Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-03, 04:30 PM   #1
danc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Default GF4MX tv-out not working, now with exception

Hi,

I have a gf4 mx 420 (NV17/nvidia tv encoder) and can't seem to get tv-out to work. The card itself has a svideo connector, which i have going through a svideo to composite cable. I believe this cable just maps the svideo pins to composite ones - it came from an old geforce2 gts. I have an asus a7n266-vm motherboard, the bios is set to use the agp video card; the VGA out on the card works normally. I am running the 4363 x drivers, and the nforce drivers are the latest batch. I have AGP disabled, since i am running kernel 2.4.18-6mdk and dont have kernel AGP support.

When the machine boots, i get diagonal flickering lines; i'm guessing the card is either outputting PAL, or is putting out a svideo signal. When i start X, the display flickers a couple times and goes solid black. After i exit X it stays black, which (i'm guessing) means that my xconfig is changing the tv out settings and leaving them changed.

Here's the appropriate snippets from my XF86Config-4. I have been trying different settings with no major change; setting SVIDEO instead of COMPOSITE gives me the diagonal lines when X starts, which is why i think the card output is set incorrectly at bootup. the IgnoreEDID gets rid of a warning message that shows up in the XFree86.0.log about 'failed to read EDID'

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Toshiba 27 TV"
VendorName "Toshiba"
ModelName "Unknown"

HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "NVIDIA GeForce4MX"
VendorName "Unknown"
BoardName "Unknown"
Driver "nvidia"

Option "NvAGP" "0"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT, DFP"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "NVIDIA GeForce4MX"
Monitor "Toshiba 27 TV"
DefaultColorDepth 24
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "640x480" "512x384"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection

Here's some relevant snippets from my Xfree86.0.log; i can get more if i have ommitted something important. I get no warnings or errors with -logverbose 5

(--) PCI:*(2:0:0) nVidia Corporation NV17 [GeForce4 MX 420] rev 163, Mem @ 0xeb0
00000/24, 0xf0000000/26, 0xef800000/19, BIOS @ 0xef7e0000/17

...
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU detected as: GeForce4 MX 420
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 04.17.00.45.af
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoRAM: 65536 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): Using ConnectedMonitor string "TV-0"
(--) NVIDIA(0): Detected TV Encoder: NVIDIA
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device TV-0: maximum pixel clock at 8 bpp: 350 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device TV-0: maximum pixel clock at 16 bpp: 350 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device TV-0: maximum pixel clock at 32 bpp: 350 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not probing EDIDs.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Toshiba 27 TV: Using hsync range of 30.00-50.00 kHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Toshiba 27 TV: Using vrefresh value of 60.00 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Clock range: 12.00 to 350.00 MHz

Any help anyone has would be appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by danc; 11-27-03 at 08:56 PM.
danc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-03, 09:34 AM   #2
ribx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: germany, baden
Posts: 32
Default color depth

i think i had a similar problem. i set color depth to 16 and it worked. did you try this?

and did you already tried
Option "TwinView" "True"
i always use my tv-out with this option.

also try to comment all the lines you dont need. begin to uncomment all lines you added and then add more and more lines to see where the fault is.
but i think xserver starts but your screen isnt able to display your resolution or color depth. i think it should work in the standard configuration plus
Option "TwinView" True"

hope i could help you
ribx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-03, 02:07 PM   #3
danc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Hmm. I tried enabling twinview, but that doesn't work; I get

(WW) NVIDIA(0): Only one display device connected; disabling TwinView.

Even if i put
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "CRT, TV, DFP"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"

in my x config. Also setting 16 bit color doesn't seem to change anything. The display flickers a bit when x starts up, so i'm pretty sure it's initializing the tv-out properly; maybe i'll spend more time fiddling with twinview to see if i can get that going.
danc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-03, 08:58 PM   #4
danc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

I updated to the latest driver set (4496) and i'm now getting an exception. The strange part is it says it cannot continue, but it goes through the rest of its output as if everything is fine.

(--) NVIDIA(0): Detected TV Encoder: NVIDIA
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device TV-0: maximum pixel clock at 8 bpp: 350 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device TV-0: maximum pixel clock at 16 bpp: 350 MHz
(--) NVIDIA(0): Display device TV-0: maximum pixel clock at 32 bpp: 350 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Not probing EDIDs.
(WW) NVIDIA(0): Only one display device connected; disabling TwinView.
(II) Loading sub module "int10"
(II) LoadModule: "int10"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/linux/libint10.a
(II) Module int10: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0, module version = 1.0.0
ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.6
(II) NVIDIA(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
(EE) NVIDIA(0): unknown reason for exception
(II) NVIDIA(0): EAX=0x00000f00, EBX=0x00000000, ECX=0x00000000, EDX=0x00000000
(II) NVIDIA(0): ESP=0x00000ffa, EBP=0x00000000, ESI=0x00000000, EDI=0x00000000
(II) NVIDIA(0): CS=0x4146, SS=0x0100, DS=0x0040, ES=0x0000, FS=0x0000, GS=0x0000
(II) NVIDIA(0): EIP=0x00010000, EFLAGS=0x00033282
(II) stack at 0x00001ffa:
00 06 00 00 00 32
(II) NVIDIA(0): code at 0x00041460:
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
(EE) NVIDIA(0): cannot continue


Any ideas on this would be great..
danc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-03, 09:12 AM   #5
ribx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: germany, baden
Posts: 32
Default pls attach your XF86Config

lets have a look in your config, that the fastest way
ribx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
RH7.3, 3123, was working, now it isn't phips NVIDIA Linux 2 10-03-02 02:08 PM
Nvidia 3123 not working on Mandrake 8.2 UP with Geforce 440 MMX tariqf NVIDIA Linux 1 09-17-02 08:22 AM
TV-out not working nomatter what driver.. Dr_Gigolo NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 09-11-02 11:11 AM
How do I get Dual Head working? Heath NVIDIA Linux 1 08-22-02 12:44 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.