Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-25-03, 09:03 AM   #1
Xian
Registered User
 
Xian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rome
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Xian
Default Problem with nVidia GeForce 4 MX440 and glx...

Hi all
I got a problem with this card on Slackware 9.1:
I installed NVIDIA driver (last version) well, but when I start x server with Driver "nvidia" in Device section it stucks. On XFree86 log I can't see any error.
If I start X server with "vesa" driver it says (on log): [GLX]: Failed to add GLX extension (NVIDIA XFree86 driver not found) - I think it is because i have to do a modprobe nvidia before starting X server -

In XF86Config i have (i paste only some sections):
Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "speedo"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "My Monitor"
HorizSync 31.5 - 85.0
VertRefresh 40-90
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "nVidia GeForce 4"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "nVidia GeForce 4"
Monitor "My Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 32
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "nVidia"
Screen "Screen 1"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

If you want i can attach the log of X server starting with nvidia driver loaded...
Help ;_; Xian :P
__________________
To Be Continued
Xian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-03, 09:52 AM   #2
ByteWarrior
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 21
Default

I'm having the exact same problem. GLX doesn't load correctly. I didn't find a solution for it (yet).

Hopefully someone will come up with a solution for this, because it's quite annoying when a glx-screensaver starts that the computer crashes...
__________________
AMD Athlon 2400+ 256 MB RAM
ASUS A7N8X with GeForce4 400 MX AGP 8X
HD 60 GB
RedHat 9 (Shrike) - kernel 2.4.20
My system logs
My qualification: Linux beginner
ByteWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-03, 07:55 AM   #3
rednuht
GeForce FX5600 (1.0-5336)
 
rednuht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 164
Default how does it crash?

when you say the computer crashes, do you mean X hangs, X quits, the machine reboots ... ?
rednuht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-03, 11:56 AM   #4
ByteWarrior
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 21
Default Re: how does it crash?

Quote:
Originally posted by rednuht
when you say the computer crashes, do you mean X hangs, X quits, the machine reboots ... ?
Mostly X hangs. The strange thing is that sometimes the leds (scroll-lock and capslock) start blinking

The next time I start up, fsck starts and finds a couple of orphan nodes or something like that...

So it crashes pretty hard I think ...
__________________
AMD Athlon 2400+ 256 MB RAM
ASUS A7N8X with GeForce4 400 MX AGP 8X
HD 60 GB
RedHat 9 (Shrike) - kernel 2.4.20
My system logs
My qualification: Linux beginner
ByteWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-03, 11:56 AM   #5
Xian
Registered User
 
Xian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rome
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Xian
Default

I havent blinking leds :P
Edit : How can i change the writing above the avatar with the video card name?
__________________
To Be Continued

Last edited by Xian; 11-26-03 at 12:03 PM.
Xian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-03, 02:43 PM   #6
ByteWarrior
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Xian
I havent blinking leds :P
Too bad, it's a beautiful show, my X crashing and then the leds blinking

Quote:
Edit : How can i change the writing above the avatar with the video card name?
You can't change it. It's your forum ranking. On this forum you get your rating by means of an nVidia-card
__________________
AMD Athlon 2400+ 256 MB RAM
ASUS A7N8X with GeForce4 400 MX AGP 8X
HD 60 GB
RedHat 9 (Shrike) - kernel 2.4.20
My system logs
My qualification: Linux beginner
ByteWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-03, 09:48 AM   #7
ribx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: germany, baden
Posts: 32
Default

ByteWarrior ... can you give us some log files of x server when you tried to load the glx module or isnt that possible?

on my gentoo system i had do something after installing glx but i m not sure what this was. i hadnt to modprobe :/ thats for sure but i cant remember.. it is just too easy to install glx on a gentoo system
ribx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-03, 09:56 AM   #8
ByteWarrior
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ribx
ByteWarrior ... can you give us some log files of x server when you tried to load the glx module or isnt that possible?
Well, the problem is that GLX loads correctly!! But I can't run anything with glx (tuxracer, glxgears, ...).

When I try glxgears I see a black window in the top left corner of the screen. And then everything just crashes. I have to do a hard reboot.

Sometimes I can actually see the gears, but nevertheless it crashes...

I'll update the system logs in my signature as soon as I'm home.

[edit]System logs updated (you can find them at http://bytewarrior.madoka.be/linux)[/edit]
__________________
AMD Athlon 2400+ 256 MB RAM
ASUS A7N8X with GeForce4 400 MX AGP 8X
HD 60 GB
RedHat 9 (Shrike) - kernel 2.4.20
My system logs
My qualification: Linux beginner

Last edited by ByteWarrior; 11-27-03 at 12:19 PM.
ByteWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-03-03, 05:34 AM   #9
Xian
Registered User
 
Xian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Rome
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Xian
Default

Help ;_;
__________________
To Be Continued
Xian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-03, 09:00 AM   #10
ribx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: germany, baden
Posts: 32
Default (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to load GLX

.. is reported by your /var/log/XFree86.0.log!!

this could be caused by the DRI section in your XF86Config. remember: DRI is not supported by nvidia, thats also a reason why they use glx! comment the lines of your DRI section!

if that fails, too, try to reinstall glx.
ribx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.