Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-02, 05:31 AM   #37
Renzo
The Terminator
 
Renzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Funland
Posts: 181
Default

Ok, I'm using these suckers also. Some points worth of mentioning

1) NOLF2 demo seems to run just fine (with 40.41 the performance was somehow strange)
2) UT2k3 upt result changed 150/59 --> 159/58
3) NOLF1 1.003 has strange graphical anomalies near text, vertical lines?
4) A strange flash occurs from time to time (horizontal) on different games

Also event viewer reveals some "NV" error that is probably related to some service that is not running, I have disabled pretty many services that are running by default on Win2000.

And the last, what is the Fast Writes problem? I have it enabled (by default) and I have noticed no problems so far.
__________________
Desire is irrelevant, I am a machine
Renzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 06:29 AM   #38
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DIMA
We'll have to wait for the official detonators on 26th so see if everything will be fixed...
HEY! Where did you hear that! Gimmy me driver gossip! Now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 08:00 AM   #39
digitalwanderer
 
digitalwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Highland, IN USA
Posts: 4,944
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator


HEY! Where did you hear that! Gimmy me driver gossip! Now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
It's here and you can read it for yourself. Carrie Cowan from nVidia answered a number of people's e-mails to her concerning the 40.xx for 9x/me and she sent out some letters saying that the OFFICIAL set would be available TOMORROW (Thursday 9/26/02) on nVidia's site.

Does that count as "giving you the gossip"?

On a sad note....UT2k3 in D3D and NOLF2 locked up on me yesterday. Back to openGL in UT & I don't know what in NOLF2....
__________________
[SIZE=1][I]"It was very important to us that NVIDIA did not know exactly where to aim. As a result they seem to have over-engineered in some aspects creating a power-hungry monster which is going to be very expensive for them to manufacture. We have a beautifully balanced piece of hardware that beats them on pure performance, cost, scalability, future mobile relevance, etc. That's all because they didn't know what to aim at."
-R.Huddy[/I] [/SIZE]
digitalwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 08:23 AM   #40
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

yes, i also do not notice any fastwrite problem. didn't hear anyone having one either with the 40.41?
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 11:23 AM   #41
combat_wombat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 222
Default

Well, if nvidia releases new drivers tomorrow, I hope they've fixed the glitch in DAoC, because the game is unplayable. I went back to the 40.41's, everything is fine
combat_wombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 02:46 PM   #42
Nutty
Sittin in the Sun
 
Nutty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,835
Send a message via MSN to Nutty
Default

What I dont understand is, why dont games developers have refresh rate options in the game?

In windows when you change video mode, you can optionally select the refresh rate. All games currently must leave that blank, which is why it defaults to 60hz.

In some of my own programs, I wrote my own video mode selection window, and it picks refresh rates perfectly. If games developers did this properly, we wouldn't need refresh rate fixes from anyone.
Nutty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 03:08 PM   #43
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nutty
What I dont understand is, why dont games developers have refresh rate options in the game?

Unreal Tournament has had this option, but it's been...hidden where you have to manually enter it in. But I agree that games should have this option available and I can't imagine it would be too hard to program it in.

One other thing - is it just me or is 1280x960 resolution missing from these drivers?
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 04:45 PM   #44
skipparoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 120
Default

Wow, I get frequent and pretty much consistent crashes to the desktop with these drivers and UT2003. This is the error message I get everytime, only after having played a match for a few minutes:

UT2003 Build UT2003_Build_[2002-09-16_05.17]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 1539 MHz with 767MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600 (4052)

General protection fault!

History: ProcessLeaf <- RenderLevel <- FLevelSceneNode::Render <- FPlayerSceneNode::Render <- UGameEngine::Draw <- UWindowsViewport::Repaint <- UWindowsClient::Tick <- ClientTick <- UGameEngine::Tick <- UpdateWorld <- MainLoop

I sure hope it is the drivers and not the new stick of Crucial memory I installed today. I do not think it could be the memory however, as every other game seems to run fine, plus all 3 of my DIMMs are from Crucial. Time for me to go back to the 30.82s I think, since with the 40.41s I had even more problems...

-Skippy
skipparoo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-25-02, 05:31 PM   #45
Renzo
The Terminator
 
Renzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Funland
Posts: 181
Default

You can actually read from those history lines what went wrong. Normally general protection fault refers to a some sort of memory error.

You should check ut2003.log also, it should reveal something interesting. If I had to guess, I'd say it's some sort of memory error instead of driver incompatibility.
__________________
Desire is irrelevant, I am a machine
Renzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 05:53 PM   #46
Zarich
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 76
Default

anybody with a ti500 try these yet?
Zarich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 07:11 PM   #47
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Renzo

3) NOLF1 1.003 has strange graphical anomalies near text, vertical lines?
4) A strange flash occurs from time to time (horizontal) on different games

[/b]
I might be wrong, but that sounds like a video card overclocking problem, overclocking can vairy from drivers. Even though most times I test all beta drivers, I think I'll skip these ones, the 30.82s are working fine with RivaTuner and my GF3 Lets wait for some feedback onthe offical drivers tomorrow.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 07:57 PM   #48
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

Quote:
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by Renzo

3) NOLF1 1.003 has strange graphical anomalies near text, vertical lines?
4) A strange flash occurs from time to time (horizontal) on different games

[/b]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------



I might be wrong, but that sounds like a video card overclocking problem, overclocking can vairy from drivers. Even though most times I test all beta drivers, I think I'll skip these ones, the 30.82s are working fine with RivaTuner and my GF3 Lets wait for some feedback onthe offical drivers tomorrow.
you are on to something, that sounds like what is happening, also when overclocking graphic anomalies will differ from game to game. some games don't stress the game as much and don't show anomalies. it Also could be a vsync problem.
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
** Official Dark Souls Thread *** FastRedPonyCar Gaming Central 8 09-11-12 03:42 PM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Detonator 40.xx Feedback Thread pelly NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 299 09-22-02 06:54 AM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 07:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.