Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-25-02, 07:45 PM   #13
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

quake3 demofour : 1024x768x32, 1280x1024x32

Compressed textures off max geom, max tex detail, bilinear


GTA3, just gimme a general interpretation at 1024x768x32 and 1280x1024x32 (with everything except for 'trails' on. How is the framerate, what range would you guess it at, check with FRAPS, especially on staunton island.

Colin Mcrae 2 (demo?) 1024 x 768 x32, 1280x1024x32, all at max

Ut2003 demos! 1280x1024x32, 1024x768x32

That should be fine for now
Run it on ur 700
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-02, 07:59 PM   #14
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Here is something interesting to add to this thread. Ive just installed a GF4Ti4200 128mb card in my brother in-laws pc, now he is still using his Duron 700MHz, we had to an upgade after things stopped working after we had some storms here a few weeks ago Duron still works so no upgrade from that yet. Anyways I installed the UT2003 + patch for him, installed the 30.82 drivers for the moment and played some. Something to note.

At 1024*768 no anio or AA constant 30fps average outdoors.
1024*768 4x anio + quincunx(sp) constant 30fps
1280*1024 4x anio + quincunx constant 30 fps

note indoors frames go up maybe 5fps, this is also disabling mouse lag in the UT2003.ini file.

As has already been said before, UT2003 is really limited by the cpu, but for things like raising the res and/or using anio/FSAA, the better video card you have is going to help. On my GF3 I take a bigger hit when I use anio and/or FSAA, so in UT2003 I dont use it and I get on average 40-45fps outdoors and 60-70 fps indoors.

The other game we tested was Dungeon Siege, now with 4x anio + 4Xs FASS the game ran smooth @ 1024*768 full shadows enabled.


When I bought my GF3 and was using my Athlon classic 700, I could play all my games @ 1280*1024 ( this is 1 year ago) so I belive that the GF4Ti4200 will do the same for you with todays games.
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 06:09 AM   #15
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smokey
Here is something interesting to add to this thread. Ive just installed a GF4Ti4200 128mb card in my brother in-laws pc, now he is still using his Duron 700MHz, we had to an upgade after things stopped working after we had some storms here a few weeks ago Duron still works so no upgrade from that yet. Anyways I installed the UT2003 + patch for him, installed the 30.82 drivers for the moment and played some. Something to note.

At 1024*768 no anio or AA constant 30fps average outdoors.
1024*768 4x anio + quincunx(sp) constant 30fps
1280*1024 4x anio + quincunx constant 30 fps

note indoors frames go up maybe 5fps, this is also disabling mouse lag in the UT2003.ini file.

As has already been said before, UT2003 is really limited by the cpu, but for things like raising the res and/or using anio/FSAA, the better video card you have is going to help. On my GF3 I take a bigger hit when I use anio and/or FSAA, so in UT2003 I dont use it and I get on average 40-45fps outdoors and 60-70 fps indoors.

The other game we tested was Dungeon Siege, now with 4x anio + 4Xs FASS the game ran smooth @ 1024*768 full shadows enabled.


When I bought my GF3 and was using my Athlon classic 700, I could play all my games @ 1280*1024 ( this is 1 year ago) so I belive that the GF4Ti4200 will do the same for you with todays games.
excellent info smokey! Thanks! I've reposted you info on a UT forum. This is terrific news because it means people with slower CPU's can run UT2k3 with an easy video card upgrade. True, UT2k3 can be limited by a slow CPU, but it's more video card dependent and if you buy the right video card, upgrading is as easy as taking it out of the box!

Good job!
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 03:51 PM   #16
Acid Rain
What a sweet little...
 
Acid Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Coast, USA.
Posts: 1,248
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by [Corporal Dan]
ti4200 is fantastic

I am planning to buy a 128 meg one when the price drops, and i have a p3 700 as well.
A Ti4200 would be a superb upgrade, even with a slowish CPU. All you need to do is eliminate the CPU as a bottleneck by increasing resolution, using AA and aniso.

When you crank up the visual quality using the above techniques, you are dramatically increasing your gaming experience, while not nescessarily being slowed much by your CPU.

Let the graphics hardware do the work
__________________
MY PIG
MB: GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Q6600 (SLACR)
RAM: 4GB KHX6400D2LLK2
3D Porkware: Radeon HD 4890
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 with MSE
Aux Equipment: Phase-B Nanocycloptics
Acid Rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 06:23 PM   #17
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator


excellent info smokey! Thanks! I've reposted you info on a UT forum. This is terrific news because it means people with slower CPU's can run UT2k3 with an easy video card upgrade. True, UT2k3 can be limited by a slow CPU, but it's more video card dependent and if you buy the right video card, upgrading is as easy as taking it out of the box!

Good job!
*hint*

Lower physics detail.

7 fps increase with my GF2...
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 08:36 PM   #18
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by [Corporal Dan]


*hint*

Lower physics detail.

7 fps increase with my GF2...
That will work for anyone, as the physics should by the cpu and not the video card I would have thought, but they are the details in menu which everyone would try and find what works for them I watched my brother play tonight with like 15 other people on the server and he did fine, no real major slow downs, he was even 4th for a bit there but dropped to 7th, not bad for a nOOb
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-02, 11:39 PM   #19
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smokey


That will work for anyone, as the physics should by the cpu and not the video card I would have thought, but they are the details in menu which everyone would try and find what works for them I watched my brother play tonight with like 15 other people on the server and he did fine, no real major slow downs, he was even 4th for a bit there but dropped to 7th, not bad for a nOOb
Exactly, freeing up cpu cyles = higher fps

i know my gf2 isn't being pushed to absolute limit, but it's damn close
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 MikeC For Sale/Trade 9 10-09-02 03:56 PM
Which GeForce4 Ti 4200 cards support dual monitors? avengerzz NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 9 10-07-02 12:44 PM
Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 and overclocked AGP Prefect47 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 09-16-02 03:50 PM
How high of an overclock can I expect out of a GeForce4 Ti 4200? Danno NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 6 08-16-02 11:31 PM
GeForce4 Ti 4200 hangs when playing games revenant NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 9 08-14-02 04:01 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.