Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-02, 11:12 PM   #1
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default New System!!!

I've finally managed to get a new AMD system together...just in time for the onslaught of new NVIDIA reviews...

I ended up with the following:

AMD XP1600 ( Green PCB ) overclocks up to 1750MHz!
MSI KT4 Ultra
(2) 256MB Corsiar XMS PC3200 CAS2
Various graphics cards
WD 80GB Special Edition with 8MB buffer
Lite-On 40X CDRW ( use firmware to bump up to 48X )

And best of all......the bright yellow Chieftec aluminum case......
It's bright....it's obnoxious....it's perfect...



Note: The case does not stay on the desk....It lives on the floor to the left of the desk......
pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 11:13 PM   #2
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Before anyone asks.....

No, I did not buy a 9700.....that card will be making an appearance here at nV News in the very near future....

Keep your eyes peeled....it's going to be interesting....
pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 11:14 PM   #3
thcdru2k
Registered User
 
thcdru2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via ICQ to thcdru2k Send a message via AIM to thcdru2k
Default

o0o0 i can't wait, very sweet
__________________
Athlon XP 1.58GHz | MSI KT3 Ultra2 | 256MB DDR PC-3000 | GeForce 4 ti4200 64mb @ 310/533 | IBM 120GXP 40.0GB | Det. 41.09 | DX 9 RC2 | Win XP SP1

11118 3DMarks
thcdru2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 03:42 PM   #4
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

Update....

The 9700 Pro refuses to run any game longer than 5 seconds while installed in my MSI KT4 Ultra motherboard...

I've got this narrowed down to the AGP8x spec and have been working with Sapphire and ATI to find a solution...

There's a few ideas on the table...though nothing concrete at this time...

Don't expect any articles regarding this card for awhile...

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 03:55 PM   #5
|JuiceZ|
Registered User
 
|JuiceZ|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Louisville
Posts: 3,286
Send a message via Skype™ to |JuiceZ|
Default

Awesome man, congrats!! I know how you feel, I just picked up my xp1800/gigabyte ga-7vrxp last week gl getting the 9700 to wrk, can't wait for the review
__________________
primary MBP Core i5 2010 | HR | OCZ 120GB SSD
gaming Core i5-2500K @ 4.1GHz w/ CM Hyper212+ | MSI N560GTX-Ti TF II/OC | MSI P67A-GD55 | Silverstone FT02 | X360 250GB + Kinect
htpc IONITX-A-U | 2GB | M350 | XBMC Linux | SABnzbd, sickbeard, couchpotato | NAS Synology DS411J | 4TB
hometheater KURO PDP-5020 | Marantz SR6005 | Definitive BP7001s, CLR3000, BPVXPs
|JuiceZ| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-02, 04:24 PM   #6
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

The initial suggestion by my contact was:

"Well, use it in a KT333.....they work great in those boards"

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-02, 10:51 PM   #7
Essense
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Where did you get that Desk at? It's pretty nice, how much did you pay for it?

Regards,
Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 02:48 AM   #8
SavagePaladin
info*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,395
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pelly
The initial suggestion by my contact was:

"Well, use it in a KT333.....they work great in those boards"

"Hi, we're retarded."

___

I heard they should work fine if you set em to 4x...
SavagePaladin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-30-02, 04:07 AM   #9
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

The desk was on sale at Staples for $149...for the entire desk...It turns out, it was supposed to be $149 for the desk and another $149 for the hutch...though the Ad was clearly marked showing the lower price so the manager honored the ad...

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-02, 04:08 AM   #10
pelly
Registered User
 
pelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 681
Default

There is no way to force AGP4x with these things...

Fortunately, I found out the cause of my problems which turned out to be shoddy QA by the folks at Sapphire...

pelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After decades of discussion, EU votes for unified patent system News Archived News Items 0 12-12-12 05:30 AM
The Evolution of PhysX System Software News Archived News Items 0 10-07-12 07:40 AM
DOE Doles Out Cash to AMD, Whamcloud for Exascale Research News Archived News Items 0 07-12-12 07:50 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.