thanks a lot!

The strange thing though was that I had no hotplug at all installed on my system. It worked without it on test9...

/Daniel
Prommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 08:18 AM   #6
geowiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Tx USA
Posts: 110
Default Module loading in test10

Zander - this is somewhat off topic but .....
If the nvidia alias in modprobe.conf needs the wildcard to get autoloading, is that also true for other char-major aliases too? e.g. snd (my alsa sound didn't load with test10 either).
Thanks
geowiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 08:35 AM   #7
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default

The change affects all character devices.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 08:42 AM   #8
geowiz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, Tx USA
Posts: 110
Default major-minor

much thanks
geowiz is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UEFI+Nvidia - NVRM: Your system is not currently configured to drive a VGA console... interzoneuk NVIDIA Linux 0 06-26-12 04:51 AM
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 11:04 AM
Nvidia driver stopped working after X restart and Kernel taint msgs during boot mikejuni NVIDIA Linux 10 05-21-12 08:30 PM
Lucid rt kernel can't load latest nvidia driver module, but generic does. marcod NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 06:23 AM
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-01-02 11:58 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.