Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-02, 12:07 AM   #1
DXnfiniteFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 77
Default Serious problem! Computer that boots by itself!?

Yes, the subject says it all. It's very strange. I don't think my system specs are important, nor the drivers for my hardware. If it is off, it's off. If it's on, it's on. But this thing has been acting strange recently! This probelm showed up and since I browse the boards every-so-often, I thought I could get some help here. Anyways, here's my specs:

Windows XP Home Edition--Service Pack 1
2.0 GHz Northwood Pentium 4
845-D chipset
Geforce 4 Ti 4600
Sound Blaster Live!
80 GB 7200 RPM hard disk
16x DVD-ROM

Note that everything I have has the latest drivers. I have also just recently reformatted my computer to install Service Pack 1. What could be the culprit?

Yesterday night, I turned my PC off and sleep. As soon as I wake up, I see the power light. . . What in the world!? So I turn it off and head off to school. . . Only to discover when I come back that the thing is on again! Can anyone help? I am computer literate, but this is the single strangest case I have ever had!

Note: I do not believe the problem to be the BIOS, as it didn't create any problems until just several days ago. I don't believe drivers are the culprit, as something that is off cannot read drivers. Besides, I already installed the latest drivers already for all my hardware. I don't believe the OS is responsible, because as OS that isn't running can't cause problems on a computer that isn't running. . . Again, I just recently did a clean install just for Service Pack 1.

PLEASE, HELP!
__________________
Windows XP
2.0 Ghz Northwood Pentium 4
512 MB DDR266
845-D
GeForce 4 Ti 4600
Sound Blaster Live!
80 GB 7200 RPM
DXnfiniteFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 01:39 AM   #2
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Talking

eh, I have one word for you. POLTERGEIST! I'd call an indian guy over to your house or something, and keep away from the TV and mirrors... in fact, MOVE!
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 01:51 AM   #3
Essense
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

#1 make sure no one in the house has used your computer and left it on.

#2 make sure "Wake on Lan" or "Wake on Ring" or any other "Wake on" option is disabled in the bios. Those are the only things that could cause this problem.

Regards,
Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 08:58 AM   #4
FastM
GeForceFlop
 
FastM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 545
Send a message via ICQ to FastM
Default

I have heard of this before over at www.AmdMB.com so your not alone, but i have no idea why or a solution.
FastM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 01:43 PM   #5
Spectral
DJ Spectral
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Detroit
Posts: 99
Default

Hehe, the same thing sorta happened to me the other day.

I put in my old network card again cause I just got my dsl back, and my computer turned itself on as soon as the network card started going into the slot...

Freaked me out... So, I totally disconnected the power and put it back in. Hasnt happened since.
__________________
AthlonXP1900+@2100+, Abit KR7A-Raid, Radeon 9700 Pro (core370/mem666), 256Megs PC2100, 2x 40gig WD7200, Soundblaster Audigy Platinum, KDS VS 19" CRT, Klipsch ProMedia 5.1s, Creative 12x DVD, TDK 24x CDRW, 500Watt PSU, Win2kSP3.
Spectral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 01:45 PM   #6
Matthyahuw
Registered User
 
Matthyahuw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: AZ
Posts: 919
Send a message via ICQ to Matthyahuw Send a message via AIM to Matthyahuw Send a message via Yahoo to Matthyahuw
Default

I had this issue on 2 computers before...the 1st one was what Essense pointed out, WOL was enabled, and for some reason, that computer didn't like my hub, and the hub woke it up constantly for no reason...

2nd computer had power issues. When there was a power surge/outage/brownout it came to life...

So here's what ya do, disable the "wake..." stuff in the BIOS, and if you need to, get an "online" UPS with brownout protection...
__________________
Shalom!
Matthyahuw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 01:50 PM   #7
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

i think you need to get your computer exorcised.

http://www.iit.edu/~phillips/persona...ary/c-pos.html
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 05:48 PM   #8
DXnfiniteFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 77
Default

Here's a new development. I checked my device manager and all my networking and modem devices do not have the capability to bring the PC out of standby. Shutdown seems like an entirely different matter. . . In any case, it only seems to happen when I shut it off recently. If it doesn't turn on after several hours, it stays off. But if it decides to turn on, it only does so when it has been shut off recently.

Although it is still happening every-so-often, I want to thank everyone for their help. Keep the suggestions coming!
__________________
Windows XP
2.0 Ghz Northwood Pentium 4
512 MB DDR266
845-D
GeForce 4 Ti 4600
Sound Blaster Live!
80 GB 7200 RPM
DXnfiniteFX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-24-02, 05:54 PM   #9
netviper13
Treehugger
 
netviper13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 942
Default

there could be a short in your power switch?
netviper13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-02, 11:53 PM   #10
DXnfiniteFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 77
Default

First of all, I want to thank everyone here for their help in this issue.

Things are looking slightly better. I litterally removed the power to my surge protector for about half an hour. I have also enabled the hibernation feature, though I have never used to before. Strangely enough, doing one, the other, or both seemed to have its effect. The issue hasn't popped up since. Certainly, this is better than nothing.

I will let you guys know if anything new turns up. Again, thanks for the help.
__________________
Windows XP
2.0 Ghz Northwood Pentium 4
512 MB DDR266
845-D
GeForce 4 Ti 4600
Sound Blaster Live!
80 GB 7200 RPM
DXnfiniteFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 12:20 AM   #11
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

you could've forgone all that trouble if you just performed the exorcism
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 01:24 AM   #12
LORD-eX-Bu
Horus the pointy master
 
LORD-eX-Bu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 4,609
Smile

Well, this isn't really anything I should be bragging about, but I am a Priest. Yep, you didn't read wrong, I am a priest.
__________________
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=171&dateline=12152329  84
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ!
LORD-eX-Bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weekend PSA: Keep your computer safe from harm News Archived News Items 0 12-02-12 05:41 AM
Help! Starting nvidia drivers locks up computer... st3000 NVIDIA Linux 0 10-03-12 04:14 PM
Video: Quantum Computer Simulations using Supercomputers News Archived News Items 0 09-14-12 02:10 PM
How Computer Games Help HPC News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.