Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-03, 12:02 PM   #13
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

I'm really enjoying this game and I usually don't like arcade racers very much. The lack of damage modeling is about the only thing that bothers me (heh, I wonder why they even bothered to show a broken windshield after totaling a car while drag racing or losing a license plate?).

I think AA is working for me if light trails and motion blur are off but I need to take a screencap to be sure. In one of the other threads a guy posted a screencap showing 6xAA and it was much nicer looking than the non-AA pic. When testing that just before Thanksgiving, I didn't notice such a big improvement (only using 4xAA) but I was in a hurry so I may have botched up the test.

I'm currently having problems with any of the 5x.xx nvidia drivers and this seems to be caused by the headlights. On my ATI card I use 1280x1024 4xAA / 8xAF and turn down the road reflection one notch (just b/c I don't like it so shiny). On the nvidia card, I use the same driver settings but turn off the headlights and leave the road reflection all the way up to counter the lack of headlights.

Anyway, it is addictive. I'll frequently say I'm just going to play one or two races and then several hours later, I'm still sitting there playing the game...saying just one more race.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 12:07 PM   #14
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by volt
Huh? It doesn't work with ANY resolution.

BTW, why wouldn't it work with 1024x768...
Look in one of the other threads on the game. I think he posted a screencap in one of them that shows AA working at 1280x1024. It looks much much nicer. I didn't seem to notice that much of a difference but I want to re-test that in case I messed something up (didn't have it on when I thought I did or something of that nature).
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 12:46 PM   #15
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

Here is a shot:
1280x1024_4AA_4AF

AF doesn't seem to be applied either.

volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 01:06 PM   #16
indio
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 116
Default

4x AA 16x AF 1280x1024

AA works if you leave motion blur and light glow off (which is the default setting BTW). It doesn't work at 1024x768 no matter what you do though.

indio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 01:51 PM   #17
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

Is it light glow or light trails? I've been leaving off motion blur and light trails but didn't think I saw a very dramatic change when applying AA and AF. If it's light glow that needs to be off, that could explain why it.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 03:01 PM   #18
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

1280x1024 , 6xAA 8xAF with Light trails & motion blur enabled .
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 03:16 PM   #19
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

1280x1024 ,6xAA 8xAF , No motion blur & light trails .


the idea behind the Motion blur & AA conflict is clear ... you cant have both blury picture & smooth edges at same time .

SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 03:21 PM   #20
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

A visual feast this game is for sure, but it just can't hold my interest when I race the same track over and over again, literally dozens of times.

I feel an expansion coming.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-02-03, 03:58 PM   #21
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stncttr908
A visual feast this game is for sure, but it just can't hold my interest when I race the same track over and over again, literally dozens of times.

i have to agree with that . i'm racing the same circut for the 20th time now & it just keep repeating .
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 04:06 PM   #22
fivefeet8
Ngemu Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 1,886
Default

I can get 4xFSAA and 4sxFSAA to enable fine in the game at 1024x768 res as long as I turn off blurs and light trails. Using the 53.03 Betas.
__________________
[i7 2600k @4.4ghertz][2x4 GB DDR3 1600][EVGA GTX570 1.280GB SC][EVGA GTX460 physx][Asrock Extreme7 Gen3 Z68][2xSeagate 160 Gb SATA HD raid0][Seagate 250 GB SATA2 HD][Sony Bravia 40' 1080p LCD HDTV][NEC 3520a DVD+-DLw][Windows 7 Ultimate x64][Rosewill 1000w]
fivefeet8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-03, 05:13 PM   #23
OWA
...
 
OWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,481
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SH64
i have to agree with that . i'm racing the same circut for the 20th time now & it just keep repeating .
It was a little disappointing to find some of the other tracks were basically just different parts of the same map. I'd also prefer real cities and be able to go down any road kind of like Midnight Club II. I really don't like having the car reset when you accidentally miss the turn or whatever. Of course, after playing the same track over and over that doesn't happen much anymore but initially it was a little annoying.
OWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-03, 02:01 AM   #24
Mullins1060
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: England
Posts: 255
Default

i played it but didnt like it too samey the tracks were boring, and tbh it was too arcady for my likeing
__________________
M/B: Asus Rampage Formula (0401 BIOS) | CPU: Intel Xeon 3350 @ 3.6GHz (8x450MHz) 1.256v | HSF: Tuniq Tower 120-LFB | RAM: 2x2GB Corsair TwinX DDR2 XMS2 Dominator PC2-8500C5 @ 1080MHz 5-5-5-15 2T 2.1v | GFX: 1792MB EVGA GeForce GTX 295 | HD: 2x300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000RPM SATA-II 16MB Cache (RAID 0) | SOUND: Asus SupremeFX II | PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W | CASE: Lian Li Armorsuit PC-P80B
Mullins1060 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underground Overlord: Gnoblins News Archived News Items 0 05-25-12 01:40 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.